Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars25
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2009
Bought it primarily for the gorgeous Simon Baker! However, it's a good movie with excellent acting all round. Movie buffs will appreciate the references to the films of Alfred Hitchcock. A nice double twist at the end.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2009
After seeing the trailer and showing promise to be a very gripping thriller with known actors and actresses, I went ahead and rented it out for the night with the lights out and goodies to eat. It begins with a murder on a "woman of the night" that met to a grisly end, two cops (Alfred Molina and Shane West) are wondering that the man they sent to a death sentence may not be the killer after all. Meanwhile a woman (Hope Davis) has put a offer of someone to be a lodger to a house to help pay the bills so when a handsome myterious man (Simon Baker) arrives, she dosen't realise that he may not be all he seems. It's a very suspenseful and keeps you guessing, teasing you that it may be one or the other or more. Me and my sister were a little creeped out by the striking refences of Jack The Ripper and the horrifying From Hell movie, it's qutie clever how it's planned out and the ending is totally shocking to see though I wouldn't want a sequel if the main stars didn't appear in it. The pefomances are rather good, Alfred Molina is okay as the cop who is obessed with this case and Shane West as the rookie partner. Hope Davis and Simon Baker were also good too, both showing intense chemisty between the pair. I would recommend this film to anyone who is intrested in a twisty, edge of your seat thriller without total gore, sex or offensive language. A chilling four stars.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2009
This film is probably one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.
The actors were brilliant and the character portrayal of the Malcolm
was done really well by Simon Baker.
This movie will keep you glued to your chair and is a must for those
who loved to be on the edge of the seats.
The ending was well done and kept you guessing.
Don't delay get this movie if you love a great thriller/murder story.
Beware it can be gory in places but well worth it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2009
I enjoyed this film. Its a good thriller which is not gory, and uses Hitchock-style techniques to bring tension. I thought Hope Davis was particularly good and of course Simon Baker was convincing as the menacing but curiously attractive lodger. I would have preferred to see more of him and his relationship with Hope Davis which was kind of fascinating. If you like lots of blood and guts, its not for you. If, like me, you prefer the more subtle approach then its worth a look.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
This is really rather good. The lead actors (Alfred Molina, Shane West, Simon Baker) put in solid performances. Baker in particular puts across a menacing performance as The Lodger who comes to stay with Hope Davis and her distant rather odd husband in their guest room while in the West Hollywood area a Jack the Ripper copycat kills local pros. You get the drift but the ending will surprise.

Definitely worth a look.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
Alfred Molina stars as the detective hunting a serial killer who appears to be a copycat of Jack the Ripper. All performances in this rather dark film are well thought through : Hope Davis is particularly good as the wife. Simon Baker and Donal Logue are also convincing as the lodger and the husband. The atmosphere in the film is particularly creepy, and though here in sunny Scotland we tend to think of California as being bright and sunny, it certainly isn't in this film, so if you're British maybe best not to watch on a particularly gloomy day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
I mostly bought this cos I'm a fan of both Shane West and Simon Baker but wasn't disapointed with the film. The story has you interested from the beginning and guessing about what is going on and who the murderer is. Every one plays there part well and Simon Baker is especially good as the strange lodger with a lot to hide. I'd recommend thisd to anyone who likes a thriller that isn't over the top like so many films these days its a shame it hasn't been given much attention
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2010
This is a good film made all the more better as it stars an exellent talented actor Simon Baker, along with the other stars who are also good. The film is exiting and has you hooked all the way through, although it could have shown more scenes with Simon Baker in, which is why iv'e only rated the film as 4 stars. I would recommend the film to anyone who is in to this type of film or loves the talents of Simon Baker who is a great actor all around no matter who he plays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
If your interested in Jack The Ripper, you like Simon Baker in The Mentalist or if you just want to see the lovely Hope Davis in a wet blouse, then this film's for you.
It avoids blood and guts, keeps you guessing, then has you questioning your guesses until the last scene and I'll admit to being surprised how much I enjoyed it.
Get a massive bag of crisps, a glass of orange juice and try to work out whodunnit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
This is not a bad film and does keep you guessing to the end. If you are looking for Simon Baker in a Romantic quirky role like the Mentalist this isn't the film for you. However he is really good in the role he plays ( I won't give too much away) and the rest of the cast are impressive. A good twist in the tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)