Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars65
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2007
A great album - primarily because of Peter Green's guitar playing. The Supernatural is clearly the precursor to Albatross but this album is special primarily because it contains the best recorded blues guitar solo ever on The Stumble. Amazing....not one note that doesn't take its place perfectly - and delivered with the easy skill of a true maestro. (Even BB King has paid tribute to Green's astonishing talent).
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2007
This is a real classic among British blues albums, and it's nice to have it remastered on CD.

Those whose acquaintance with or interest in John Mayall is limited to the "Beano" album would do well to give this a listen. Okay, it doesn't have God's blistering guitar work, but Mayall's songwriting is stronger, the ensemble playing is punchier and tighter, and the arrangements have more variety than on the Clapton album. And of course you get the rapidly burgeoning talents of Peter Green.

There are some real gems among the bonus tracks too, such as Peter Green's brilliant solo rendition, soaked with blues feeling, of J B Lenoir's bitter and outspoken "Alabama Blues," and the four tracks with the virtuoso harmonica playing of Paul Butterfield. But why, oh why, couldn't they have included the wonderful single "Double Trouble" / "It Hurts Me Too," the best single Mayall made with Peter Green and possibly ever? I'm afraid the omission has cost this otherwise excellent album its fifth star.

Highly recommended all the same, if you like British blues.
66 comments|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2003
I'm horrified to have to admit that I bought this album on vinyl in 1967. I was probably wearing beads and bells at the time...
It's one of the few albums I still renew whenever it wears out. I'm on my fourth or fifth copy now.
4 highlights make it still worth listening to for me:
The title track - Hard Road - has a great vocal and is a fine track, as is Someday After a While. But the two instrumentals featuring Peter Green's guitar playing make it a must-have, particularly if you play. The Supernatural is a fine tune, still sounds fresh, but the killer is The Stumble, a cover of a Freddy King tune. Green's articulation and phrasing at speed is simply unbelievable, and the band is as tight as tight gets. I will never tire of this tune!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2008
There's something about late 60s London that will always capture my imagination. Austin Powers aside, its an incredibly rich period in our cultural history that produced some remarkable pieces of music and film. This recording is right up there with other more famous examples. I've long wanted to pursue the early phase of Peter Green's recording career, after hearing a brief snatch of his guitar work many years back. I finally did some searching on Amazon and was pleased to find this re-release, which looked like an excellent sampler of his work with Mayall. I was not disappointed. Hard Road is a stone classic IMO and has that awesome British Blues sound that aficionados of this sound will recognise immediately. Do not hesitate to grab this if you are on the fence - it's worth every penny and based on this material Peter Green should be considered the equal of his considerably more famous colleague, Mr Eric Clapton.
33 comments|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2007
Re-issued and expanded version of the follow-up to the "Beano" album, and every bit as good. Wonderful playing from 21 year old Peter Green in particular (listen to both Supernatural and The Stumble for proof). The whole band are as tight as the proverbial duck's ---!

Not all the material featuring Green is included here, because there was too much to get on to one cd; hence enthusiasts will find the rest (including Double Trouble and It Hurts Me Too) on the re-issued Crusade album, which incidentally is also an essential purchase.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2009
This was a purchase made primarily for the fact that it features the playing of the great Peter Green. Having seen the recent BBC Four documentary on Peter Green, I sought out some of the music that they used and found it here. Standout tracks include the two instrumentals, "The Stumble" and "The Supernatural" which both showcase Green's bluesy lead guitar to perfection, hinting to what he would play like a few years later with Fleetwood Mac. Indeed, both John McVie (bass) and Mick Fleetwood (drums) also apppear on some (though not all) tracks. The CD is an expanded version of the original 1967 Decca album, expanded to include such material as four tracks that Mayall's band recorded backing Paul Butterfield and another four which they performed for sessions with the BBC. Great value for the price and an excellent slice of 1960's British blues. Recommended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 March 2011
A classic album, with almost 80 minutes of quality blues, at a giveaway price. Hard to avoid repeating other reviewers, but this is a blistering album of engaged and electrifying blues playing, including some beautifully scintillating guitar from Peter Green, with some lovely sustain to deliver some luminous hanging chords. Mayall's on the money here too, with some impressive playing and keyboard work. Green's contribution is acknowledged already on certain tracks, but there are also some really impressive ensemble tracks where exquisite guitar is only one element from an outstanding mix. These include the smoking 'Dust My Blues' and the incredibly powerful restraint and emotional pull and regret in pieces of true blues majesty such as 'So Many Roads', 'All My Life' and 'Out of Reach'. A wonderful combination of bonus tracks gives this album its long running time, and there is little sense of any filler material at all (although to my ears, two versions of 'Leaping Christine' is two too many!). Some of the unsung tracks mentioned above were 'B' sides of singles, while a great 4-track EP with Paul Butterfield is included, and a BBC recording of another four tracks from 1967. Really this is just mouth-wateringly good. If you have any interest in the blues this is a 'must' for the collection, and if you're new to this area, this is a very good place to start. Other albums worth exploring after this include the essential Blues Breakers, with Clapton, and the vibrant acoustic set The Turning Point. If you enjoy Green's playing, acquiring The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac is another essential purchase, and a stunning bargain in addition. Gorgeous, glorious stuff.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
John Mayall at his best, Peter Green blooming into full flower, a joy to the ears of any British Blues lover.

Most people will have a copy by now, and I think it has been largely surpassed by the likes of Gary Moore (as in his tribute to Peter Green Blues for Greeny). I still prefer the sound of my vinyl copy to the CD.

But if you do not own it then your collection is very definitely incomplete. It is worth buying just for The Stumble, and Supernatural, still the best versions by anyone, anywhere, anywhen.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
Not only is this album a classic example of British Blues, but (speaking as an American customer) the buying experience was pleasant, the price was right, and the shipping overseas was incredibly fast. In addition to original album, which is second in a trio of classics in the Mayall reperoire, each featuring a guitarist destined for greatness (the other two being BLUESBREAKERS WITH ERIC CLAPTON and CRUSADE featuring Mick Taylor), this edition features numerous bonus tracks. This is a result of the British practice of issuing singles separately from LPs. Most of them have seen the light of day before, on collections like THRU THE YEARS or LOOKING BACK, but the gem is the complete EP of BLUESBREAKERS WITH PAUL BUTTERFIELD, which has never been available in the states, and was my chief motivation for placing this order.

Is this a perfect album? No, not by any means. The best tracks are nothing short of brilliant, but several wear thin pretty quickly. The final track of the original album, "Living Alone," for instance, sounds as if something wrong with the tuning or the intonation on the guitar. I think it was a weak stab at psychedelia, but that's only a guess. Mayall is at his best playing other people's material, but the title track is one of his best originals, and Peter Green's contributions, both as a soloist and a composer, are first rate.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2001
Personally, as someone only recently getting into the blues, and especially the 60's British blues boom, I thought this was a pretty good album. Peter Green's guitar playing is excellent, especially as he was filling the recently departed shoes of Eric Clapton. Tracks like Supernatural, and for me, The Stumble, particularly stick out, and for any Peter Green fan this album is a must. Otherwise, this album is still quite good, with Mayall managing quite a degree of feeling in his vocals, and the band as tight as ever. All in all, pretty damn good.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49
£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)