Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars197
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 December 2014
If your a fan then you'll already know this is a superb album,arguably the best they ever released,so there's no need for a track by track report.

Sound quality is excellent,compared to my (original release) cd then its a definite improvement,i havent heard the prev reissue remaster so i cannot compare.

Disc 2 i s a revelation,the 'Breakfast in America' reissue's live disc was a little rough around the edges not over produced and not as smooth as the 'Paris' release,this however is amazing,didnt expect a recording nearly 40 years old to clean up as good as this,hats of to Ken Scott's production,its worth the price of the cd on its own.

Packaging as mentioned in an earlier review is very good with informative essay.

If you already have 'Crime..',its still worth buying for the live disc,if you dont already own this then dive in its a classic.Thanks to the kids another xmas pressie hits the spot!!.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Giddy Aunt since you ask!

What a treat! The 'Tramp finally get round to remastering and, er, padding out their glorious masterpiece Crime of the Century.

And boy is it good. The first disc is merely the remastered original 44 minute album. And remastered it certainly is. It's generally quieter and less bright than the previous CD issue. At first, I thought it was muddier, but simply adjusting the volume between the two versions highlights the near perfection reached on this remaster - the previous version substitutes volume and brightness for detail and clarity. Top job by Ray Staff at Air Studios.

I'm always a sucker for extra tracks. There are none here. Which is a shame on one hand, but at least when you fancy listening to the album, you don't have the dilemma of sticking around for an extra half an hour of John Helliwell practising his on-stage 'repartee' or Rick accompanying Roger's original accordion version of Dreamer with a tasteful comb and paper solo.

The treat here is the 2nd CD - the band recorded live at Hammersmith in March 1975. This set has been widely bootlegged and got its official release over 10 years ago as 'Is Everyone Listening'. By this gig, the band had played almost 30 gigs across the UK in support of the Crime album, visiting the likes of Preston, Swansea, Torquay, Fife and Lampeter, prior to an extensive jaunt across North America.

The whole of the Crime album is played, alongside 4 tracks from follow-on 'Crisis? What Crisis?' The band replicates the album extraordinarily well. Whilst the sound isn't quite as thick and polished as later recordings, the playing is tight, the singing excellent and the execution of a complex studio-realised masterpiece divine. For me, the real stand-out is the drumming of Bob Siebenberg. His sound is just epic, bringing a real significance to lyrics that possibly don't *quite* justify the drama. He's not only thunderous when called upon, but he's also skating around his kit, adding in multiple bounces and grace notes that I hadn't previously noticed. He really was a major part of the magic that revitalised the band from Crime onwards and he's here in all his glory!

There is a minor amp buzz noticeable in very quiet sections, but otherwise the recording is superb.

A major addition to the Supertramp musical oeuvre and yet another reason that these two gloriously talented songwriters should be locked in a room - without their respective wives (deadly enemies apparently) - and forced to listen to this on repeat until they promise to start working together again.
0Comment21 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2006
Beautiful album. I loved the LP and I love the CD just as much. Forget what my fellow oldies say about youth of today not appreciating this stuff. Of course they do. It's fresh it's vibrant and it tells you what school is all about! Rebel again and treat yourself to some beautifully crafted keyboard centred rock that stirs you up, chills you out and inspires you. Best track - Hide in your shell - one of my favourite songs by anyone ever! Probably the most cohesive Supertramp album, certainly the moodiest/darkest and its always been my favourite. Breakfast in America is too superficial and the others have some excellent tracks but some weak fillers this one is end to end brilliance with Hodgson and Davies both at the top of their game.
99 comments61 of 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a review of the remastered edition. I emphasise that, because in the past I have viewed remastered editions as simply another way for record companies to make money. This time though - and this goes for all the Supertramp remastered editions - the difference in sound quality is profound. All I can say is: Wow!

`Crime of the Century' dates from 1974 when the group were a kind of Anglo-American Genesis. It opens with the harmonica wail of `School', a protest song of a kind that seems almost to have completely disappeared in today's world. It ends with those words of ironic condescension from teacher to pupil, "You're coming along".

Intelligent lyrics are to be found in all of the other tracks too, the protests and the hopes of the 1970s. The sound quality is so good that we can make out in the song `Rudy' the tannoy system at Paddington Station, calling out the train "to Bristol Temple Meads from Platform Two". This song also exemplifies the clever arrangements that the band employed, where the central section of the song has a rhythm like a train ride. Another example would be the last three minutes of the title track, which features purely instrumental music that sounds like a soundtrack to a heist movie.

Unfortunately, Rick Davies's singing is not as clear as Roger Hodgson's. We can hear every word that the latter sings without the need for a songsheet. Roger has a beautiful and deceptive weak voice, as fragile as the subjects of which he sings. As for the music, much of the rhythm is surprisingly keyboard-led with the drums simply augmenting. I like all the songs very much, apart from `Bloody Well Right' (which is OK), and `Dreamer' (which is brilliant).
11 comment22 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
I totally agree with all the other reviews. This is a superb album. I was fortunate enough to see Supertramp perform this album from start to finish in Bristol back in the 1970's and I was totally blown away! The quality of the songs, the performance and the production is absolutely first class.
If I had to pick one album from my collection, this would be the number one - and I own well over 300 CD's!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2005
This has to be one of my top ten albums of all time. I think a good sign is the fact that the better known tracks ie Dreamer and Bloody Well Right are probably the weaker songs on the album.
Hide in your shell, Asylum, If everyone was listening and Crime of the century are absolutely ace tracks which rate amongst the very best of prog rock. However you don't need to be a prog rock freak to enjoy the wonderful record.
0Comment32 of 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2004
This deserves to be in any progressive rock lover's all time top 5 albums. Despite having a copy of it since the mid 70's, it never tires. Difficult to pick any "outstanding" track as such, because the whole album is outstanding - well crafted & produced, with high quality songs. (If I had to select 3 tracks, I'd probably go with 'School', 'Hide in your shell' & 'Rudy', but then again the other 5 tracks are probably equally good). It works well with alternate tracks being sung by the 2 different vocalists (an approach taken on the next 4 studio albums, until Roger Hodgson's departure). Once I'd heard this (& the subsequent "Crisis? What Crisis" - an excellent album in itself by any other standards), I was tempted to say this would be Supertramp's zenith achievement, but then came "Even in the Quietest Moments", an album every bit as good as "COTC"!!!! - conclusion : an amazing band (or at least until Roger Hodgson's departure).
22 comments23 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Last time I played Supertramp's 1974 breakthrough album "Crime Of The Century" it was the Greg Calbi Remaster of 2002 – and along with his stunning transfer of "Breakfast In America" in 2010 – I thought I'd heard all I needed to hear.

But the big draw in 2014 for Tramp fans will be a double-dip - Remaster Engineer of the moment RAY STAFF - and a decent-sounding concert of near eighty-minutes from that most productive of times for this most British of bands.

Staff handled the 2013 Remaster of Bowie's 1973 LP "Aladdin Sane" and the stunning 2015 "Five Years: 1969 to 1973" 12CD Box Set – both to huge critical acclaim – bringing life and new warmth to a catalogue that's been done to death over the years. In fact Staff's name (like Steve Wilson of Porcupine Tree) has become synonymous with less flash and more subtlety - dig out those nuances and let them breath. And for this 40th Anniversary 2CD DELUXE EDITION of Supertramp's 1974 audiophile masterpiece "Crime Of The Century" – that's pretty much what you get. Let's get behind the bars of this wickedly good reissue...

UK and US released December 2014 – "Crime Of The Century: Deluxe Edition" by SUPERTRAMP on Universal/A&M Records 0600753307885 (Barcode is the same) is a '40th Anniversary' 2CD Remaster and plays out as follows:

Disc 1 (44:20 minutes):
1. School [Lead Vocals Roger Hodgson and Richard Davies]
2. Bloody Well Right [Lead Vocals Richard Davies]
3. Hide In Your Shell [Lead Vocals Roger Hodgson]
4. Asylum [Lead Vocals Richard Davies]
5. Dreamer [Lead Vocals Roger Hodgson] - Side 2
6. Rudy [Lead Vocals Richard Davies and Roger Hodgson]
7. If Everyone Was Listening [Lead Vocals Roger Hodgson]
8. Crime Of The Century [Lead Vocals Richard Davies]
Tracks 1 to 8 are their 3rd album "Crime Of The Century" – released September 1974 in the UK on A&M Records AMLS 68258 and November 1974 in the USA on A&M SP 3647. Roger Hodgson and Richard Davies wrote all the songs with Strings arranged by Richard Hewson. KEN SCOTT and JOHN JANSEN engineered the album with KEN SCOTT producing in conjunction with the band. "Crime Of The Century" peaked at No. 4 in the UK album charts (November 1974) and No. 38 in the US (December 1974).

Disc 2 – "Live At The Hammersmith Odeon, March 9th 1975" (73:58 minutes):
1. School
2. Bloody Well Right
3. Hide In Your Shell
4. Asylum
5. Sister Moonshine
6. Just A Normal Day
7. Another Man's Woman
8. Lady
9. A – You're Adorable
10. Dreamer
11. Rudy
12. If Everyone Was Listening
13. Crime Of The Century

SUPERTRAMP was:
ROGER HODGSON – Vocals, Guitars, Pianos
RICHARD DAVIES – Vocals, Keyboards, Harmonics
JOHN ANTHONY HELLIWELL – Saxophones, Clarinets, Vocals
DOUGIE THOMSON – Bass
BOB C. BENBERG – Drums, Percussion

The glossy gatefold digipak folds out to reveal those familiar snaps of our boys standing naked with their top-hat and tails in hand – staring upwards at the stars in the sky. It’s also nice to see that the lyric insert that came with originals of the LP is fully reproduced in the booklet – including its 'who sings lead on what track' colour-coded typeface. The 24-page booklet also has genuinely enlightening liner notes from PHIL ALEXANDER (Editor in Chief with The MOJO Magazine) along with period photos of the band, promo items relating to the LP, a rare tour program with Procol Harum and even a January 1974 internal letter from Gil Friersen cautiously optimistic that with the new material – A&M Records might even have a new Led Zeppelin or ELP on their hands.

The new 2014 RAY STAFF/WYNE DAVIES Remaster was done at Air Studios - while the near-audiophile sounding live gig from 1975 was mixed from original tapes by the album's original producer KEN SCOTT. The results are far more measured – almost underwhelming at first. There’s a subtlety to the rhythm section – the bass and drums not as bombastic – yet when the keyboards do kick in – you feel it – very tasteful. Let's get to the music...

Famously taking six months to record in three different studios – and after two failed attempts at capturing the public's affection with "Supertramp" and "Indelibly Stamped" in 1970 and 1971 – it seems all were on board to deliver a third album that would astound and finally realise the band's obvious potential. And they did. UK released in September 1974 - momentum saw the LP finally peak at No. 4 in November with the 7" single "Dreamer" making it to No. 13 the following month (AMS 7152 featured "Bloody Well Right" on the flip-side). Released in February 1975 - the American 45 of "Dreamer" (their first hit Stateside) was even given a picture sleeve (the album cover) - peaking at No. 35 in May of that year on the Pop Charts. The album made No. 38 Stateside in December 1974 but continued to sell steadily into early 1975 due to the single's exposure and positive press...

Even as "School" fades in with that lonesome harmonica wail – you can hear the clarity and when it finally punches in proper after the "...he's coming along..." lyric – the wallop is fantastic. The bass and bottom end is warm and defined – and those brilliant flourishes – the guitar solo before the huge piano break at 3:16 minutes – masterful stuff and hugely accomplished. After the shared vocals on "School" - Richard Davies takes the lead vocal solo on the caustic and terribly school-British "Bloody Well Right". Fun for sure but I suspect many fans will bypass that for one of the LP's true nuggets "Hide In Your Shell" – 6:47 minutes of pure Supertramp. "...Don't let the tears linger on the inside now..." - the hurting singer pleads – trying to hide doubt and pain from a world that doesn't seem to understand the nature of either. More ambitious mini-opera comes with "Asylum" – those piano notes so beautifully clear. But for me it's always been "Rudy" on Side 2 that puts the album into superstar class. The musical changes – the clever instrumental arrangements – the melodramatic duelling voices half way in – and that sly train announcement from Paddington Station that mentions Redding, Didcot and Swindon – the last two being Richard and Roger's home towns at the time. And of course the wicked piano hook in the final track "Crime Of The Century" – accomplished and undeniable...

The March 1975 live gig features 1974's "Crime Of The Century" in its entirety and a smattering of new tracks from what would have been their 4th album to be released in November of that year - "Crisis? What Crisis?" Despite the near audiophile clarity (they set out to be this way) – I have to admit that I find much of the gig strangely lifeless. The work-in-progress version of "Sister Moonshine" hadn’t as yet featured all those big 12-string guitars at its centre – so it's good rather than being great. The live version however of "Rudy" is mightily impressive as is "Just A Normal Day" and the crowd are loving the whole of Crime's Side 2 finishing the concert is exact chronological order. I’ve been replaying this in the last few days and it's growing on me...

"Crisis? What Crisis" in 1975 and "Even In The Quietest Moments" in 1977 would cement Supertramp’s grown-up adult Rock rep during the harsh Punk years – only to have the last laugh in 1979 with their mega crossover album "Breakfast In America" - which indeed conquered that continent big time where so many bands before them had tried and failed to do so.

But it all started here...and this 2014 DE of Supertramp’s "Crime Of The Century" (less than eight quid in 2016) is where you should start too...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
5 stars for the music as always. BUT what a disappointment the Blu-ray audio is! Billed and ordered as 5.1 surround sound it is, in fact 2.0 (stereo). Another missed opportunity by the music business mis-marketed by Amazon and a range of music websites. AND the free download from the Pure Audio site is not hi-res (e.g. FLAC) but an mp3 download - WHAT'S THE POINT OF THAT?

However... the hi-resolution version on the Blu-ray is ABSOLUTELY fantastic! I was all ready to bung it back in the case, return it to Amazon, and give a 1-star reviewbut after starting to listen I can't part with it. So much depth to the sound, and bass unheard before on this recording.

But no more pre-orders for Blu-ray audios from me I'm afraid as this is the second time I've been stung by Amazon's mis-marketing.
66 comments15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2006
this album (sorry cd) typifies the growth of sound in the seventies - every track is awesome, even now thirty odd years later it still sounds as fresh and vibrant as ever. Personally I prefer this to Breakfast In America (which is excellent) As a review I give this a 10 out of 10.
11 comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.