Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album - regardless of past glories
A number of previous reviews have focussed on comparing this to Beck's earlier releases, some favourably, some less so. Well, this is the first Beck CD I've picked up (spur of the moment after seeing him perform some of these tracks on 'Later'), so I guess this is a 'stand-alone' review - i.e. without reference to past glories.
It's quite understated (minimalist...
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by Jim Marshall

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Que Onda, Guero?
If anyone deserves the term "eclectic", it's probably Beck. Each and every one of his previous five or six albums have explored a new sound, and whether it be deep fried funk or downbeat acoustic, he's always achieved some kind of success. 'Guero' is different because it's something of a victory lap album; following the commercially disappointing 'Sea Change', Beck here...
Published on 17 May 2005 by parsefone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album - regardless of past glories, 19 Aug 2005
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
A number of previous reviews have focussed on comparing this to Beck's earlier releases, some favourably, some less so. Well, this is the first Beck CD I've picked up (spur of the moment after seeing him perform some of these tracks on 'Later'), so I guess this is a 'stand-alone' review - i.e. without reference to past glories.
It's quite understated (minimalist production, vocals low in the mix), so it takes a few plays to get under your skin - but once the individual songs register, it just keeps getting better. There's a slow burning groove to many of the tracks - it would make a great party album (assuming your party goers are old enough to look beyond the top 10).
The lasting impression is of subtly catchy tracks driven along by a slow-cooked mix of bass riffs, hand claps and finger snaps, overlaid with low key but tuneful vocals.
Some of the tracks rock (E-Pro, Rental Car), some have a old-timer county twang (Farewell Ride, Emergency Exit), others are almost pure rythmn (Black Tambourine), and Broken Drum is just beautiful, but with the possible exception of the final bonus track Chain Reaction they all stand - indeed develop with - repeated plays.
Highly recommended.
PS inspired by reviews of other Beck albums, I've since picked up the highly rated Sea Change album. It's a great if very different album (haunting breakup songs rather than grooves - Broken Drum would slot right in), but it doesn't diminish Guero. Ignore the nay-sayers; there's room for more than one style in an artist's pantheon, and Beck is talented enough to deliver across genres in spades - Guero is ace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent album from a consistantly excellent artist, 27 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
Guero has received generally strong reviews. People have often mentioned how it harks back to the era of Odelay, but in Guero he has created something that I have found to be new and very unlike Odelay. The strong opener E-Pro sounds like the beginning of a danceable and uncompromising rock album, yet it blends and blends well into the unusual and joyous hip- hop track Que Onda Guero, filled with horn samples and shouting. Then another twist with the short Computer Gamey introduction to Girl, which soon emerges as a wonderful acoustic-ish sing along, with a creepy and ghostly narrative.
These changes in style continue throughout the album, but they blend so well together because they often maintain a strong rhythm. Missing sees Beck singing more clearly than ever before and the strong bossa nova rhythm is maintained throughout Missing, making the sparse funkiness of Black Tambourine seem a natural follow up. The Spanish sounds continue with Earthquake Weather which also melds hip hop and pop and Money Mark on the Organ.
The terse Hell Yes is funky, but is much simpler than the layered tracks of Midnite Vultures. Christina Ricci's Japanese vocals add charm. The album becomes quite subtle for the next few tracks, but doesn't dip in quality- the epic Broken Drum, the countrified and danceable Scarecrow, the toe tapping Go It Alone and the death march of Farewell Ride. A car engine starts up beginning Rental Car. It starts out quite rocky and then leads to it's amazing, somewhat baroque yeah, yeah, yeah chorus with clavinet. As if it could get no better, you hear Petra Haden's quirky and cheerful vocals. The track stops quite abruptly for the reflective and prayer- like Emergency Exit. The following two bonus tracks, Send A Message to Her and Chain Reaction are pretty different covering 60's pop and folk hop to anthemic bonus noise. Try to get a listen of Clap Hands, the weird hip- hop bonus track for Japan and the Guero DVD.
Guero is an album to enjoy and get a little bit lost in, an album to play to other people or in the car because it's exciting and interesting. The artwork by Marcel Dzama is good too. It might not be a good comparison for Guero, but try to imagine a radio that has overnight been possessed by sharks, Los Angeles, Japan, cowboys, ghosts both sad and happy, game boys, ice lollies and spacemen. Then when you turn it on in the morning you hear a variety that radio stations often promise. It's not like a Beck "best of", but it is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Boy Masterpiece, 17 April 2005
By 
John D. Storer "xlo58" (Boston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
This IS the album Beck has been aiming for all these years. This has to be his most accomplished piece of work to date. All of the elements from previous outings are included here, but now honed to perfection. Beck has never been one to hide his influences, and they all come flooding out on this CD. Listen to the album and hear shades of Nirvana, Nick Drake, Parliament, Gilberto Gil and, ironically, Beck himself - he's drawn on the previous album for influences and taken all the best bits.
Very highly recommended and, along with Kaiser Chiefs' "Employment", a likely candidate for "Album of the Year"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beckology Continues, 10 April 2006
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
Although only owning one other Beck album "Sea Change" and thinking it was a genius i decided to by "Guero" his much anticipated follow-up. "Guero" dabbles with rap and flirts with hip-hop beats still keeping a somewhat alternative sound.
1.E-Pro - A song that has a most distinct rock sound more than any other song on the album its really cool the distorted guitar mixed with the somewhat camp "Na Na Na's" make it very catchy and enjoyable 10/10
2.Que Onda Guero? - This is one of the albums highlights nice beat which goes with the vibe of the song Beck rapping has always something i frowned at but i think it works well for him i found out that "Guero" is a slurr the spanish people in his neighbour used to call him roughly translate as "White Boy" this is one of the best songs on the album 10/10
3.Girl - The cool Atari-esque intro then kicking into a feel good rock-lite song just about a girl he really likes this was one of the singles as well i dunno why it didn't do well it fits in perfectly with whats out now but oh well i still love it 9/10
4.Missing - Has a bit of a spanish feel to it Back hums in the background which somehow gives it cool atmosphere i love the way he sings on this one the string arrangement make it sounds eerie which i like another album highlight 10/10
5.Black Tambourine - Although not the longest track on the album it definately sticks out very catchy and jus one of the coolest songs it's too bad this isnt longer 9/10
6.Earthquake Weather - I felt this has a very distinct R&B feel to it has a nice laid back feel to it this should have been one of the singles i enjoyed this one alot and have had it on repeat a few times before 10/10
7.Hell Yes - Why didn't this do well over here!!! this is by far my favourite song on the album his rapping just always makes me laugh but it fits very well the beat reminds me of Jill Scott's song "Gimme" i like the way Beck experimented on this 'coz it works very well 10/10
8.Broken Drum - Really the only downtempo song on the album has a nice guitar riff which sounds almost sexy this could have been on "Sea Change" even though i don't find this one depressing at all 9/10
9.Scarecrow - The guy from the White Stripes accompanies Beck by playing bass. Tthis is one of the better tracks, has a nice country-ish vibe this would have made an interesting video concept the beat reminds me of the song "Addicted To Love"
10/10
10.Go It Alone - The beat reminds me of Zero 7's "I Have Seen" this song is not really a favourite of mine although many fans find this one excellent but it just didnt stick with me 7/10
11.Fairwell Ride - Another country-esque song reminding me of the old west and its more evident that the inspiration came from there by the lyrics and the way he sings maybe he was inspired by the late Johnny Cash 10/10
12.Rental Car - Yeah its ok but not really a favourite of mine it jus seems a continuation from #11 although the short guitar solo is beautiful 8/10
13.Emergency Exit - Has an electronic vibe to it and the wailing make it seem very creepy although this may well be one of the strongest tracks on the album the lyrics are good 10/10
Top 5
1.Hell Yes
2.Earthquake Weather
3.Que Onda Guero
4.Scarecrow
5.Missing/Fairwell Ride
Guero was one of the coolest sounding albums from last year pick it up if ur a Beck fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a palette of beck sounds....., 1 April 2005
By 
Andrew (St.Julians Malta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
guero is just great - previously, though, beck showed off his ability of eclectic song writing by releasing whole albums rotating around particular styles (with him going wildly off tangent at times), this time he has seemingly brought in all the styles he's mastered previously in this single album - from the mellow gold scarecrow to the odelay e-pro to the mutations missing to the midnite vultures hell yes and the sea change broken drum - and still he manages to do this with incredible ease creating an album which has beck written all over it. it's a sort of greatest hits album of unreleased songs - excellent for the unitiated and very satisfying to the connoisseur. (try to get hold of the import versions with send a message to her!!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Q: Que onda Guero? A: En mi Walkman, a menudo., 23 Mar 2005
By 
J. A. Rennie "nightjar777" (Tremont, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
Or something like that. I was a teeny-bit apprehensive about Beck's latest, having bought his last three albums (Mutations, Mid. Vultures, Sea Change) and found them either overproduced, or just overdone when compared to his first three major releases which were each, for completely differing reasons, extraordinary. But with Guero he seems to have rediscovered the multi-colored spirit of his earlier material, and combined it with years of experience (Beck's vocals have never sounded more assured) in a superb bunch of songs over which Beck has total control, yet sets free in every direction, sound totally new, yet completely Beck. Beck is back! I love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Que Onda, Guero?, 17 May 2005
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
If anyone deserves the term "eclectic", it's probably Beck. Each and every one of his previous five or six albums have explored a new sound, and whether it be deep fried funk or downbeat acoustic, he's always achieved some kind of success. 'Guero' is different because it's something of a victory lap album; following the commercially disappointing 'Sea Change', Beck here returns to what he's remembered best for, the funky psychedelia of 'Odelay'. Whether you think this a cynical retread or a glorious return to form really depends on what you think of the man's back catologue. There's a lot of fun to be had, that's for sure; "Hell Yes" jives with an undeniable swagger, whilst "Girl" and glorious bonus track "Send A Message To Her" bounce with sunshine-laden choruses.
Beck's talent is clear throughout, but the real problem with 'Guero' is that it's all been said and done before. "E-Pro", the first single, is a case in point; it sounds like "Devil's Haircut", only not as good. With the lyrics booklet largely gibberish and Beck's vocals now little more than a mumble, what was once a voice of a generation now sounds slightly dispirited; it's begging for some English teacher to shout "Stop addressing your feet and give me a proper answer!". Nothing here captures the soul of "Nobody's Fault But My Own" or the raw bite of "Loser". It would be tempting to say Beck's finally lost his edge, but there are two exceptions on 'Guero' which suggest he still has something to say. "Que Onda Guero" and "Earthquake Weather" are both genuinely special; between the former's infectious beat and the swirling smog of bass on the latter, the mood of Beck's home town of Los Angeles is captured brilliantly.
In the end? Beck fans, rejoice! Everybody else? I hear that nice Mr. Mason has been declared voice of the generation. Why don't you go check him out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inexplicable Genius!!!, 23 Mar 2005
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
This is the kind of cd you stick into your cd-player and can't understand how a human being created such beauty. I was never such a big fan of Beck until I heard "Sea Change" which just brought me to tears. I then understood I was dealing with a genius who was growing in an exraordinary way. This cd is pure beauty, the melodies just flow into your head like the smell of flowers.
Give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD-Audio outstanding, 1 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Guero [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The DVD-Audio mix is superb, with loads of discrete elements going off all around you - Girls (track 3) blew me away with the intro, the electro effects were so clean, and even the sampled sections were clear with no noticable noise (perhaps a slight bit of hiss on E-Pro, but nothing that made that track anything other than brilliant.
The extra songs on the normal CD are a mixed bag really - the Dizzee Rascal remix was at best disappointing, the Royksopp remix was ok, the Boards of Canada remix is excellent. Of the extra Beck songs only Chain Reaction stood up to the rest of the album, the others are ok but not to the same level.
The quality of the box (a hardback book that's DVD sized with the CD and DVD at the back) is worth the extra money over the normal CD, if you have a DVD-Audio compatible player you should never have let buying the CD only version cross your mind :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A point of view from a Rock Fan, 26 April 2009
By 
David Calcano (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guero (Audio CD)
I have mixed feelings on this album, but it has fantastic songs, very melodic and moody (Broken Drum) is an unbelievable song, the riff from the first track is also great. But obviously Beck wants to experiment, for example in the 'Que onda Guero' Beck mixes his style w/ a mexican rock-rap a la 'Molotov*', a great experiment. I always admire artist who are trying t reinvent themselves, but somehow I heard two completely different records in this album. Is it worth buying? Yes, even when there were tracks that I had to skip because I couldn't go with them! This was just after my first listen though. But the songs I liked were great pop tracks with an amazing production of strange sounds that blend perfectly with the melodies.

Let the music play!

*Molotov is a great Mexican band that fuses rap, rock, electronica and pretty much anything that you can imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews