Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! What a refreshingly different album!
I've always been a fan of the late 1930's and 1940s, both the fashion and music, so I thought I knew what to expect from this but it is just so much better.

Great Andrews sisters-style harmonies coupled with some interesting covers of modern tracks. It had me dancing around the front room!

Get your money out, you won't regret it.
Published on 10 Nov 2006 by Mark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not brilliant!!
Whilst you can't fault the vocals the song choices are awful. Some songs are better not covered!! Am afraid the version of Heart of Glass (Blondie) just made me cringe along with several others tracks. Mr Sandman is lovely and better suited.
I would buy another of their albums But would check content first!!
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by Mrs. G. Hobbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harmony!, 21 Sep 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
Amazing that people who do not like this genre of music can dare to slate this excellent album! Think andrews sisters, think forties and fities, and yes the growing popularity of this era of music makes those who like modern pap spit in their tea! This album is a talent showcase, just try singing 3 part harmony! They do it well, it is nicely arranged and has a good tempo. I am not sure about one track and that is wuthering heights but then perhaps its because it is different! I am used to a certain lady wailing her way trhrough like a strangled cat rather than 3 hep little ladies singing it in hip forties style.Give your self a feel good treat and buy this album, you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Aug 2006
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
Having read so many great things about these girls I can say that I wasn't disappointed one bit after buying this fantastic album. Sounding unlike anyone else out there, quite simply The Puppini Sisters are an absolute joy to listen to. I love the old songs, but their versions of modern songs - especially the fabulous Wuthering Heights! - are just sensational. A band who aren't afraid to enjoy themselves, everyone who I have played this to has instantly fallen in love with it - the odds are you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Beat, 3 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. Robert Barnes "Rob Barnes" (UK North) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
It's hard not to be swept along by the enthusiasm! Not only have I nearly worn out the CD, but also seen them "live" in London (the second show of a gruelling evening) and they are as bright, breezy and full of life in person as they are on record. This is just what the jaded music world needs, and a musical experience who can't do anything but captivate. To "Music Lover", who gave it a "desperate" review (whereas every other review he/she has made had 5 stars), I say that I am neither young nor old, but I do appreciate good entertainment and value for money. I get these in abundance with the Puppinis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old time toons, 19 May 2007
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
I fell in love with the way these girls harmonise...Their voices are like velvet, smooth and wash over you. I especially like the cover of 'I will survive', beautiful.

The sisters demonstrate in this emo soaked, head moshing, explicit lyrical society, that music can be released that is non offense. Our daughter loves the album too, she listens to poppy toons...but her foot will tap and her head will nod as the sisters play. Suits all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant classic!, 9 Dec 2007
By 
AMG - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
The Puppini Sisters - Marcella Puppini {Italian} Kate Mullins {English} and Stephanie O'Brien {English} are a musical trio specializing in 1940s-style close harmony vocal music.
They chose their name to pay tribute to The Andrews Sisters.
Puppini met Mullins & O'Brien at The Trinity College of Music in London. The group was founded by Puppini after she was inspired by the animated film Belleville Rendezvous.
The group's influences include The Andrews Sisters, The Boswell Sisters, Belleville Rendezvous, Kate Bush, Marlene Dietrich, Mike Flowers, Joan Crawford, The Smiths and Tom Waits.
I first became aware of the Puppini sisters when they performed on the 2006 Royal Variety Performance, and have been enthralled by them ever since!
All the songs on this album are cover songs, but the trio make each and every one their own with style and panache!
1. SISTERS: 3:07. # Lord help the mister who comes between me and my Sister! # 10/10.
2. MR SANDMAN: 2:37. An up-tempo song with fabulous vocals and music to match ~ 9.5/10.
3. BOOGIE WOOGIE BUGLE BOY FROM COMPANY B: 2:30. Faster than the original Andrews Sisters version {but just as good!} 10/10.
4. JAVA JIVE: 3:36. A slow anthem for anyone addicted to that morning dose of caffeine! 9.5/10.
5. BEI MIR BIST DU SCHON: 2:20. A fast, incredibly catchy song! ~ 10/10.
6. WUTHERING HEIGHTS: 3:38. Wuthering heights as you've never heard it before! 10/10.
7. JEEPERS CREEPERS: 2:36. A fun, up-tempo song ~ 10/10.
8. I WILL SURVIVE: 4:04. A superb song with an exquisite bridge ~ 10/10.
9. TU VUO' FA L'AMERICANO (Recitative) 0:43. This and track 10 are one song.
10. TU VUO' FA L'AMERICANO: 1:54. A fast song mostly sung in Italian, but with one line of English! Marcella {the founder of this band} plays the accordion on this track! 10/10.
11. FALLING IN LOVE AGAIN: 1:30. A slow, short but sweet song! ~ 9.5/10.
12. HEART OF GLASS: 2:56. The sister's version of the Blondie classic ~ 10/10.
13. SWAY: 3:10. It's worth buying this album for this song alone! ~ 10/10.
14. PANIC: 2:17. # Burn down the Disco, Hang the blessed D.J, because the music that they constantly play, says nothing to me about my life! # 10/10.
15. HEEBIE JEEBIES: 2:57. Another fun, up-tempo song ~ 10/10.
16. IN THE MOOD: 3:12. Finger clicking good! You need this song in your life! 100/100.

Duration of the album = 43:07 seconds.

This album may not come with song words, but after you've listened to it several hundred times {you'll want to!} you'll know the words off by heart!

Utterly fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foot-tapping delight, 1 Aug 2006
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
After Marcella Puppini saw the French animated film Belleville Rendezvous, which featured a 1940s close-harmony group, she teamed with Kate Mullins and Stephanie O'Brien to form the Puppini Sisters. Betcha Bottom Dollar is their accomplished debut album, produced by Benoit Charest, who wrote music for Belleville Rendezvous.

Harking back to close-harmony swing groups such as the Andrews Sisters and the Boswell Sisters, the Puppini Sisters mix standard oldies with swinging renditions of modern songs. It works and is a foot-tapping delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stand ignorance, 13 Aug 2006
By 
D. Croft (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
If you are reading this review and are uncertain because ingorant people insist on writing reviews, I am writing to say BUY THIS NOW. These people who only give one star do not know good music when they hear it and should therefore be banned from voicing their ignorant opinion

These 'rather plain women' sing in great harmony (which is no easy task) and bring back some of the great music that has been lost to most people. This CD also has great versions of wuthering heights (better than Kate bush) and I will survive, the best thing about these covers is that they are so different you cannot accuse them of copying

BUY THIS to hear truly good music and ignore the ignorance of one star reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
GREAT ALBUM

heard these on the radio and just had to buy it. Good mix of old and new tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harmonious!, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
If you're a fan of the Andrews Sisters, you'll love this! THEY are, of course, the best, but in their absence this fits the bill nicely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Jun 2012
By 
M. A. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betcha' Bottom Dollar (Audio CD)
I reckon I was born too late, love this music from the era before I cared about music. My niece put me on to these girls and she is younger than me of course. What a toe tapping, well, dancing about CD this is,and to listen to it while driving is fun too. If you like a bit of retro and something with a bit of life in it, this is the record for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Betcha Bottom Dollar
Betcha Bottom Dollar by The Puppini Sisters
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews