Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMON BAKER ROCKS!
Bought it primarily for the gorgeous Simon Baker! However, it's a good movie with excellent acting all round. Movie buffs will appreciate the references to the films of Alfred Hitchcock. A nice double twist at the end.
Published on 20 April 2009 by Mrs. B. M. Finch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as creepy as anticipated
This was an ok film! It had a good story line that did keep you guessing but all in all it was not as scary as I had thought it would be!
Published 9 months ago by Elle.Marie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMON BAKER ROCKS!, 20 April 2009
By 
Mrs. B. M. Finch "amdramlady" (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Bought it primarily for the gorgeous Simon Baker! However, it's a good movie with excellent acting all round. Movie buffs will appreciate the references to the films of Alfred Hitchcock. A nice double twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. SM Waters "Zanne W" (Weeting) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This film is probably one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.
The actors were brilliant and the character portrayal of the Malcolm
was done really well by Simon Baker.
This movie will keep you glued to your chair and is a must for those
who loved to be on the edge of the seats.
The ending was well done and kept you guessing.
Don't delay get this movie if you love a great thriller/murder story.
Beware it can be gory in places but well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Clever Suspenseful Thriller, 4 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
After seeing the trailer and showing promise to be a very gripping thriller with known actors and actresses, I went ahead and rented it out for the night with the lights out and goodies to eat. It begins with a murder on a "woman of the night" that met to a grisly end, two cops (Alfred Molina and Shane West) are wondering that the man they sent to a death sentence may not be the killer after all. Meanwhile a woman (Hope Davis) has put a offer of someone to be a lodger to a house to help pay the bills so when a handsome myterious man (Simon Baker) arrives, she dosen't realise that he may not be all he seems. It's a very suspenseful and keeps you guessing, teasing you that it may be one or the other or more. Me and my sister were a little creeped out by the striking refences of Jack The Ripper and the horrifying From Hell movie, it's qutie clever how it's planned out and the ending is totally shocking to see though I wouldn't want a sequel if the main stars didn't appear in it. The pefomances are rather good, Alfred Molina is okay as the cop who is obessed with this case and Shane West as the rookie partner. Hope Davis and Simon Baker were also good too, both showing intense chemisty between the pair. I would recommend this film to anyone who is intrested in a twisty, edge of your seat thriller without total gore, sex or offensive language. A chilling four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock style, 13 Sep 2009
By 
F. Lee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film. Its a good thriller which is not gory, and uses Hitchock-style techniques to bring tension. I thought Hope Davis was particularly good and of course Simon Baker was convincing as the menacing but curiously attractive lodger. I would have preferred to see more of him and his relationship with Hope Davis which was kind of fascinating. If you like lots of blood and guts, its not for you. If, like me, you prefer the more subtle approach then its worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember - get references from The Lodger, 30 July 2009
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is really rather good. The lead actors (Alfred Molina, Shane West, Simon Baker) put in solid performances. Baker in particular puts across a menacing performance as The Lodger who comes to stay with Hope Davis and her distant rather odd husband in their guest room while in the West Hollywood area a Jack the Ripper copycat kills local pros. You get the drift but the ending will surprise.

Definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clever detective tale, 13 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Alfred Molina stars as the detective hunting a serial killer who appears to be a copycat of Jack the Ripper. All performances in this rather dark film are well thought through : Hope Davis is particularly good as the wife. Simon Baker and Donal Logue are also convincing as the lodger and the husband. The atmosphere in the film is particularly creepy, and though here in sunny Scotland we tend to think of California as being bright and sunny, it certainly isn't in this film, so if you're British maybe best not to watch on a particularly gloomy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A interesting guessing film, 4 April 2010
By 
Emma (Sunderland UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I mostly bought this cos I'm a fan of both Shane West and Simon Baker but wasn't disapointed with the film. The story has you interested from the beginning and guessing about what is going on and who the murderer is. Every one plays there part well and Simon Baker is especially good as the strange lodger with a lot to hide. I'd recommend thisd to anyone who likes a thriller that isn't over the top like so many films these days its a shame it hasn't been given much attention
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There should be a part 2 the way it ends, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A good watch but they have to make another as cannot leave ending the way they left it make another one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as creepy as anticipated, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Lodger (DVD)
This was an ok film! It had a good story line that did keep you guessing but all in all it was not as scary as I had thought it would be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Lodger, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lodger [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The film is alright I was hoping for something much better but still it was a interesting film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lodger [DVD] [2009]
The Lodger [DVD] [2009] by David Ondaatje (DVD - 2009)
£15.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews