Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year!
The Presets are two Ozzie lads, quite rightly, absolutely huge in their native Australia. Their amazing second album acclaiming awards here, there and everywhere, completely outselling anything this year and hitting the Australian number 1 slot. I stumbled into the Presets world via the fantastic 2nd single "This Boys In Love". A wonderfully high powered, tuneful, 80's...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by R. Smith

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this from Zoverstocks
Zoverstocks send out the UK single disc version and not the Apocalypso (11 Tracks) Aust Excl [Import] as stated and shown in this listing.
Published 13 days ago by SB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year!, 13 Nov 2008
By 
R. Smith (islington, london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apocalypso (Audio CD)
The Presets are two Ozzie lads, quite rightly, absolutely huge in their native Australia. Their amazing second album acclaiming awards here, there and everywhere, completely outselling anything this year and hitting the Australian number 1 slot. I stumbled into the Presets world via the fantastic 2nd single "This Boys In Love". A wonderfully high powered, tuneful, 80's influenced, uplifting, electrosynth pop song for the Naughties. With it's A-ha like piano rift, powerful vocals and totally hypnotic chugging dance rhythm this should have been a huge hit here too. The 3rd single "Talk Like That" is equally as good. Starting off with a manic church organ, sounding like something from the Munsters but then going into another fantastic, high energy, electro dance romp. Lead single, the massively high powered, energetic "My People" is best heard as loud as possible, with it's screaming Numanesque vocals. When they played live at Camden's Electric Ballroom in October this track sent the packed crowd into absolute mayhem. Imagine Underworld meet Chemical Brothers meet Nitzer Ebb but then 10 times better. Other highlights are the pounding lead track "Kicking and Screaming", the frantic and highly manic "Eucalyptus" and the cracking "Yippiyo-Ay". They are equally sublime when they slow the pace down a bit on tracks "If I Know You" and the Human League-like instrumental "Aeons". The final track "Anywhere" brings you down to a more gentle trance dance with lighter vocals and is the most Underworld-like track. The sometimes shouty vocals are a bit hard for some people to get their heads around but stick with it and after a couple of plays this album will wind it's way into your senses. Get the singles for extra added diverse remixes.
Destined for world succuss this album is like instant lucozade. If you need a drop of energy put this on and dance till you drop. Totally my album of the year. Brilliant stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this from Zoverstocks, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Zoverstocks send out the UK single disc version and not the Apocalypso (11 Tracks) Aust Excl [Import] as stated and shown in this listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These Aussies rock!, 27 Nov 2009
By 
W. Meijers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: APOCALYPSO (Audio CD)
Great Australian electronic dancepop album. At least if you like the combination of dance, pop, electro and a touch of pure eighties synthesizer pop. Imagine Depeche Mode meets Underworld meets The Editors.
Easy to get in your head, hard to get out! These Aussies rock!
If you like 'em, you might also wanna check Grafton Primary and The Midnight Juggernauts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: APOCALYPSO (Audio CD)
Apocalypso knocks the pants off Beams. It's my favourite album, not one dud track. Can't wait to hear more from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 50 something woman dancing around the kitchen!, 9 May 2009
This review is from: Apocalypso (Audio CD)
What a great chunk of music. My musical adviser, aka eldest son, introduced me to this, flicking through my ipod and deciding I needed a bit of guidance! I usually like listening to loud energetic music, whilst cooking and can usually be seen jigging around whilst peeling carrots etc. What an inspirational album for culinary creativity! Love every track, bar one, and have passed it on to my daughters, one of whom took my ipod to bed with her, so I think she's hooked now. Shades of Gary Numan meets ABC and Depeche mode, with softer sides of The Beloved! Absolutely hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the good, the not so good.., 17 May 2009
This review is from: Apocalypso (Audio CD)
Because I have the Presets first album Beams and had heard and loved new songs like 'My People', 'Talk Like That' and 'This Boys In Love' I was excited about getting this album. However, I feel this album failed to live up the high expectations I maybe had for it. Some of the not so good songs on the album feel like a space with music until the better songs come on again. But, in saying that, these 'filler' songs are small in number and there are definitely more good songs than bad, so I would still recommended this CD, just skip over the bad songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aussie synthtastical sounds..., 2 July 2008
This review is from: Apocalypso (Audio CD)
Australian duo Presets,are not quite as Eighties as everyone seems to be saying, the major influences seem to be the alternative synth-bands of that era but that there is a harsher edge to a few tracks, where the soothing balladry is replaced by pulsing,menacing beats and yelping vocals.

The main variety on the album is Julian Hamiltons voice, he delivers operatic melodrama on "This Boys In Love",angry rabble rousing shouts on "My People" and then smooth crooning on "Anywhere", this is a good thing, while the music supplied by Kim Moyes is always excellent,full of dips and dives and never quite predictable.

Australia is enjoying a major music revival at the minute and the Presets are like a slightly austere,intellectual offshoot of the more party orientated Cut Copy and Midnight Juggernauts.

Let this album grow on you, at first the opening two tracks made me wonder if i had stumbled accross the worst of the risible electro-clash movement of the early noughties.

The Presets are much better than electro-clash and the whole feel of this LP seems to be Northern Europe not sun kissed,drought blighted New South Wales!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello there listeners.........., 4 Jun 2008
This review is from: Apocalypso (Audio CD)
What sort of person listens to an album and doesn't hear what he's hearing........? Anyway, this album is packed full of floor fillers. Base heavy and some great suprises. If you like your !!! (chk chk chk... or whatever the ****) or your MSTRKRFT then this might just hit the spot for you too. Get them house parties at the ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fotostat, 13 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Apocalypso (Audio CD)
yes we all loved the 80's. and i particularly loved Nitzer Ebb and Front 242 circa 1986. which is why i find this album particularly irritating. the Presets have clearly borrowed the same blok-rocking beats, but somehow in the process destroyed the muscle. 2 stars for the poptastic Talk Like That, the lovely Aeons, and the microsecond or two where they sound like The Knife. the rest is all 0 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds familiar..., 29 Mar 2008
By 
M. Harrison - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
... wait, didn't The Faint come up with this exact same schtick on Danse Macabre, ooo, four years ago? And didn't they do it better?

Perhaps though, like Danse Macabre, this'll be all about the remixes. In which case, watch this space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb28fbd2c)

This product

Apocalypso
Apocalypso by The Presets
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews