Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2004
One of the best albums of the 90s, certainly Tricky's finest and one of my top 10 albums of all time.
Dark, brooding and full of menace both musically and lyrically. It can be listened to on many levels.
Released around the same time as Portishead and Massive Attack were at their peak Maxinquaye is more interesting and has stood the test of time much better.
Fantastic - everybody should own a copy
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2007
Yeah, this is good. I don't think there's a weak track on this album. As always, Tricky sounds almost asleep when he's actually part of the track - often you get other folk singing... with a bit of Tricky whispering in the background... or growling... or sounding like he's challenging the world record for speaking while holding gravel in his mouth. Smart stuff.

Is it deep? I dunno... I like it is all I'm saying... there might be a 'message' or two in the tracks - hell, it might be full of 'messages', but I just really like 'em. It chills me out to listen to this, all the songs sound pretty unrushed, like there's all the time in the world - except maybe for Black Steel and Brand New You're Retro of course.

Lyrically this album is clever and it rhymes a lot... nothing wrong with that, I like it. Best tracks are Ponderosa, Hell Is Round The Corner and Suffocated Love.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Simply put this was the greatest british album of the 90s,
To step out of Massive Attacks shadow and deliver this album was astonishing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This is a masterpiece. Tricky (together with Massive Attack) forever changed the way music sounds and feels. One of the top 20 albums
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
I usually listen to jazz, english and irish folk, robert johnson, derek bailey, debussy and van der graaf generator but to paraphrase the words of another great bristolian resident, the late, great vivian stanshall "baby you're so far ahead it's beautiful". this tricky album still feels like an absolute classic. music changed after this was released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
Have been more aware of Tricky cos of Martina Topley Baird, but through Last.FM his songs kept being added to my list of choons and am glad they did. Good perchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
Deep and dark trip hop at its best!! and his then missus on vocals (Martina) is seriously good!! They just cant make this anymore!! quality as always from tricky!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
This album sounds as good today as it did on its release, absolute perfection and its a pity Tricky didn't want to create any more albums in the same vein.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
You can put this album in the same catogory as massive attacks blue lines or any dance orinantainted album from the 90s it stands up against them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Value for money in good condition, and i ve been wanting to listen 2 it for years.. came on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)