Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Stop The Rock and It Doesn't Matter ARE CLASS.
Dig Your Own Hole is not merely another EPD. An important album that should be recognised for bridging the gap between Rock and Techno. Block Rockin' Beats and Setting Sun are the most recognised of these tunes, as they feature twisted guitar riffs and drum loops to give something that many of us never thought could exist; Techno and Rock together. However, Tom and Ed...
Published on 29 Sep 2001 by Rebecca Lewis

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rockin
It's got a few excellent tracks on it but one or two weren't to my liking so not a complete album
Published 14 months ago by Hardip


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Stop The Rock and It Doesn't Matter ARE CLASS., 29 Sep 2001
By 
Rebecca Lewis (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
Dig Your Own Hole is not merely another EPD. An important album that should be recognised for bridging the gap between Rock and Techno. Block Rockin' Beats and Setting Sun are the most recognised of these tunes, as they feature twisted guitar riffs and drum loops to give something that many of us never thought could exist; Techno and Rock together. However, Tom and Ed don't forget how to make pure, unrefined Electronic music, either, with tracks like Get Up On It Like This, and the trippy Lost In The K-Hole (K standing for Ketamine, you get the picture.) It's a much rawer sound than EPD's, and as such is quite a handful. However, Tom and Ed's highlight is left to the end. The Private Psychedelic Reel. The name alone is enough to realise that this is a mammoth track, which is nothing short of genius. Never have I heard a song a awesome as this. Futuristic sounds and whizzing noises lead to the climactic end, with an awesome electronically enhanced clarinet solo. The track is brilliant throughout. Too difficult to describe it anymore, the best thing to do is listen to it yourself.
It places above the commercial misery that is Surrender, but isn't quite as good as EPD on the whole.
Oh, and Don't Stop The Rock and It Doesn't Matter are class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awesome !!!, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
An quite breath-takingly brilliant piece of work only surpassed (or equalled???) in recent years by fellow genius' Leftfield and The Prodigy. Dig Your Own Hole is an album where any song can be listened to depending on your mood. The obvious title track & 'electrobank' being the highlights are for when your in the mood for a laugh and 'where do i begin' is the perfect song to chill out to.......SUPERB album shame about the horribly commercial follow-up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten years on, still a massive album, 1 May 2007
By 
R. B. Moore "rmoore322" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
Way back when, this was one of the defining big beat albums. Massive percussion, explosions etc underneath layers of almost discordant samples and loops. It broke the Brothers into the mainstream with Block Rockin Beats leading the way on the radio, and Setting Sun ticking the celebrity vocals box.

Ten years on, this remains a cracking album. The tracks merge into one soundtrack, which veers between the plaintive Where Do I Begin to the real hardcore mid section of the album. Sometimes you get a nice neat packaged chorus sing a long, and sometimes you get a real mashup of noise. But the quality shines through. And if you turn it up all the way to 11, then it becomes just awesome, the subtleties, the balance of the different layers, brilliant....

Probably not the best place to start for a Chemical beginner, maybe Push the Button or Surrender are more user friendly. But this one put some commercial shine on the raw promise of Exit Planet Dust. If you like your dance with a big phat beat underneath, then this is one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Chemical sound!, 7 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
After the very uncelebrated first album, which still stands as a break-through in break beat masterery, the Chemical Brothers second album is the album to which an unmistakable standard has been set. This should be an ablum to take pride of, in any collection. From the first breathtaking beats of Block Rockin Beats to the final harmonic end of the Private Psychadelic Reel you will transported through an album which has a track for everyone. With guest vocalists Noel Gallagher and Beth Orten making their mark on the ablum in their own particular way, is there anymore could a person ask for from two incredible guys? After listening to this album, music doesn't sound the same any more. I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Ever., 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
In 1995 the Chemical Brothers brought big beat to the world with their classic album exit planet dust. Dig Your Own Hole took the earth - shaking sounds of the first album and took it to a whole new level. Dig Your Own Hole was the first album that can truly claim to not only have brought together rock and dance music but to have created something totally new at the same time. The album takes guitar hooklines and fuses them with sirens and beats so immense that they probably shouldn't be lega,l to create an album unlike any other. The album opens with the titanic "Block Rockin' Beats" (which is worth the asking price alone) and this sets the tone for an hour - long sonic assault on your senses. The pace is held steady with the main highlights being "Elektrobank," "Piku," "Get up on it like this" and possibly the Chemicals' finest hour "Private Psychedelic Reel." Contributors Noel Gaalgher, Beth Orton and Kool Herc make an appearance, and all make a substantial input to the tracks they're on. While personally, I like all the tracks, "Don't Stop the Rock" is the worst thing the Chemicals have ever done and is of a lower standard to the rest. This nearly pushes the album down to 4 stars but the rest is so good that you won't be disappointed. All in all a measured, controlled, skillfully produced album that has everything, from all out dance to moments of real beauty that not even Leftism can match. Everyone needs a copy of this album, buy it yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite album of all time, 20 Jun 2001
By 
Robert W. Griffin (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
hi, by the time you've read this review you've read ten others very similar. i'll keep it short. the opener, BLB, is excellent, Elektrobank moves you, Get Up On It Like This groves you, Lost In The K-Hole (personal fave) chills you and the 'Reel invigorates you. All the tracks are classic, including the ones that no-one else likes (it doesn't matter, don't stop the rock). buy it the day before yesterday!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Watermark of Electronica, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
In the mid to late 90's dance and electronica stood its own ground alongside the Britpop movement and The Chemical Brothers were an act who rode the crest of that wave.

I remember buying Dig Your Own Hole on the day it was released, no MP3 downloads in those days, I rocked up to my local Virgin Megastores and snapped up a copy. I was, literally, stunned at the tracks on this album, they blew me out of my shoes.

Looking back, with 16 years of developing musical tastes I still like to revisit this album and it has not aged at all.

From the chart friendly 'Block Rockin' Beats' to the Britpop nod of 'Setting Sun' and moving onto more analogue-like, tone pieces such as 'Private Psychedelic Reel' there is a lot on offer here.

As my audio budget has increased I have begun to pick out nuances and details in this album that I have never heard before. I am currently using an iBasso DX50 player, KEF M500 headphones and have ripped the album to high quality FLAC files.

As I type I am listening to 'It Doesn't Matter' and am smiling to myself. The bass dives low, to sub levels and my cans are moving some air to push it out. The crackling drums pan left to right, opening up the soundstage. Just amazing. Towards the end of the track the synths and drums stop, leaving only the slightly crackling, deep bass thrum that tickles and pulses the ears. What strikes me here is how good this recording is, it is amazingly well engineered and does not fall apart when listened to on decent equipment.

Towards the albums end it rolls into a couple of come-down tracks, rather like the Narcotic Suite at the end of the Prodigy's Music For The Jilted Generation. First up is the sublime 'Where Do I begin' with a sweet, yet slightly maudlin Beth Orton singing gently over a rolling guitar chord, in the background there is a sweet bass roll and panning synths. The track builds to a strident crescendo before segueing neatly into the absolute standout track, 'The Private Psychedelic Reel.'

This is an absolute belter, a slow builder of a bass loop with a perfectly entwined synth accompaniment, the layers slowly build until a clatter of drums propels the track into a higher gear of energy and excitement.

A perfect album, gorgeous sounds that still feel fresh and vibrant 16 years down the road.

A watershed moment for the Chemical Brothers.

Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So near...., 15 April 2005
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
Here's my review of 'Dig Your Own Hole':
1. Block Rockin' Beats: 9/10- pure quality breakbeat funk
2. Dig Your Own Hole: 10/10- one of the phattest tunes ever
3. Elektrobank: 7/10- well produced, but a bit too much in the mix I'd say
4. Piku: 7.5/10- funky little number, nothing special
5. Setting Sun: 9/10- big, funky and fresh, a good party tune
6. It Doesn't Matter: 4.5/10- well produced, uninspired techno
7. Don't Stop The Rock: 5.5- flashes of a real good tune are revealed, but the track is too monotonous
8. Get Up On It Like This: 8/10- quite funky & cool
9. Lost In The K Hole: 10/10- my fave- those chimes take me to heaven, and the bassline is gorgeous
10. Where Do I Begin: 9.5/10- blissful, chilled breakbeat
11. The Private Psychedelic Reel: 10/10- epic and phat at the same time, this track is a true dance classic.
Overall: This album contains a few real killers, but too many fillers for it to be a classic. The good tracks are bloody good, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 18 years on and still awesome, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
To appreciate fully why the first track is called Block Rockin' Beats, you really must listen to it on a system with a big, powerful, low-reaching subwoofer. It's a revelation to hear how much low-frequency action is going on down there below 40Hz, which most stereo speakers just can't reach down to. It's what I imagine it would be like to have a large bomb detonating a hundred yards away. The whole album is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 6 May 2014
By 
D. Gardner (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (MP3 Download)
Listened to this for the first time on a long flight. As soon as it had finished, I played it again. As soon as I arrived back home I bought it! It finishes on a high, and I think it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dig Your Own Hole
Dig Your Own Hole by The Chemical Brothers
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews