Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of A Favourite
The Prodigy are back, and with Keith Flint, Liam Howlett and Maxim all back in ranks, this has to be one of the most exciting comebacks - especially after the disappointment of "Baby's Got a Temper", which I quite enjoyed personally, it seems other fans didn't really take to it.

Invaders Must Die has the grittiness and power of The Fat of The Land, the...
Published on 23 Feb 2009 by DL Productions UK

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far off the Bullseye
In a magazine interview, Liam Howlett once said that one of his desires would be to hammer out the theme tune to ITV's now defunct gameshow "Bullseye" on the piano. What a delighful thought, filled with the sort of creativity and humour that the band's first album "The Prodigy Experience" was steeped in. They even dressed themselves up in clown costumes for their early...
Published on 25 Mar 2009 by Mr. T. J. Harries


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of A Favourite, 23 Feb 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Prodigy are back, and with Keith Flint, Liam Howlett and Maxim all back in ranks, this has to be one of the most exciting comebacks - especially after the disappointment of "Baby's Got a Temper", which I quite enjoyed personally, it seems other fans didn't really take to it.

Invaders Must Die has the grittiness and power of The Fat of The Land, the excitement of rave from Experience and the more grungy sound that was introduced in Always Outnumbered. Tracks like Thunder bring back the more darker side of the band, and reminds us of Out of Space - it's raw energy will transfer well on the stage when they gig later this year. Take Me To The Hospital also sounds typical of stuff you'd find on Experience, with the added vocals that you'd find on Music For The Gilted Generation.

Other excellent tracks include the hit "Invaders Must Die", it's prominent synth line reminding us why they are considered top of the electronica tree, and Omen, with it's simple "Out Of Space" sound, breaks, and single finger xylophone lead, really brings me back to 1992, in a good way too.

It's also nice to see Dave Grohl on this, doing live drums for the boys.

This is a top album, I was really glad to get it today and discover the sound that I loved about The Prodigy was back. I enjoyed Always Outnumbered, so I wasn't worried if they had kept to that formula, but the fact they have re-grouped and done a mixture of old and new style really does wonders.

This limited edition box set is great too, 5 7" singles - all coloured and has the whole album on, a CD/DVD (hybrid) which has the album on it, and the DVD side has the video of Omen, and Invaders Must Die. There is also a bonus CD with 4 tracks. It also has two films on there, World's On Fire, and Warriors Dance. Not only that, you get a stencil, Prodigy stickers and a poster.

For me this was worth every penny, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back To The Oldskool, 23 Feb 2009
By 
D. Mcauliffe (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invaders Must Die (Audio CD)
Firstly i must say i was a little apprehensive about the new album. After the release of Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned i thought the prodigy were taking their music in a completely different direction. Don't get me wrong i still think that was an excellent album, production was great, everything hit the right spots, but especially when hearing the tracks live, it didn't really work with the rest of their material.

Now to the new release, Invaders Must Die!

The first thing you notice when listening to this album is the quality of the production, Liam has proven once again that he is the master when it comes to hard hitting beats, insane synths and massive breakdowns. Everything sounds clean and polished, and you can tell a lot of time has been spent making everything work.

No doubt you've heard the opening track a hundred times already on the radio, but it was nice to hear a few changes to the version you might have already heard. This tracks kind of a nod to the last album, and maybe Liam's trying to show us how it should have been done last time.

The second track Omen is our first glimpse back into the oldschool, hard hitting beats, and a piercing synth that takes you right back. I do have one gripe with this track tho, the version they played on radio 1 for the first time a few weeks ago had a slightly different break in it, which i prefer to the one on the album. It does work with the rest of the album though, so it's not necessarily a bad thing.

Thunder is a nod to electro/house but still keeps to the roots of the prodigy's sound, oldschool stabs and a ragga vocal reminiscent of Out Of Space. I expect to hear this one out in the clubs a fair bit.

Next up, Colours, which is more or less a sped up dubstep track, with some decent lyrics from Keith. I like the keyboard work in this track, which sounds very much like something off Experience.

Take Me To The Hospital takes it back to the breakbeat, and sounds like something you would have heard at a rave in the early nineties, but again brings it back up to date with some slicing beats and some quality production.

Next Up, Warriors Dance, which is my favorite track off the album. This track is truly for the prodigy fans who have been their from the start of the prodigy's career. I expect this will be an amazing track live. The breakdown three quarters into the track will have all the cheesy quavers putting their hands in the air.

Run With The Wolves brings us back up to date, with a drum loop that wouldn't have sounded out of place on The Fat Of The Land. It sounds dirty (which is a good thing), and Keith's vocals are quite reminiscent of Firestarter. I love the synth near the end which sounds like it's been lifted straight off a Commodore 64.

Omen (Reprise) truly takes you back to the hysteria years. At a festival this would make the perfect opener to Omen. This wouldn't sound out of place on an Commodore Amiga game. It's a decent filler.

Worlds On Fire is where the album firmly sets it's place as an oldschool/newschool mix. The stabbing synths and jumpy keyboards make sure this will get the entire crowd jumping at a live gig. The keyboards especially sound like something off Experience.

Piranha is the most 'band' sounding track off the album. Haunting synths straight from Scooby Doo, mixed with some oldschool stabs. The vocals work well to bring the whole track together too.

The last track, Stand Up, Is a nod to the narcotic suite from Jilted Generation. Some people may not like it's slow pace, but if you loved tracks like 3 Kilos off Jilted, then you'll take this one to heart too. An upbeat end to a brilliant album.

Overall this album works really well as a whole. I can honestly say i like every track off this album. It defiantly brings the Prodigy sound up to date, but will please fans of the early nineties material too. I never lost my faith in the prodigy like many people did, but this albums proves they can still do it like they used to. The Prodigy are defiantly back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Prodigy - Invaders Must Die, 27 Mar 2009
This review is from: Invaders Must Die (Audio CD)
`Invaders Must Die' opens with a thudding bass line and a melodious guitar riff, which build gradually up until after 16 bars or so, they merge to provide a combined assault on your ears akin to the opening of a Pendulum record. The bass is cranked to 9 Billion, the tune is simple enough to dance to and the song as a whole is catchy as hell. Following the title track is lead single `Omen' - so good that when I first heard it, I swore that I was listening to a track from `Fat of the Land'. "The Writing's On The Wall" was about the only lyric I could gather, but it didn't matter because as with `Fire starter' or `Smack My B Up', one lyric is all you really need to be able to get fully into it.

The opening two tracks are an indication of what to expect on `Invaders Must Die'. `Warrior's Dance' provides contrast for about 30 seconds when it opens with a euphoric female vocal. Very quickly though, the listener is brought back with a bang, and back come the thick and heavy Drum n Bass beats. Where The Prodigy have always excelled, is in selling their distinct sound by varying the tracks just enough to so you don't get déjà vu every time there is a song change, but not so much as to slow the pace of the record. On `Invaders Must Die', this is brought in with great effect. For forty minutes or so, the music infects your ears and causes your body to move, never slowing or treading over old ground.

The chances are that you already know if you are going to like this CD. There's nothing groundbreaking, audacious or controversial on this new release - it is just a good solid piece of work. As exciting as they ever were and ready to get the party going, The Prodigy are back. Nice to see that the boys still have still got it.

4 Stars

Gregory Jolliffe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Great album for all fans of the Prodigy's electronic music. DVD shows video clip and videos taken from concerts. A little bit deceived by carton box (I had preferd a plastic one)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaders Must BUY, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phenomenal
Just when you thought it was all over - the Prodigy is back and better than ever!
"Always Outnumbered..." may have had a few good points, but it always had the feel of a 'filler' album... now we have the proof - here is the killer! This is the best thing they have done since "Fat of the Land" - some may say it's better.
All I know is that I put it in my car stereo three weeks ago and it's been on ever since.
All is once more right in the world of the Prodigy & I am a happy bunny.
C :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invanders Must Die- Must Buy !, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. S. Pates "Siobhan" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invaders Must Die (Audio CD)
Initially i bought this album on the basis that i loved the tracks the Prodigy had officially released 'Omen' adn 'Warriors Dance' and that i have loved them in the past, but this album has some much more to offer. The 'unreleased' tracks are pure gold. I especially recommend 'Run With The Wolves'.

After the first time i listened to the album it became so addictive, its became part of my daily routine.
Compared to so my of the crap filling up the airwaves at the moment, this album is a saviour! Seriously buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaders Must Die, 7 Oct 2009
By 
V. Ayres (somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invaders Must Die (Audio CD)
Excellent cd - if you like The Prodigy you will love this. They have also got a couple of slow-ish tracks on the cd and these are really good too! Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attitude!, 19 July 2009
This review is from: Invaders Must Die (Audio CD)
I bought this after finally seeing the Prodigy live, my last attempt having failed 12 years ago when I missed them at V! There are some tracks that whisk you back to their early releases and others that have a new style for the band. I find it is one of those albums that you have to turn up in the car and that reinstates a little teenage angst!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting old skool for the 21st century! The best so far?, 8 July 2009
This review is from: Invaders Must Die (Audio CD)
I can rarely be bothered to take time to write a review but The Prodigy most definitely deserve my gratitude and respect for this album.

Those of you that grew up with The Prodigy's 'Experience' album and still rate it amongst the favourites in your CD collection as I do will love 'Invaders Must Die'. I can't believe how good it is - not many albums contain so much top-quality material.

'Invaders Must Die' is a clear acknowledgement of the fact that the 'Experience' album of 1992 is the only one that contains true anthems that you might still hear in a mainstream club. The later albums, whilst still certainly good in their own right, were notably moodier and less memorable. This one takes you right back to those early days of uplifting tunes.

Whilst the second CD of 'The Singles' set contained some lively, updated remixes of a couple of those early anthems and were very enjoyable, this album is completely new. Quite possibly as good as the 'Experience' album, if not better, it's a modern take on what it was we loved about the early stuff, although there are fewer lyrics. Something also worth noting was that I didn't spot a single amazing sub-bassline to 'wow' your friends with as it booms out of the back of your Nova GTE (or whatever it is that the cool kids are driving these days). That's the only single and very minor disappointment for me but maybe it was sensible - these tracks should sound just as good on the radio as they do on CD, in your bedroom, in the lounge, in your car and in a club .... so this should increase their popularity and airtime, boosting sales. Nearly twenty years on, there's a whole new generation of bedroom ravers so Liam and the boys may well have just doubled their market with this effort. Right from the start, tracks such 'Invaders Must Die', 'Omen' and 'Thunder' are instant classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 2 July 2009
By 
af420 "af420" (great lakes region) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Invaders Must Die (Audio CD)
I won't go so far as to say it's as good as their earlier albums over all, but that is only because they set the bar so high. Tracks like "Thunder", "Take Me to the Hospital", and "World on Fire" are as good as it gets. My only complaint is that it seems they try to be overtly "colourful" at times (bubble gum as someone said) instead of dark and edgey as in "Music for the Jilted" and "Fat of the Land", but at the same time it hearkens back to the "Experience" energy moreso than those albums so I guess it's a mixed blessing. You won't be disappointed with this disc if you like the prodigy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Invaders Must Die
Invaders Must Die by The Prodigy (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews