Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MCFLY
To who ever love's McFly out there this is the CD to get<3 even if you never heard any of there song's BLOODY BUY IT:D
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by Hanna MCFLYSUPERFAN

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An alright start to a fantastic 10 years to follow
10 years on after this debut album came out and I still hear people singing some of the songs they remember. I however can't seem to get most of them out of my head. Sure their sound will change over the next few years. But I see that this was a good starting point for what would become (In my opinion) one of the best bands to come out of Britain!
Published 14 months ago by Lewis Gilbert


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MCFLY, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
To who ever love's McFly out there this is the CD to get<3 even if you never heard any of there song's BLOODY BUY IT:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars room on the third floor review, 16 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
1. 5 colors in her hair- what's more to say about this song? Their first (#1!) single is a great song, catchy and fun to dance and, of course, listen to.
2. Obviously- this is such a great song, Their second (also #1!) single. I love this song- the lyrics, the melody and the vocals- it's all good
3. room on the third floor- well, this is a great song, but I liked the version that they performed in the Saturday show (I think) much better- for those who, like me, got used to this version before the CD was out, it might be a bit weird without the "1,2,3,4", "nooooooo!" and the "thank you!" in the end¡Kthe cd version is more calm, without Danny 'shouting' (which I love hearing!). but this song IS truly a lovely song with great lyrics.
4. That girl- this song is one of my favorites. It has the cool 60's sound to it (well, the whole cd does), really great lyrics which I love and good vocals- this to I knew as a live version which was stronger, but this awesome song sounds just right everywhere. What I like most about this song is that I can hear it over & over (and over¡K) again continuity without getting tired of it- again, awesome song.
5. Hypnotized- b the title you can conclude it's different- and it is. It has a different tune and it's really nice. The best thing I think is the lyrics.
6. Saturday night- well this is just a party song, a great one (I know I use 'great' a lot but the songs really are¡Kgreatƒº). Nice amusing lyrics and awesome sound¡Kgood job guys!
7. Met this girl- BEST ONE. Well, maybe not the best, there's a lot of amazing songs, but this one is definitely one of them. It's just like a bouncy love song, not an unusual idea with some hard lyrics or something. Great vocals, Great tune, great everything. When I hear this song my heart goes boom (ba ba ba ba pa da ba!)
8. She left me- first of all, I would like to raise to thumbs up for tom, and, especially danny's vocals, as well as the wonderful background ones. it is really a pleasure to hear them sing calmly, lovely voices. Also, beautiful lyrics and melody. Music to my ears.
9. Down by the lake- the thing I like most in this song is, well, the title. I thought it's gonna be better then that because I found the name lovely, but I didn't really relate to this song, though it's nice.
10. Unsaid things- I heard it for the first time a long time ago, and I liked it a lot, but there are better ones in the cd.
11. Surfer babe- another one of the really catchy ones- I fell in love with it immediately- I really just liked it all- the way they sing and play In it and the cool lyrics. AND, what makes it even better, is, a bit of Dougies voice! ( I think it's him! Singing one of the "but you are" in that part) wouldn¡¦t mind a Harry & Dougie song¡K:) excellent work!
12. Not alone- Danny wrote this song and sings most of it, which is great and fit for the song- I think he should have sang it all, but oh well¡K this is an astonishing in my opinion, got me frozen.
13. Broccoli- cool title and nice lyrics, I think it has a familiar sound to it, don't know why. Great ending dong.
14. Get over you- hidden song- rewind it from #1 to hear. That's a nice song and is fit to be the hidden one I think, 'cos it sounds more like free and erm, not recorded, I don't know how to explain. ANYWAY, cool song.
In conclusion: *top five- met this girl, that girl, obviously. She left me, surfer babe. (ok not alone as well!)
But my fave mcfly song is, actually, the 5cihh b-side; the guy who turned her down. Too bad it's just a b-side.
This is my review, and I hope someone read it though it's long, and, he he, agreed with me. For the mcfly fans out there, you must have loved it, and for those who like that kind of music you would love it, I believe!
The guys did a really great job playing their instruments and writing all of their songs (most of them by Tom and the lovely mister James Bourne!), and singing real good most of the time. Now that's talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Know It's Old But..., 1 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. L. Lowe "Linz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
This album totally sums up mcfly, summery guitar based pop with clever lyrics.
They've succeeded in not taking themselves too seriously like some 'indie' bands and have taken inspiration from pop bands such as the beatles and the beach boys.
I'd recommend buying this album if you want a fun, cheery album to sing along too...beware it gets very addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An instant classic!, 6 Oct 2007
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
I know it's been years since it's release, and I have to admit, at 15 I was trying to get away from pop bands.. and I did. I had this album when it came out first, then to gain some "credibility" I stopped listening to it and told nobody I liked McFly. BAD MOVE!
This album is great, I still listen to it on a regular basis and I don't think I've met anyone who doesn't know how much I love McFly! Genuinely great band both live and recorded :)
The songs on this album are catchy and upbeat, the ultimate FUN songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catchy music, cute packaging: irresistable combination!, 5 Aug 2004
By 
Kate Brennan (Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
Although I had to fight the blushes and the little voices in my head that cried, "No, Kate, you're not ditzy and thirteen!", I am pleased that I bought this CD. The four boys that make up McFly are irresistably cute, and so are the tracks on their album- if you're after some of the latest spikey-haired brand of pop, you're not going to go far wrong here. I find it pretty hard not to smile after listening to lines like "We spoke for hours / she took off my trousers" and "She doesn't know that I'm a virgin in the kitchen because it's normally my mum"! Lyrics about crushes, rejection and parties are blended with catchy tunes that are so infectious they're in danger of ruining my social life; while it's safe to sing "Don't think I know your name but I do, but I do, but I do, you're a surfer babe" in the comfort of my bedroom, it's not advisable behaviour in the pub on rock night!
McFly have come under fire for having the nerve to draw influence from credible acts while being packaged, preened and pimped to an audience of teenage girls. While this observation is undoubtedly true, I fail to see why this is necessarily a bad thing! If you take this CD on its merits, namely that it's irresistably catchy, you're guaranteed not to go wrong. My only complaint regarding the music is that some it borders on the plain derivative, and on first listen I was playing a game of "who's the influence?". I'm glad to see that my second complaint is shared by another reviewer: The grammar in the sleeve is simply shocking, and noticing the mistakes made me feel like an old maid at eighteen. Not all of McFly's fans are yet to take formal qualifications in English!
So to sum up: In the world of contemporary pop music, filled with meaningless dance "choons" and cover versions by Cowell's army, McFly are a relatively fresh breath of air. Despite the fact that I'm comparatively past it and usually listen to much different music, I adore this CD and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates half-decent pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go McFly!, 18 July 2004
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
I'm loving this album! It's just so damn summery. One listen and you'll be hooked, I promise. And by the way, for anyone who thinks that McFly are just Busted all over again, you are so wrong. Where Busted turn to punk and rock for their inspiration, McFly look at the Beach Boys and the Beatles for theirs. (By the way I love Busted's stuff as well.) Talking (and listening to people talking) about teen life has never been so much fun! Avril Lavigne tried it, and succeeded in describing the teenage years as hell- which they aren't! McFly describe heartbreak, crushes and everyday life with twangy guitar music and witty, honest lyrics (written by the boys themselves). With tracks like Surfer Babe and Hypnotized that sound like they came off the back of the Beach Boys' tour bus, and contrasting songs like Not Alone, and title track Room on the Third Floor which smack of Oasis, McFly have come up with a superb album for the summer. As one of the new breed of "real popstars", bands who write their own songs and play their own music, McFly are leading the way and successors will have a lot to live up to.
And what talent! They actually can sing! And play their own instruments. Tom's vocal range is great and Danny's rasping voice well exceeds his years. Dougie and Harry sing the backing music, Tom and Danny sing lead. Dougie, Tom and Danny all play guitar while Harry's stuck at the back playing the drums. Such a pity since he's so cute. They all are actually...
Anyway, I reckon McFly are head and shoulders above everyone in the charts at the minute. I'm sure there's more to come from these guys. Well done Tom, Harry, Danny and Dougie! xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just can't get enough!, 20 Mar 2005
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
Our favourites princes of pop have been around for less than a year, yet McFly have already been successful beyond their wildest dreams.
Ever since that infectious twanging guitar intro to '5 Colours In Her Hair' echoed in the nation's ear, Danny, Dougie, Tom and Harry have been in constant demand. You just can't get enough of them!
McFly have most definately proved themselves to be more than just a 'bonsai' Busted. They've embarked on sell-out tours, performed in front of thousands of McFly maniacs, graced the cover of just about every music magazine there is, and become a household name in the process.
Thanks to us ever-growing fans, McFly's first two singles '5 Colours In Her Hair' and 'Obviously' went straight to #1 on the UK Charts and zoomed in straight at #1 as soon as they were released. (Found on tracks 1 and 2 on this album) The boys also made history when their debut album 'Room On The Third Floor' (this), went straight to the top of the UK Charts! And as if that wasn't enough, their fifth single 'All About You/You've Got A Friend,' the official Comic Relief Single 2005, went straight to #1! But rewinding back to this #1 album, it made them the youngest ever british boy band to have a #1 album - a record previously held by only 1 band - The Beatles, McFly's idols.
All this only goes to show that McFly have officially arrived, and they're here to stay. There's no holding them back now!
Get set for the exciting new things that will happen in the future -- the rise and rise of...! What will lie ahead for the UK's biggest pop band!?
McFly mania rocks! And I quite literally mean that!
All 13 songs on this album are truly awesome -- all 14 if you count the great hidden track 'Get Over You' which sounds similar to their newest 'All About You,' but my favourites are '5 Colours In Her Hair,' 'She Left Me' and my ultimate favourite 'Unsaid Things.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
Incredible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as described., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
Liked the music, I did have this cd previously but lost it. I wouldn't have rated it as "used - very good" as it's condition though!!! As it skips on a song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An alright start to a fantastic 10 years to follow, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Room on the 3rd Floor (Audio CD)
10 years on after this debut album came out and I still hear people singing some of the songs they remember. I however can't seem to get most of them out of my head. Sure their sound will change over the next few years. But I see that this was a good starting point for what would become (In my opinion) one of the best bands to come out of Britain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews