Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pop Album of the Year
When Nadine Coyle, Nicola Roberts, Sarah Harding, Cheryl Tweedy, and Kimberley Walsh (a.k.a. Girls Aloud) got a UK Christmas #1 hit in 2002 with their debut "Sound of the Underground," the people of Britain were not only shocked, but downright offended. What has the world come to? The teenage product of a bad reality T.V. show is the bestselling band in the nation, right...
Published on 18 Dec 2004 by Robert S. Sedor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Girls Aloud
Early album from the Girls but some great tracks and i have enjoyed listening to thier early stuff.
Published on 6 Nov 2009 by R. Lister


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pop Album of the Year, 18 Dec 2004
By 
Robert S. Sedor "iRiver Convert" (Piedmont, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When Nadine Coyle, Nicola Roberts, Sarah Harding, Cheryl Tweedy, and Kimberley Walsh (a.k.a. Girls Aloud) got a UK Christmas #1 hit in 2002 with their debut "Sound of the Underground," the people of Britain were not only shocked, but downright offended. What has the world come to? The teenage product of a bad reality T.V. show is the bestselling band in the nation, right up there with the Beatles and Elvis. What they failed to realize was that "Sound of the Underground" and its followers, "No Good Advice" and "Life Got Cold" (both taken from Girls Aloud's platinum selling debut album, "Sound of the Underground") have changed the landscape of pop music.
Now, 2 years since "Sound of the Underground," after releasing three #2 singles and one #1 smash, Girls Aloud are back with a new album, the highly-anticipated sophomore album "What Will The Neighbors Say." And the second offering is even more mouthwatering, delightfully fun than the first.
The album starts off with "The Show," which reached the UK #2 spot in June 2004. The Girls' comeback single was extremely well-received in Britain, and for good reason. Fantastic synth basslines pump throughout, and the Girls' vocals really shine, especially in the impressive conga-esque chorus. From there, the album really takes off. Eight more fabulous stompers await, including "Jump," last year's cover of the Pointer Sisters' hit. And although the girls really shine on the upbeat dance tracks, the ballads certainly don't disappoint. Among the better examples is "I'll Stand By You," Girls Aloud's most recent #1 hit and the official Children in Need single for 2004. This cover of the Pretenders' 1994 track won't be loved by fans of the original, but, at least in my opinion, it is one of the best songs on the album. Another ballad, "Deadlines and Diets," deftly showcases the Girls' vocals, especially Nadine's and Cheryl's, but it isn't as impressive as the likes of "Hear Me Out." There are many standout tracks on this album, but my favorite by far is "Love Machine." This spectacular gem of a pop song went to #2 in the UK in October 2004, and has been nominated for many awards, including record of the year. The track, with its fun, quirky sqare-dance-gone-wrong feel, shows off the brilliant production of the Xenomania team, while employing some of the best pop lyrics in decades. "Real Life" follows in the footsteps of "Sound of the Underground" with its surf guitar and edgy, moody vocals, and manages to chuck in elements of Outkast's "Hey Ya," of all things. And "Here We Go," which screams out to be a single, has a rocky chorus reminiscent of "No Good Advice" and amazingly immaculate lyrics that Rachel Stevens would kill for. Its 60s feel sounds like Emma Bunton on heroine (and that's a good thing).
Overall, the album is fun, cool, impressive, full of attitude, and, in the words of one reviewer, "quite good, actually." In a world of Destiny's Child and the Sugababes, Girls Aloud have succeeded in making a pure pop album, something that hasn't been done in decades. With "What Will The Neighbors Say," Girls Aloud have once again changed the face of pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The neighbours will be pleased!!, 14 Jan 2005
As their debut was warmly recieved by critics and fans alike, the pressure was on for the 5 Popstars:The Rivals winners to create another album that as well as being innovative, would sell and perhaps gain new fans. After releasing 4 songs already off this album (the no2 hits The Show, Love Machine, Jump and the no1 I'll stand by you) the girls finally release their sophmore album, after recently being given the title of coolest band in Britain. After listening to this album, you will soon agree.
The album opens with the aforementioned singles. The 2 covers are amiable enough, but suffer when compared to the revolutionary sound of 'The Show' and 'Love Machine' When hearing these 2 singles, you not only realise the quality of music being made, but that you couldn't imagine any other band but Girls Aloud singing them. While nothing else on their album reaches the pinnacle of these 2 singles, most surpass the quality of the covers. Most of the album tracks were written by Girls Aloud, and songs like 'Deadlines and Diets' work so well as they are a comic observation on life. Many lyrics in their songs will relate to anyone who has experienced youth, especially a hangover or a drunken fumble. Highlights of the album tracks are 'Wake Me Up' their next single and a Britney reject, which is a monster, turning the bassline up to 11; Hear Me Out, a moody and pleading ballad, the pure cheek of 'Big Brother' and the tongue in cheek message for fathers of teenage girls everywhere, 'Thank Me Daddy'
Obviously other people's favourites on this album will differ, but the beauty of this album is that all of the songs are of a certain quality to enable this to happen. If you are still sceptical read any other review which will tell you the same; Girls Aloud have created one of the greatest pop records of 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things can only get better..., 5 Jan 2005
By 
L. Omelasz "brekkie_tiffs" (Dundee, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After an impressive debut with Sounds of the Underground, the girls impress even more with this follow-up. Despite being a good album, some of the tracks on their debut album felt a little average and others felt like filler. But on this follow-up, it will come to your attention that there is absolutely no filler tracks whatsoever (well maybe their less-than-perfect reindition of Jump). Also, the ballads are far better than tracks such as Forever and a Night and Don't Want You Back on their debut (FAAN was very average). If you liked their debut, then you'll most definitely get something out of this. Irresistably catchy and deleriously fun, it's a must buy.
How many good tracks? 13 out of 14
Best track: Graffiti My Soul
Worst track: Jump. It's not rubbish as such it's just not a fantastic cover.
1. The Show 5/5
2. Love Machine 5/5
3. I'll Stand by You 4/5
4. Jump 3/5
5. Wake Me Up 5/5
6. Deadlines & Diets 5/5
7. Big Brother 5/5
8. Hear Me Out 4/5
9. Graffiti My Soul 5/5
10. Real Life 4/5
11. Here We Go 4/5
12. Thank Me Daddy 5/5
13. I Say a Prayer for You 4/5
14. 100 Different Ways 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GIRLS DONE GOOD, 28 Mar 2005
After gracing our TV screens as the female victors of 'Popstars: The Rivals', no-one could have anticipated that the five girls on it - Nadine, Cheryl, Nicola, Kimberley and Sarah - would become what they are today: the leading force in British pop music. And they re-affirm that status with their sophomore album, 'What Will The Neighbours Say?', so far, the most perfect pop package of the decade.
The album opens with 'The Show', an uber-cool, electro-poptastic gem (with a video to match) and it quickly became one of THE singles of summer 2004. Of course, to follow this, the girls came up with one of THE singles of autumn 2004 - the much-loved 'Love Machine'. With it's effortlessly chic 50s vibe and a dance routine that any pop-lover worth their salt knows, this is pop at its best - fun and fresh.
'I'll Stand By You' got the girls a lot of stick (come on people, it's for charity!) but it's a decent ballad, which showcases the girls (particularly Nadine's) vocals perfectly. Then comes the anthemic 'Jump', another cover, and another triumph.
Current single 'Wake Me Up' is a definite contender for strongest track on the album. An infectious chorus, catchy lyrics and a beat to match. 'Deadlines & Diets' is possibly one of the weaker tracks, but is a down-tempo, soulful offering. Then comes 'Big Brother', another very strong track, with its cheeky chorus. It won't be a single, but it's much more than an album-filler.
Weakest track on the album, 'Hear Me Out', is moody and melancholy but doesn't stand the test of time - basically, it drags despite not even being 4 minutes long. 'Graffiti My Soul' is a definite future single contender - an insanely catchy chorus, it's original, sharp and brimming with attitude.
'Real Life' and 'Here We Go' are both pretty samey, and placed differently in the album they'd work better, but being so close to each other, they merge into one unforgettable, but catchy, offering. 'Thank Me Daddy' is a sarcastic cry for teen girls everywhere, and probably has the most attitude of any songs on the album.
Then come the two big ballads, which are considerably stronger than the ones on the girls' debut - 'Forever And A Night' and 'Don't Want You Back'. 'I Say A Prayer For You' sees Nicola (I think!) take lead vocals and it's a beautiful, understated song. The album draws to a classy halt with the equally fabulous '100 Different Ways', which is again simple, understated, but it works fantastically.
Overall, Girls Aloud have come out on top again, and with producers Higgins and Cooper of pop-genius combo Xenomania, have created a lush, fun, fresh, and truly different pop album. Once again, Nadine, Cheryl, Nicola, Kimberley and Sarah have raised the benchmark for Brit-pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thank Goodness, 10 Dec 2004
By A Customer
Girls Aloud are quite literary the saviours of good British pop music. There has not been a more refreshing album released all year. Clearly it's not without its faults otherwise it would have recieved the full five stars, and this one fault lies with the two bonus tracks which are truly mediocre if not worse. However, stand out tracks are plentiful, namely the singles and the 'why-did-they-release-I'll-Stand-By-You-instead-of-these' tracks 'Graffiti My Soul, Big Brother and Hear Me Out'. Don't get it because you like GA, Get it because it's excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hottest pop band around!, 27 Nov 2004
Girls Aloud's debut album "Sound Of The Underground" was simply amazing. The first three singles were fabulous, and the rest of the album was full of electro-pop gems and packed with attitude. Almost two years later and the Girls are back with "What Will The Neighbours Say?", and thankfully it is another great offering!
As a whole the set is slightly less convincing than their debut album, a couple of tracks don't really stand out ("Real Life" and "Big Brother" sound like songs that didn't get picked up for their previous album), but even when the songs are not incredibly infectious, the production and the lyrics make up for it. The rest of the album is incredibly efficient : opening track "The Show" is arguably their best single to date, "Love Machine" has a delicious retro feel, and their second UK chart-topper "I'll Stand By You" is a great ballad, though not their most creative song to date. Other standouts include "Here We Go", the beautiful ballad "Hear Me Out", as well as "Graffiti My Soul".
All in all, it more than lives up to the expectations, and confirms that the Girls are one of the hottest and most talented pop bands around. Girl Power is alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What will the neighbours say?, 26 Jan 2009
By 
Great album. A couple of not-so-good tracks, but mainly great. A couple of the songs are very catchy and get stuck in your head. This CD has been listened to over and over again. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the neighbors, I SAY that this album rocks!, 28 Sep 2007
By 
Tyler Cote - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album had a hard act to follow seeing that "Sound Of The Underground" was great, but the girls manage to come back swinging.

Here Are The Songs (In Order Of My Favorites)
Hear Me Out
Deadlines & Diets
The Show
I'll Stand By You
Wake Me Up
Graffiti My Soul
Love Machine
Big Brother
Thank Me Daddy
Jump (For My Love)
I Say A Prayer For You
100 Different Ways
Real Life
Here We Go

This album is fantastic, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy Catchy Fun, 3 Feb 2007
By 
Suprising members of the press and the British public with their debut album not being the piece of rubbish it was expected to be, Girls Aloud had a lot to live up to with "What Will the Neighbours Say" and after listening to the album you know they've succeeded. Building on the success of "Sound of the Underground" which although was extremely well produced for a debut album, it was also undoubtably flawed, Xenomania have taken what worked well in the first album, and moved it forward. Theres no particular growth in the album; the girls stick to cheesy feel good pop, and it wont be until "Chemistry" that the Girls actually move forward with their sound, but it works and it was the right choice for the sophomore album.

"What Will The Neighbours Say?" benefits from a set of extremely strong set of singles. "The Show" and "Love Machine" are both highly original, delving into pop sounds that havent been explored in the charts for a long while, yet retaining Girls Aloud's defining sound. Its this blend of styles that sets Girls Aloud apart from the rest of the pop scene, allieviating them to critical acclaim, and both of the first two singles show originality from the band that wont be seen until "Biology" is released a year later.

"I'll Stand By You" doesnt add much to the album apart from to reinforce the fact that when these Girls really want to sing, boy can they sing. Although a pointless addition, its worth including just to hear how they make the song actually soar in the chorus with amazing vocals that show there not just pretty faces. "Jump" is infectious and easy to dance too, as is "Wake Me Up".

To be a good album though, the rest of the unreleased songs have to be up to the standard. And they are. The two stand-out songs are "Graffiti My Soul" and "Deadlines and Diets", the first being unrelentless and refreshing in its guitar riffs and "skin-tight jeans". Better even than "Love Machine" and "The Show", "Graffiti My Soul" is the stand-out track on the album, showcasing the underused Kimberly, who it seems had the song written for her. Having proved they could do ballads well with "Life Got Cold" on the first album, they raise the notch with "Deadlines and Diets" which is cool and easy to listen to with a catchy chorus that lingers in the mind.

Of the rest of the tracks, "Big Brother" works well, unless you look at it from an incestous perspective, and then it seems the girls really are trying to push the boundaries of music as does "Thank Me Daddy". "Here We Go" starts off very slow and boring, however builds to a very satisfying song, however it seems more like it would fit better on the first album than the second. The ballads are less succesful with "Hear Me Out" being the best of a mediocre bunch. Its nice to hear Nicola taking a stronger role on "I Say A Prayer For You", she's got the voice, she just needs to be used more.

Overall "What Will The Neighbours Say?" is a succesful piece of pop music that is clever enough to blend in different elements, such as rock, dance and electronica without sounding overdone or pieced together. It raises the boundaries for the rest of the scene, and proves that Girls Aloud are a talent beyond the generic Girl band. There are some incredible pop songs on here, slightly weighed down with some lower key ballads, which although not up to the standard of "Deadlines and Diets" are nowhere near to being described as simply "filler". All in all, its a must have album, that can be listened to over and over again, the true test of whether an album is to be truly counted as succesful. They've raised the bar yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their 2nd Masterpiece, 9 Aug 2006
By 
C. Joubert (Grenoble, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With What Will The Neighbours Say ? Girls Aloud made the perfect sequel to their Sound Of The Underground. In a logical music evolution they managed to mix new sounds with classical cover. The first track "The Show" is really nice to hear and it's my favourite. I can't stop listen to it since i bought the album. Then the other tracks are fantastic too. Wake Me Up is very great (and sounds better in live), Deadlines and Diets is gorgeous, Big Brother, Thank Me Daddy are some of Electro Pop we love to hear. Here We Go is also one of my favourite track. Following the massive success of their first album, Girls Aloud proved they weren't a group "who just came here". Brilliant Album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Only search this product's reviews