Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic bluegrass from young Alison
This was Alison's second album but the first on which her band gets title billing. The musicians were Alison Krauss (fiddle), Mike Harman (banjo), Jeff White (guitar), John Pennell (bass), Jerry Douglas (dobro) and Brent Truitt (mandolin). Jerry and Brent were not members of Union station but were brought in as guests on the recordings. Alison was just 17 when these...
Published on 22 Dec 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound lacking crispness (on my hardware...)
I don' t like that much commenting music.
I fight my very little crusade for better sound.
This Cd sounds above the average quality (not a great effort
to be honest...) but tones mix is not well balanced, it lacks
treble. Maybe this Cd sounds better with crisper hardware than
mine (C.audio) .... but other Krauss' releases sound better with...
Published on 25 July 2011 by Lucazest


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic bluegrass from young Alison, 22 Dec 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two Highways (Audio CD)
This was Alison's second album but the first on which her band gets title billing. The musicians were Alison Krauss (fiddle), Mike Harman (banjo), Jeff White (guitar), John Pennell (bass), Jerry Douglas (dobro) and Brent Truitt (mandolin). Jerry and Brent were not members of Union station but were brought in as guests on the recordings. Alison was just 17 when these tracks were recorded but she was already the supreme performer. Jeff White sings lead on Wild Bill Jones, As lovely as you, Lord don't forsake me and Midnight rider, with Alison and Mike providing harmony vocals. Beaumont rag and Windy city rag are instrumentals. On all other tracks, Alison sings lead vocal, with Jeff and Mike providing harmony vocals.
The last two tracks will be the most familiar. Teardrops will kiss the morning dew was originally recorded by the Osborne brothers, an excellent bluegrass outfit, and was also covered by Billie Jo Spears. Both those versions are somewhat obscure, but Alison's own version was selected for inclusion on Now that I've found you A collection, the hugely successful compilation of Alison's music. If you are thinking of buying this album, you surely own that compilation already - and if not, you should buy that first. The final track is a cover of Gregg Allman's classic Midnight rider, here adapted to bluegrass - brilliantly.
You are not likely to know many (if any) of the first ten tracks but they are definitely worth a listen. They are a varied mix of ballads and up-tempo but the overall feel of the album is upbeat. Possibly the best is Heaven's bright shore though it is difficult to pick out highlights on an album of such quality.
If you already have Now that I've found you A collection and you want to explore Alison's early music further, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start Off With A Bang!, 4 July 2005
By 
Dan Craggs (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Two Highways (Audio CD)
Since this was AKUS' first album together, you'd expect a certain level of the band having to find their feet, or however you'd like to put it. But the complete opposite happened. Having been in the industry for considerable time, these four experienced musicians and singers threw everything they had into this album, and you can certainly tell from the outstanding final product.
'Two Highways' is a remarkable start to the album, and it's not hard to see why it was picked as the title track, either. If it doesn't get your foot moving (if not only to the volume control to turn it up - if you're lazy like some of us) then I don't know what will.
Each song has its own unique identity and imprint, and right from the high-speed all-out rampage of musical excellence in 'Midnight Rider' to the slow, gentle, sweet 'As Lovely As You', the quartet's ability to adapt perfectly to each and every one is more than evident.
It would take all day to describe each track to you, as every single one has a different story to tell and a different feel to it. What I will say though, is that this collection of expertly written and played music is heartfelt, warm, intricate, and is rightly considered to be an array of some of the best music you will ever hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Alison, 26 Dec 2011
By 
S. Worner "fivetrax" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Highways (Audio CD)
This is a music genre you either love or hate. Early Alison Krauss and Union Station before 'Baby, Now that I found you' and fame took over - great stuff from a really lovely and unassuming lady and truly professional band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently wonderful, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Highways (Audio CD)
Always a pleasure. Never disappointing. What a beautiful voice This is the kind of music that can soothe your senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great CD, 17 Sep 2012
By 
P. J. Hillier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Highways (Audio CD)
I have always been a great Lover of AKUS and although I had some of their later Albums I though it would be rather nice to have some earlier Recordings. and this is one of those that I bought.

These earlier Recordings are more like Blue Grass, there is more 'Edge' to Alison's Voice as it has changed slightly over the Years and this actually appeals to me. AKUS represent the Best in American Folk/Country Music,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 17 Jan 2010
This review is from: Two Highways (Audio CD)
One of the best albums I have ever listened to, and one of the best ever Bluegrass albums. Alison Krauss's voice, the sublime harmonies, the expert, tight-sounding instumental playing and the mix of traditional Bluegrass pieces with authentic-sounding, heart-pulling love songs make this a dream listen. I also like the gospels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound lacking crispness (on my hardware...), 25 July 2011
By 
Lucazest (Rezzato (Brescia), Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Highways (Audio CD)
I don' t like that much commenting music.
I fight my very little crusade for better sound.
This Cd sounds above the average quality (not a great effort
to be honest...) but tones mix is not well balanced, it lacks
treble. Maybe this Cd sounds better with crisper hardware than
mine (C.audio) .... but other Krauss' releases sound better with
it..... so............
A bit disappointed, always expect from this artist very good
releases!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Highways
Two Highways by Alison Krauss & Union Station
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews