Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fabulous
The rush of lengthy reviews for this album are a little tiresome, as is the ridiculous snobery of the reviewer who assumes that a fellow reviewer hasn't listened to QOTSA albums before 'Songs for the Deaf'simply because he alludes to the absence of Dave Grohl- get over yourself man!! The politics aside, this album is a joy. Guitar heaven from start to finish; highlights...
Published on 25 Mar 2005 by MISS RACHEL M MCINTOSH

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The weakest QOTSA album.
I've left writing a review for this album for a long time to see if I would grow to love it more but I'm afraid I haven't. There are some briliant songs on here (Burn the Witch, Somethings in the Wolf) but it just gets too repetetive in the second half. Rated R and SftD both had a much wider range of musical styles. Lullabies gets stuck in a robotic-sleaze sound for most...
Published on 10 Mar 2007 by B. A. Chiverton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fabulous, 25 Mar 2005
This review is from: Lullabies To Paralyze (Audio CD)
The rush of lengthy reviews for this album are a little tiresome, as is the ridiculous snobery of the reviewer who assumes that a fellow reviewer hasn't listened to QOTSA albums before 'Songs for the Deaf'simply because he alludes to the absence of Dave Grohl- get over yourself man!! The politics aside, this album is a joy. Guitar heaven from start to finish; highlights are the lush 'I never came' which does not 'drag on' as stated by a previous reviewer, but highlights the versatility of Nick's voice, and in placing this track straight after the excellent lead single 'Little Sister' ensures maximum impact. Other high points include CD opener 'This Lullaby' and the fantastic 'Broken Box'. As a whole, the album flows beautifully, yet is more experimental than 'Rated R' and 'SFTD'. Personally speaking I would say 'Lullabies To Paralyze' is the most complete QOTSA album. Bring on Carling Leeds 2005....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life after Nick....., 15 April 2005
By 
Jase (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lullabies To Paralyze (Audio CD)
Initial signs for this album weren't promising. The sudden departure of Nick Olivieri marked the departure of the only constant member of Josh Homme's ever-changing QOTSA line-up, and Olivieri seemed as essential to the band as Homme himself. Things could've gone so easily awry for album number 4.
However Josh Homme's track record with other projects (notably Desert Sessions) should've been enough to confirm that he is more than capable of going it alone. Lullabies to Paralyze is a testament to this.
Impressively, the first two songs are knocked off within little more than 3 minutes. The gentle acoustics and tortured-larynx Mark Lanegan vocals of This Lullaby give way to the chugging, razor-sharp Medication, which sounds like a two-minute statement of intent.
The following track is arguably the album's highlight. Everybody Knows That You're Insane starts up as a wailing rock dirge, before a neat shift in tempo takes you into the simple and insanely catchy chorus. Tangled Up In Plaid and Burn The Witch are also superb, both stomp-along anthems of the highest order, before the album's most accessible poppy moment, In Your Head (which also appeared in the Desert Sessions).
Little Sister is fine, if somewhat underwhelming as a lead-off single, whilst I Never Came portrays a subtlety previously unregistered in QOTSA's past works. But it's the next two tracks, Someone's In The Wolf and The Blood Is Love that provide the album's backbone. Both lengthy, brooding, power-chord heavy anthems, they sit perfectly alongside one another. Both recall QOTSA's ability to find a great riff, and then completely bludgeon you with it.
The next three tracks show a dramatic shift in mood, and are amongst the sleaziest things QOTSA have done. The fuzzed out Skin On Skin is a lust fuelled romp, "I hate to see you leave, but I like to watch you go" being one of its more subtle lyrics. Broken Box is like Skin On Skin's angry hangover, whilst You Got A Killer Scene slows things down, but is no less sexy.
That leaves Long Slow Goodbye to tie things up. It's a fitting end, beautiful, but forlorn, and complete with trumpet dirge. Oh, and as ever, the bonus tracks are worthwhile additions as well, Like A Drug portraying Homme's songwriting range in the same way The Mosquito Song did on Songs For The Deaf.
To say that Olivieri isn't missed from proceedings would be a little naïve. Ultimately the album lacks a moment as unhinged as, say, Millionaire. But without Nick, Josh Homme has been able to seize the reins fully, and as a result this is QOTSA's most diverse work to date. To say it's better or worse than anything else they've done is like comparing coffee with tea: it's purely a matter of taste. But whether you regard QOTSA as a band or a Josh Homme side-project, the QOTSA name remains a stamp of quality.
Key moments: Everybody Knows That You're Insane, Tangled Up In Plaid, Someone's In The Wolf, Long Slow Goodbye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kings of the Grimm Age, 23 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Lullabies To Paralyze (Audio CD)
For those uninitiated with Queens of the Stone Age, think a little of all the best rock, hard rock and metal groups over the years: Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple et al, throw in a little Alice in Chains (ok, on a few songs, not overall) and a tinge of Soundgarden and you're closer. On this album, if you gathered Tom Waits to pen some dark numbers, catch Tom Yorke in HTTT mode and gather Rob Zombie and his band and lock them away in a basement and make them bash out an album, it might sound like this one, but seriously, QOTSA stand on their own, having carved out their own sound, you wouldn't mistake a QOTSA song for anything else. This album has vaulted them another step forward, fully realised, masterfully executed, and in my opinion is bound to be a classic and should looked back upon as so.
Josh Homme takes his Brothers Grimm influence to new heights with each song, pulling you in to the dark vortex, especially on "Tangled Up in Plaid," destined to be a fan favorite, it's got that "No one Knows" bounce and riffage, impossibly addictive, catchy, infectious; you'll play this one to death, trust me. "Burn the Witch," is a deliciously evil sounding number which, for me, I can hear a faint gospel/blues influence; it's a barn burning stomper in which you might envision angry mobs burning things and chasing heretics, or not out of place in a good horror film. For me it ends a little too soon, it hooks you slowly and then it's over, but a fantastic 3 and a half minutes. "I Never Came" is simply beautiful and wouldn't sound out of place on Radiohead's Hail to the Thief," (equal parts "Sail to the Moon," "2+2=5," "Go to Sleep" and "There There,")
"Someone's in the Wolf" and "The Blood is Love," are concert-ready riff wise, you can just imagine killer extended versions of these. SITW, with it's swirling vocals and staccato guitar plucks is really hallucinogenic and will grow on you, it might not be your cup of tea, but spend some time with it late at night with the headphones. TBIL reels you in with a twisted circus jingle and then wallops you with a steady backbeat and steady guitar rythm. It's 6 and a half minutes but you won't realise it.
The Grimm fairy tale vision reaches crescendo at "Broken Box," then suduces you with pure narcotic bliss on the remaining tracks, replete with the bluesy late night dingy barroom swagger of "You've got a Killer Scene There, Man," and "Long Slow Goodbye," which in another demension could be the bastard offspring of Lou Reed's Velvets circa Loaded and Exile era Mick and Keith. 6 minutes and 50 seconds of hazy, piano infused melody, think Dandy Warhols only with talent and Homme's superior vocals. As for the songs I haven't mentioned well they're equally as good, i'll let you discover them. Overall this album is a grower, spend some time with it, repeatedtly, and let it pull you in. For me it's up there with Trail of Dead's "Sources, Tags and Codes," Radiohead's "HTTT" and Wilco's "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" in that its raised the bar in rock. Yes I think it's that good. I have a feeling it might become critically undervalued and underappreciated (what great music isn't at one time or another?), but records aren't made for the critics. I guarantee you you'll find new things to like about Lullabies each time, and a new favourite song. If you like your rock on the dark side, then you'll appreciate the thematic content here, and if you're after great rock and roll with one or two nods to blues, gospel and folk or just some solid riffage to rock out to then you won't be disappointed either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to Lullabies to Paralyze more than just once, 21 Mar 2005
This review is from: Lullabies To Paralyze (Audio CD)
Over the last ten years The Queens of the Stone Age have consistently offered the perfect blend of talent and originality. With each new album, a new mesh of fragmented perverse thoughts have been combined with mold-breaking visions of song structure. In each of these albums artist line-ups have changed, but the core structure, Nick Oliveri and Josh Holmes, has remained constant. And with Nick's forced departure from the band, cynics have predicted the downfall of one of the modern great rock bands. However, Josh's perservering genious in Lullabies to Paralyze has proven the resilience of Queens.
Their fourth and newest album, Lullabies to Paralyze, contains more simple, less guitar heavy songs. The first single, Little Sister, represents the change in direction of the band. In it a repititious riff is combined with a cowbell, which can best be described as a metronome. The song ends with a radio unfriendly, wonderfully perverse minute long guitar solo.
Everybody Know's Your Insane is the only noticable departure from this catalyst, containing a soft and screechy one minute entrance. It then hurls into a pounding chorus, leading into two minutes of fast paced, guitar driven bliss.
While many claim this simplicity to be the demise of the band, it is in fact the repositioning of a band never meant for mainstream America. Every album they made, including Lullabies to Paralyze, has contained a coherence of darkness that, if noticed by TRL motivated listeners, would only last briefly.
The popularity of Lullabies to Paralyze will most likely reflect this unpopularity, especially since their next single appears to be Someone's in the Wolf. This seven minute song is the darkest on the album, containing hounding vocals and a twisted ringing guitar melody. A sixty second preview of the video can be seen at [...] The video contains knives, wolves, and a defenseless woman. Need I say more?
And to Kyuss fans who need Queens to be heavier, Nick may still have a future with Josh and the band. The legendary duo have agreed to work with each other on Nick's new Mondo Generator album, and express a desire to work together on other future projects.
Expect to see more from Queens of the Stone Age, just not on MTV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lullabies to Hypnotize, 25 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Having only heard 'little sister' up to this point, my hands were clammy with excitment putting 'Lullabies to Paralyse' into the cd tray. I was a little dissapointed at first as this did not live up to my expectations after 'Songs for the Deaf'. That was my mistake, how could anything live up to what is arguably one of the best albums ever. After two more listens, I was hooked. Nick Oliveri is clearly missing, and missed, but this still rocks. Rumours abound that Nick and Josh are resolving their differences so hopefully this is only a temporary absence? This album proves once again that QOTSA are one of the most versatile and original bands out there today. QOTSA fans will buy this regardless of reviews but if you are new to QOTSA buy 'Songs for the Deaf' first, once converted, buy everything else and explore the desert! Was tempted to give this 4 stars but I know it will deserve 5 after another couple of listens. Enjoy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Josh is God!!, 20 Mar 2005
This review is from: Lullabies To Paralyze (Audio CD)
I listened to this album pre-release on NME.com and I have to say I was completely blown away! It's the kind of album that you listen to a few times and your favourite track changes with every single listen.
Having bought and loved the 3 previous Queens Of The Stone Age albums, I had very high hopes for the latest offering, and I have to say it doesn't disappoint on any level. I don't usually write reviews, but the poor reviews on here inspired me to. They have absolutely no bearing on the album at all! I don't know if the idiots in question actually even bothered to listen to this record.
I don't usually rate many albums first listen as I'm the kind of person that likes a grower. However this gripped me immediately. The opening track Lullaby eases you in, with the very special vocals of former Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan. It gets you thinking Josh has mellowed since Songs For the Deaf. Then Medication kicks in and you realise that the Queens are back on form and have lost none of their talent for catchy riffs. In fact the first 9 songs on this album are as near perfection as Josh Homme has ever achieved, and leaves you wondering how they can possibly improve on this the next time around?
I won't review each track on the album, as each stands up completely on it's own merits. Josh has clearly been influenced by the brilliant Desert Sessions CD's, and that can only be a good thing as far as I'm concerned. However I will pay a special mention to a few stand out tracks. For me the pick of this offering are Tangled Up In Plaid, Burn The Witch, In My Head (taken from Desert Sessions 9 & 10), Someones In The Wolf, Broken Box and You Got A Killer Scene (featuring Shirley Manson & Brody Dalle).
To be honest I feel bad singling any of these tracks out from each other. I promise you if you like anything that Josh has offered in the past you will seriously fall in love with this. If Lullabies is a grower then I can't imagine how much I will love it in a few weeks time, because I fell in love with it completely from the very first listen.
Buy it. I promise you won't be disappointed. Highly recommended!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best come back CD....., 3 April 2005
By 
rachel webb (Bradford, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have been waiting for a year for this album and it hasn't disapointed. Being a huge QOSTA fan I wasn't sure what Nicks departure would mean for the really heavy songs after listening to Josh's Desert Sessions which was much more melow in style. But all of the tracks are absolutely brilliant with catchy riffs and amazing drumming. Its is definately less heavy without Nick's screaming lyrics but there are still really excellent rock tracks to be had. Burn The Witch, Little Sister and Something's In the Wolf are my personal fave tracks.
Lullabies to Paralyze DVD edition has the added bonus of giving us a unique insight into their recording style and personalities, which we've not had chance to see before.
All in all buy this record it is definately the best record I have bought in 04/05.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year!! Already!!, 5 Jun 2005
By 
Mr. J. P. Young (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lullabies To Paralyze (Audio CD)
If only because you need to take a seriously DEEP breath before plunging into the Mars Volta's awesome new opus, the slightly more user-friendly QOTSA beat them by a nose for album of the year so far. As is almost always the case, American music mercilessly stomps British music on every conceivable level. Why anyone would seriously prefer weak-kneed poseurs like Bloc Party and the Kaiser Chiefs over:
1.) pounding psychedelic power-punk ('Medication')
2.) blankly psychotic juggernaut pop ('Everybody Knows That You're Insane')
3.) eerie voodoo harmonies so pitch-perfect that Brian Wilson may as well retire right now ('In My Head' and 'Broken Box')
4.) what appears to be the White Stripes simultaneously overdosed on steroids and ayahuasca (the brilliant, irresistable 'Burn The Witch')
or 5.) molasses-slow sludge orgasms you could get lost in the revolving patterns of for days ('Someone's In The Wolf')
...is beyond my ken.
No Nick, yes, okay, he is missed a little; you ask me, Josh should replace him with David Yow, ex of the Jesus Lizard, for his all-new slavering court jester foil. And only one vocal from the godlike Mark Lanegan (alright, he's only godlike 'cos he has the same birthday as me...but still an astounding singer) - the forbidding, Nick Cave-like opener 'This Lullabye'; dusk settling in Blair Witch country...
It's not every day there comes along an album so good it makes your mouth bloody well WATER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just listen..., 14 Mar 2005
By 
R. B. OMalley (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lullabies To Paralyze (Audio CD)
Remember how you felt when you first heard Songs For The Deaf? I remember liking about 3 of the songs and generally skipping the rest. Get out of that mindset now. If you can't bear to listen to this record - an archetypal "grower" if I ever heard one - more than twice, then you don't understand how to give music a chance.
A Song For The Deaf was always my favourite song on SFTD; with Lullabies to Paralyse, once you get past the fact that yes, there aren't really any Oliveri-screamy songs on there (but try Skin On Skin for a mean slab of meaty riff), you can again appreciate the intricacies of Homme & Co's talents. Listen to Someone's In the Wolf: subtle laying of lead guitars through the song's progression, true QOTSA harmonies, a spittingly evil pre-chorus leading to a chorus that I seriously cannot get the mirrored drums to out of my head. Not that I want to.
The quickfire Medication slips seamlessly into Everybody Knows That You're Insane, a powerful thrash of a song that invades your ears in a way only QOTSA can manage. You've already heard Little Sister, Broken Box is insanely sing-along, leaping into the dark Grimm fairy tale that is You've Got A Killer Scene, which also picks up on the human's subconscious love for songs with wordless phrases (read: Hey Jude, or the excellent E-Pro from Beck - Guero) - both powerful but in altogether polarised ways. It's this ability to entangle you in such a wealth of diversity that makes QOTSA what they really are.
It took about 4 or 5 hearings, but I've fallen into a dark, edgy lust with every song from this album. And if you have any senses then you just might too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lullabies to help with the housework, 29 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. D. Waring "DJ Waring" (Belfast United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lullabies To Paralyze (Audio CD)
I'm certain that Josh Homme intended that 'Lullabies to Paralyze' be listened to, loudly, whilst doing the dishes. As I was stood at the sink last Monday night, hands covered in suds, with the third track on this album, 'Everybody Knows that You're Insane', blaring out, I knew this album would turn out to be all that I had hoped it would be.
My other half came into the kitchen. She shot the speakers a terse look, and then scowled at me. "That's crap", she said. Now, 'er indoors likes to listen to a bit of 'Keane' in the car. She's also partial to the jazz tendencies of 'Jamie Cullum'. And thus I was relieved that this new 'QOTSA' set wasn't up her street, just as a few years earlier, 'Songs For the Deaf' was proclaimed 'too heavy'.
So, if you're after a record with the necessary ooomph to get you through the dishes quicksmart, that will also keep the little lady in the front room, glued to the soaps, then buy this album.
I can't say it's better or worse than the previous 3 'QOTSA' outings, but I would say that it's more expansive and diverse collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lullabies To Paralyze
Lullabies To Paralyze by Queens Of The Stone Age
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews