Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars28
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2012
If you managed to watch the 2006 TV series that ran for 11 episodes, this movie follows on from that. Although, it does seem to be set somewhere around halfway through the series as many things that had happened right up the the end of the series are not included here.

Although it was a great movie, watching this at home just makes it feel like a double episode.

One thing to mention is that it is in no way linked to the 1979 TV series, except that both from part of the classic Chinese story, Journey to the West.

It is very funny though, a recommended watch if liked the original tv series, and defiantly watch if you have seen the 2006 Tv series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
I must admit, im a big fan of the old monkey series, and did have slight reservations about this dvd, but I purchased it anyway and was pleasantly suprised...

Journey to the west once again with Monkey, Pigsy, Sandy and Tripitaka, on a larger than life bigger budget movie length episode of the new series. While its not all perfect, it is an enjoyable, humourous romp back to the 80's with classic demons once again taking over a poor downtrodden village. but in a more uptodate and flashy style.

Everyone displayed a recognisable personality (Monkey more so that others). Sandy sadly was the only let down for me as he and pigsy got little screen time to shine much, but they did in some places...

Most of the best parts of Monkey are still there, sadly the "unique" infighting is gone for a slightly more comic tone, surprisingly tripitaka's lesson of the week still managed to make it in too...

Honestly it was fun to relive the adventure for 2 hours, and the music was great too. The suprise extra for me was "Monkey Majiks" "Ghandara" at the end of the titles, just how it used to be. Made it almost feel like 1981 again.

Its not perfect, but would I recommend this? a definite yes!!!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Monkey magic 2007 is a good film.

The Monkey king has yellow hair and wears red (circus colours are red and yellow). Sandy the fish man is very serious and dressed in blue. Pigsy is very quiet in this 2007 film wearing green a hat.
Triptitaka is a young a boy priest played very well by a female actress.

This 2007 monkey film is fairly entertaining. It has a nice message about keeping promises and if we (humankind )stick together, we can over come challenges together.

The main evil villains in this monkey film are two brothers and a large black dragon.

The film score/ music is OK. I was HOPING for the monkey magic theme tune BUT The end credit theme is very nice.

I enjoyed Monkey magic 2007 film.

Worth seeing and worth renting
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
i have all the old seasons, i was very warey about this film. but when i watched it, it was quite good. some of the old monkey bits didnt apear until the middle and its about 2 hours long but none of the less its a good film. i seen remakes of monkey, most very bad. but if you like this film you mite want to find the seris that gos with this film its only 11 episodes long but mite be worth it.it also has the old monkey in it to as a guess star. im still waiting for mine its only out in japan.

hope they make more film from this lot!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
What it says on the back of the box.

"In the worlds before monkey. Primal chaos reigned, heaven sought order. The moisture of the earth, the powers of the sun and the moon worked upon a certain rock and it became magically fertile. From it came a stone monkey. The nature was irrepressible."

On the way to India to collect ancient holy scrolls, the sacred priest, Tripitaka and his loyal band of followers led by monkey are implored by a mysterious princess to protect her people from a powerful demon warlord, king gold horn and his tyrannical brother, king silver horn.

They have wrestled control of the palace, plundered it's riches and transformed the royal family into terrapin tortoises. mischievous Monkey, Sandy, Pigsy and Tripitaka must combine their strength to defeat the evil warlords and prevent the world being plunged into darkness forever!

Thirty years in the making. Monkey magic has finally made it to the big screen with this brand new feature length adventure.

Special Features

Trailer
TV SPOTS
The journey to the west.

Total Running Time

124MIN

Review

Does the above ring a bell? Well it does if you spent ages watching the original series on SUNDAY years ago including the plot.

The film it's self plays out exactly like a 2hr episode from the series only benefiting from CGI, the actors wear costumes fairly similar to the original series and possibly look a little more funny/odd/out of place due to the HD as the colours really stand out, this coupled with the computer effects making it look like monkey magic with poke on mixed with power rangers, adds a little to its charm.

Some of the effects seen in this film have been seen in others like Kung Fu Hustle.

This is a great film for those die hard Monkey Magic Fans and is a nice way to introduce the kids to the Monkey stories.

The actors were well picked.

Down side to the film in my opinion are minor, The original Monkey theme music is not there not even as a special feature and it has been replaced with a rock J pop version that just does not go with it if you have seen the original series. Another minor point is when Monkey calls his flying cloud he does not do it in the same classic way and uses a feather instead (Why mess with a classic bit like that What were they thinking).

Over all impression of this film is that its an updated monkey episode in Japanese and English subtitles that is a fun and cheeky , how ever I would recommend that you wait for the price to drop.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
A fitting and funny homage to the original TV series. I can recommend it to fans of the original and to those who want to see something a little bit different.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
All fans of the TV series will love this long awaited movie & should have this to thier collection. The movie is jaw-droppingly great & the action is superb in all expected on the cover & you still get the laughs just like the series gave you so you won't be disappointed just in pain from laughing so much, I have & glad to have this in my collection too. Monkey Magic......MAGIC!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Very good. All original Monkey Magic fans must buy this. Good cast. A stand alone film, but enhances the television series from years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
Wonderfully funny and addictive viewing. Once we have finished watching the series, I know we will be watching it again and again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Not a good film they should of made it more in keeping with the original, this is not funny. Not impressed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£59.73
£25.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.