Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae Legend
Bob Marley is a reggae legend, whose life was tragically cut short, but his legacy continues to be inspirational to fellow reggae bands. The Legend: Remastered is a tribute to the legend, who has captivated interest with colourful and vibrant music during the 70's decade, but his appeal continues to maintain interest. The album features 16 tracks, which are all digitally...
Published on 12 May 2007 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio CD.....Not as good as it should be
I have a 30 year history of buying Bob Marley's music.
I decided to replace my lost original of "Legend" (not remastered)
There is a reason that I don't normally buy anything that is "remastered" as it always sounds too processed and unnatural.
This album shows exactly that.
Vocals just don't sound right, mostly noticed in the backing vocals with a...
Published 5 months ago by Dazzaaa


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae Legend, 12 May 2007
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
Bob Marley is a reggae legend, whose life was tragically cut short, but his legacy continues to be inspirational to fellow reggae bands. The Legend: Remastered is a tribute to the legend, who has captivated interest with colourful and vibrant music during the 70's decade, but his appeal continues to maintain interest. The album features 16 tracks, which are all digitally remastered, but the original sound is still retained. Some of my personal favourites include One Love / People Get Ready, Get up, stand up, Could you be loved, Satisfy my soul and son. In few commercials, the background music is based on few of his well known tracks. These songs are really tuneful and great pleasure to listen to. Without him, raggae music would not recieve the widespread recognition it continues to achieve at present. Bob Marley has promoted reggae music in the map, which started to flourish during the 70's decade to the present. The album I would truly recommend for anyone who loves reggae music and Bob Marley is the the true representative of reggae music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively Up Your Music Collection, 17 Mar 2006
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
There are a handful of albums that I see in just about every house that I visit. Bob Marley-Legend is one of them. Everyone seems to love his songs and I think the main reason is their simplicity. Marley seems to be able to strip music to it's simplest form and deliver messages so relevant but without the pretentiousness that most artist impose.
Think of Reggae and Bob Marley immediately comes to mind. He has put this genre on the map and made it his own. He has mastered the genre to make the most wonderful and chilled out songs ever recorded. Played from beginning to end, this collection will take away all your worries and chill your soul. A great summer's day album to play whilst relaxing in your yard and equally good music to play in the background of a nice social gathering. One time I was in a chillout bar and they had the whole album on in the background and not one tune seemed out of place, in fact it helped tremendously with the atmosphere.
Music doesn't get more honest than this. Simplicity and beauty with a strong thread of genius interwoven throughout. this collection of songs shows clearly why Bob Marley is heralded in such high regard by millions of people worldwide. He touches everyone who hears his music, which is just about the full population of the planet.
One of the greatest collections of an artist's work and rightfully titled. Bob Marley was, and still is, a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley Legend - PURE AUDIO BLU RAY REVIEW, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Blu-ray Audio)
Legend
Yes - we all know that this is a great album - but this review is about the sound quality of the new PURE AUDIO BLU-RAY disc. I compared the CD with this using a 1,500 Cyrus CD play with 300 cables, against the Pure Audio in the cheapest, 150, Sony Blu-ray player with a 30 cable - the result - and all my family agreed - was astonishing! The Pure Audio was absolutley astounding - the best sound quality I have ever heard - and I have listened to systems costing tens of thousands. Absolutely fantastic - you feel like the band is is in the room with you - and the vocals are fabulous. A must buy. This format is the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend ? Indeed, but why didn't Universal get it right the first time ?, 6 July 2014
By 
K. G. R. Carpenter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This new Blu Ray 5.1 surround mix is a revelation, I will not dwell on what has been said about the songs previously, but the sound and feel in this enhanced quality brings to tracks like Is This Love and the extended version of Exodus is just incredible, the playing and clarity just bring summer in to the room.

If only the whole care and warmth generated throughout this compilation could have been applied to all of the releases Universal have made in this format, as opposed to the mainly half hearted Stereo mixes released (including this album and Kaya not so long ago, which frankly could be viewed as a cynical rip off) the cynics could have been won over, this album is a flagship for this format and is totally essential, buy it ! and no pun intended it will satisfy your soul, one of the best Blu Ray Surround sound albums I have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 5 Nov 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
The title of this album says it all. This is such a great collection of songs I don't know where to start. If you're new to Marley then you can't do better than this album, and if you're already a fan then this a great collection of his stuff in one place. Worth it for 'No woman no cry' alone! Brilliant summer music, or any time of the year it's that good!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are to buy just one Reggae album get this one, 31 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
This album is aptly named; Bob Marley's music has touched the world, and this compilation does even more justice to his brilliance than the original release of "Legend" -- better, crisper sound and "Exodus," in its complete form. There was never an excuse for having the shorter version of this great song on this album and it always took away from the album for me but now Legend is the perfect album. This reissue has improved and the sound is great, all the lyrics and a good essay on Bob, and the 2 new "Bonus" tracks is a great addition to this package. "Exodus" is the best reason to toss your old "Legend" aside.

Everyone knows all the great songs from this great man. With sweet songs like "Is This Love, "No Woman, No Cry" (a recording of the famous live performance), and the empowering "Get Up Stand Up." There is a song for nearly any mood. It seems that EVERYONE, whether they're into hip-hop or rock or country can dig Bob Marley. Not many artists can do what he had done. That being said, this album is just about the most versatile disc conceivable. Feeling a little low - just play "Three Little Birds" or "Is This Love?" Need some music to get your party started? play the infectious "Jamming" and "Could You Be Loved" will do the trick. Looking to chill out with your significant other? "Waiting in Vain" (just about the most beautiful song ever conceived) or "Stir It Up" will set the mood straight.

Most of the tracks on this album are songs that were paramount for Bob Marley and the Wailers' career in the seventies and eighties. Bob Marley's "Legend" is an excellent album, definitely a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 19 Aug 2002
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
Bob Marley and the Wailers rule the world of reggae music. It's as simple as that. This album collects their finest work, both studio and live recordings, and puts them on one brilliant CD. If you think you have any taste in good music, you'll listen to this at least once in your life, and probably many more. A classic record, you won't find better in the genre than Legend. BUY IT NOW! Cool stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New series with Classical albums, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Hans Myhren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Blu-ray Audio)
Bluray-audio edition of the classical album. Amazing sound,superior to sac,dvd cd/mp3 and at reasonable prices.Lossless pcm ,Dts-hd master,Dolby truehd in stereo mixes. The Company have said that 5,1 surround mixes will be available on some releases but you really don't miss it. Only a few releases so far. Stones,Clapton,Supertramp,Wonder,Simone but more on the the road.
Not adverticed much, you hardly know its existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30th Anniversary Legend 5.1 Surround Sensation!, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am at an age now when wows are few and far between! But this latest offering from Universal is WOWWWW!
This has always been a great album and the recent Pure Audio version was very good within it's stereo limitations. Now with all the instruments spread across the wide 5.1 soundstage what a transformation. Every instrument is beautifully separated in the mix and it sounds as though a lot of work has been put in to bring out the nuances and positioning of each. Everything is there with crystal clarity from the edge of the hi-hat and all the other percussion, the organ, guitars, that wonderful deep round reggae bass, the detailed brass, never any harshness, just a great laid back feel. Bob's voice is not in your face, but just right. If you have any affection for Legend I urge you to find your way to a full range surround system and discover what can be achieved when old recordings are given the best of up to date treatment. .....I think I'll have another WOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'beginner's guide' to Bob Marley, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This CD is somewhat of a crash-course in Marley's music. Although a great collection of his tunes, you really must delve in to his early/live work to get a real taste of his style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend
Legend by Bob Marley
Buy MP3 Album8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews