Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton's stunning second album confirms his potential
If his first album, the low-budget 'Empty Sky' hinted at Elton John's potential, his second ('the black album') well and truly confirmed it and is one of the most significant albums of the early 70s. Its distinctive character derives from the three features which would become Elton's trademark sound in his early albums - his unique vocal delivery, his expressive piano...
Published on 9 Aug 2001 by Pete Walker

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Elton John
At last I now own a cd version as well as a 70's album I can no longer play.I remember seeing Elton in the early 70's preform these tracks live and this album is still awsome 30+ years later.(sad but true)
Published on 27 Jan 2012 by sparkle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton's stunning second album confirms his potential, 9 Aug 2001
By 
Pete Walker (Church Stretton, Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
If his first album, the low-budget 'Empty Sky' hinted at Elton John's potential, his second ('the black album') well and truly confirmed it and is one of the most significant albums of the early 70s. Its distinctive character derives from the three features which would become Elton's trademark sound in his early albums - his unique vocal delivery, his expressive piano playing, and the use of heavy orchestration. The songs range from tender ballads with baroque influences, to bluesy rock numbers, and the slow but powerful songs for which he is perhaps best known. Only one ('Your song') was a hit record, but many others have become well-established classics of Elton's repertoire (notably 'Border song', 'Take me to the pilot', 'Sixty years on' and 'The king must die'). (Three additional early songs, not originally included on the album, also appear.) Paul Buckmaster's orchestral arrangements on this album might be criticised as being too grandiose and overbearing at times, but they are part of what gives the record its distinctive character and helped to establish Elton as a very individual new talent in his early days. After two further heavily orchestrated albums, his song arrangements became much more stripped-down and conventionally commercial, as can be heard on 'Goodbye yellow brick road', but the black album showcases Elton's raw talent before 'stardom' arrived. A landmark album - but if you like the style of this you should also obtain the subsequent 'Tumbleweed connection' and 'Madman across the water', which are also EJ classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton's Breakout Album!, 30 May 2007
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
This being Elton John's second album after "Empty Sky", it truly embarked Elton on his remarkable career. It was the first of many productions by Gus Dudgeon and contained Elton's first group of band members that would last throughout the seventies. "Your Song" was the big hit here, but songs like, "Take Me To The Pilot" and "Border Song" became FM radio station staples. Elton also recorded live with an orchestra here and it marks the first time that he really took advantage of the setup. Stand-out cuts are "Sixty Years On" and "The King Must Die"; songs he later recreated in concert. Bonus tracks, "Bad Side Of The Moon", "Rock `n Roll Madonna" and "Grey Seal" were fantastic single B-Side cuts that should have been on the original album. In fact, "Grey Seal" was later rerecorded for "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road". In SACD Surround Sound, this album is like being in the studio with Elton John the first time he had a huge success. This is a landmark album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton John, 27 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. D. S. Cox (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
This was the second album of Elton John's and the one that put his name out there. This album has plenty to offer in the different types of songs that are available. 'Your Song' has gone down as a all time classic and is the perfect introduction to this album. 'First Espisode at Hienton' and 'Sixty Years On' are two mellow songs that you can feel emotion from.
3 bonus tracks are on offer on this album including 'grey seal' that can be found on the Goodbye Yellow Brick Road album, a early version of the song.
This was the introduction of Elton John into the music scene so for an Elton fan this is a must have but can easily entertain any music lover. Plenty to offer, money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton's breakthrough album, 21 May 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
Elton's recordings prior to this, especially the Empty sky album, are interesting, but this is the album that catapulted him into the big time, where he has remained ever since. The tracks for this album are dated January 1970, but only ten of them appeared on the original album. Other tracks were released as singles. This re-mastered edition includes four bonus tracks taken from the original sessions.

The first single, Border song, made the American charts but became a bigger hit for Aretha Franklin, who thus became the first singer as far as I know to have a hit with a cover of an Elton John song. Elton's own follow-up to Border song was a UK-only single coupling two tracks (Rock and roll Madonna, Grey seal) that were omitted from the original album, but which are included here. Elton later re-recorded Grey seal for his classic album Goodbye yellow brick road, but the version here is his rarer first recording of the song.

The next single was Your song, released in America following impressive live performances there. The B-side of that single, Take me to the pilot, features lyrics that even their writer Bernie Taupin admits are meaningless. He sometimes does that sort of thing but points out that the words sound good together and that's what matters. Yet Bernie was also capable of writing meaningful lyrics of a high quality, and his best songs all share that chat eristic. While the best example here is Your song, others include The greatest discovery (about the birth of a baby), Sixty years on (reflecting on what the future might offer; about forty of those sixty have so far elapsed) and First episode at Hienton (inspired by a time in Bernie's youth).

This was a great album, but even greater albums were to follow in the ensuing years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy 2nd album, 18 Jan 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
The 2nd album from Elton John is the one where he first made an impact on the music world. There are two standards on this album 'Your Song' and 'Border Song'. Both are great songs. Sadly Your Song has been overplayed a bit over the years, but listening to the original version of Border Song again recently I was struck by the simple production, and its great gospel feel.

'Sixty Years On' and 'Take Me To The Pilot' remain two of the songs that Elton still plays in concert to this day and any fan will know these. A couple of the remaining tracks are perhaps are not up to quite the same standard, but I like them all. The string arrangements by Paul Buckmaster set Elton's early albums apart from his more comercially successful albums and give this album a unique feel.

The 3 bonus tracks are well worth having. My favourite of these is 'Rock 'n' Roll Madonna'. A rare straight rock n roll track from Elton with an artificial live feel and Jerry Lee Lewis/Leon Russell influenced Piano solo. The remastered sound is good and the new sleeve notes give quite a lot of useful background information. This is well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding,timeless classic, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elton John (Remastered Version) (MP3 Download)
One of my all time favourite albums,songs for any mood or time.This was a time when Sir Elton was at his most inspired and creative.Long live Sir Elton and his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... this as a record when first out and I enjoyed it very much though there were some rubbish songs ..., 8 July 2014
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
Took me back but I had this as a record when first out and I enjoyed it very much though there were some rubbish songs on it but the quality was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid 2nd album, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
Elton John's second LP, released in 1970, sees the Elton John/ Bernie Taupin songwriting team maturing nicely after their solid debut 'Empty Sky' (1969). The general feel here is reflective and acoustic; the opener 'Your Song' is gorgeous and, in my view, should never be covered by any artist [black mark, Ms Ellie Goulding!]. Reggie certainly knows how to rock things up on the likes of 'Take Me To The Pilot' and 'Border Song' demonstrates the lovely gospel feel of early Elton albums. The closing track 'The King Must Die' is a superior ballad which builds to a majestic climax. Overall, this is a solid performance and should form an important part of your 'classic' Elton John collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elton John's first album, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Heath (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best albums he made. Great songs and really good sound.If you like Elton I would imagine you probably know a good half of this album already. If I remember this is not a very expensive CD so it's even more of a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 43 old and still great, 22 Jun 2013
By 
David Butt (Banbury, Oxon, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elton John (Audio CD)
Released in 1970 this is a great album. As well as Your Song which everyone knows, there is the beautiful The Greatest Discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews