Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real action from real people to save whales
This is one of the most entertaining DVD's you could ever see.
There is action, real relationships, compassion, aggression, arguments and in the end hundreds of whales saved by a mostly volunteer Sea Shepherd Crew in the freezing waters of Antarctica.
Captain Paul Watson askes of his crew what he askes of himself:
'Are you willing to risk your lives for...
Published on 23 April 2009 by Darren Collis

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Artificial
The incident with the japanese ship and the bullet is clearly staged for the cameras, which is really not on but I suspect it happens a lot in these "reality" series. Nevermind.
Published 9 months ago by Pauly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real action from real people to save whales, 23 April 2009
By 
Darren Collis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the most entertaining DVD's you could ever see.
There is action, real relationships, compassion, aggression, arguments and in the end hundreds of whales saved by a mostly volunteer Sea Shepherd Crew in the freezing waters of Antarctica.
Captain Paul Watson askes of his crew what he askes of himself:
'Are you willing to risk your lives for whales? - if not you don't belong on this ship".
A veteran of hundreds of battles to save marine wildlife, Captain Watson wages war on the Japanese Whaling Fleet in the Southern Ocean.
Stars of the show (other than the Captain) are ace helicopter pilot Chris Aultman and the two guys (Giles and Ben) who risk everything for the cause.
Whale Wars II was filmed recently - from all accounts it is going to do what few films can - be even better than the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea Sheperd; the best., 11 April 2010
If you are interested in environmental conservation, than this is an excellent dvd box set. Sea Shepherd are excellent at what they do.

Animal Planet do fail to mention the simple fact that the Japanese kill in an established Whale Sanctuary where it is illegal to kill any whales for any reason. They also fail to mention that the killing takes place in Australian Territory and is also against Australian law. For this reason, no Japanese whaling ship is allowed entry into an Australian port. Pete Garret of Australia promised to enforce the law against the illegal Japanese poachers but upon being elected did nothing.

The downside to the production is the annoying, unnecessary music and the camera shot changing every half second. Ir seems to have been produced for people with ADD.

It is however, well worth watching. Love Sea Shepherd. Can't wait to see season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 15 Mar 2010
I haven't even got to the end of the series yet and am just so impressed and inspired by the work these people are doing. I disagree with the previous review that says negative things about the crew due to their lack of experience. I read the book Whale Warriors first which is about the same organisation. Yes much of the crew is inexperienced & mistakes are made as a result but as Paul Watson says in one episode, there are millions of people in the world who are against whaling but these are the few who are prepared to actually take direct action & put themselves in danger in order to put a stop to it. If they could pick and choose from hundreds of much more experienced volunteers for their crew I am sure they would have done but in truth there are very few people willing to put themselves on the line.

The most impressive thing is how well their actions work, by simply being present the Japanese whalers are too afraid to carry on whaling and run instead, every day they are running they are not whaling as the Sea Shepherds say. so there is no doubt to the effectiveness of their campaign and their actions. And the media attention they are ensuring the issue gets must be helping to raise public awareness too, i think a lot of people don't realise that whaling still goes on. The series is gripping viewing as well, like any `reality' show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating,Gripping,Inspiring, 27 Jun 2012
I had already sent off my application to volunteer with Sea Shepherd before I heard about Whale Wars. I decided it might be a good idea to get a heads up on exactly what these volunteer missions entail. I was slightly hesitant about watching footage of any actual killing,However the emphasis should definately be on 'Wars' more than 'Whales' Guerilla warfare,strategic planning and tactical manoeuvers all come into play as Sea Shepherd,armed with intelligence, helicoptors,ships,and speedboats go in hot pursuit of the Japanese whaling fleet in an effort to disrupt as much of their whaling activities as possible using direct action.They frequently put their lives in danger and risk the wrath of the hunters onboard who are not afraid to defend their ships.Captain Paul Watson is usually one step ahead as he plans his next move and he and his crew stop at nothing to ensure the whalers are under constant attack often with serious consequences.Miss at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Artificial, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The incident with the japanese ship and the bullet is clearly staged for the cameras, which is really not on but I suspect it happens a lot in these "reality" series. Nevermind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT WORK BY SEA SHEPHERD, 11 May 2013
By 
Brian "ufoman" (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everyone who cares for the planet and its wildlife,should see this video.Beautifiully shot and narrated,it documents the struggle a few brave activists against the Japanese whale meat industry,jokeingly called research.How many whales do you have to kill before you have enough data on them ??
Governments are a waste of time on this issue,it seems they cant be A****D
This video puts you amongst the action,and I for one will be buying each season,and supporting SEA SHEPHERD.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whale wars, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Jennifer Kerr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as gift for my son, arrived in time and good condition, has been watched by many people and enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whale Wars: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £14.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews