Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, remastered & with Hey You returned to the tracklist!
I'm so glad they've finally put 'Hey You' back on the tracklist. This was inexplicably missing on the original cd but present on the vinyl and cassette versions of the album. This for me was the last, great Cure work of art and for me it's right up there with Faith and Pornography as my 3 favourite Cure albums. The opening track is just phenomenal. A really long...
Published on 18 July 2007 by Adamski

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much filler. Not a patch on other cure albums
Having become a bit of a cure fan around a year ago, I started buying their albums (in no specific order).
I started with disintegration,wish then head at the door. I then bought this album and I must say I was quite disapointed.
For me, it has far too much filler and mediocre tracks. Just like heaven is an amazing track and stands out from the rest of the...
Published 17 months ago by C. Macleod


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eclectic collection of Cure classics!, 28 Sep 2001
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
'Kiss Me...' was one of the three-lovely double-albums of 1987 (the others being Prince's 'Sign'o'the Times' & Husker Du's 'Warehouse (Songs & Stories)'). Must have been something they were putting in the water!
There are some moments that would sit easily on 'Pornography'- notably 'The Kiss', 'The Snakepit' & 'Shiver & Shake' (the latter about Lol Tolhurst, who would be ejected from the band the following year). There are tracks that could have fitted on 'Faith': 'A Thousand Hours' & 'One More Time' being such songs (the latter was leading to the sound of 'Disitergration'). There are poppy songs that could have fitted on 'The Head on The Door': 'The Perfect Girl',the 'A Night Like This'-sounding 'All I Want' & the seminal 'Just Like Heaven' (another take on 'In-Between Days', memorably covered by Dinosaur Jr.). There are psychedelic-moments that are better realised than those on the patchy 'The Top': 'If Only Tonight We Could Sleep' & 'Like Cockatoos'. There is chuff: 'Icing Sugar' & 'Hey You' (not included on the cd-version). Shame that b-sides like 'A Japanese Dream' & 'Snow in Summer' would be passed over!...There are moments of pop-genius, Smith & co. at the height of their powers (as good at it as XTC around this period. Forget the Beatles!): 'Catch' and 'How Beautiful You Are' being those magical-moments...We have stadium-friendly Psychedlic Furs circa 'Midnight to Midnight' style rock in the form of 'Torture' & 'Fight'. And we have the irritaing pop-songs: 'The Lovecats' re-write 'Why Can't I Be You?' (which is less charming without its Cure do Five Star video) and the 'Hot Hot Hot!!!'- which sounds like something off 'Stop Making Sense'. Whatever, despite lapses in quality this album is an eclectic blend of styles- capturing the period in which Smith would move from punky-Buzzcockian pop to doomy guitars to psychedelic madness to the best pop songs ever. Sadly, after 'Disintergration' Smith & Co. would tread water until 'Blood Flowers'. This is a great collection of songs and as good as The Beatles 'White Album', Fleetwood Mac's 'Tusk' and Todd Rundgren's 'Something?/Anything?'. And let's face it, any album with 'How Beautiful You Are' on just has to be owned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds good after all these years, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me (MP3 Download)
It's been 24 years since I last listened to this under-rated Cure album. I bought it on impulse expecting it to sound rather dated by modern standards. True, the production is definitely 80's, but the arrangements and funky guitar effects still sound fresh and original and Bob Smith's howling vocal still sounds tongue-in-cheek. It doesn't quite hit the heights of 17 Seconds, Faith, Pornography, or Disintegration, but is still a cut above its contemporaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hit and kiss, 2 April 2013
I've been a fan of The Cure for two years now and have been desperate to get hold of this album for ages after first hearing the fantastic Why Can't I Be You and it didn't dissapoint. It features 18 tracks which was a treat with a heavy rock opening- The Kiss, followed by the slow and loveable Catch with a nice Spanish theme to it, contrasting most of the other tracks- it also features the famous single Just Like Heaven and Hot Hot Hot which is a funky pop song, again contrasting with their other heavy stuff.
Though, most of the songs are quite long and they do spread out sometimes over four minutes- I still feel Disintegration was their greatest album along with The Top, even though not the most popular, being more Psychodelic than the rest.

I still feel this is a gem to any other Cure fans even if it isn't their greatest- some of the songs are still 'Catch'y and fun to listen to with quirky songs like 'Strange Girl' and the sad 'Thousand Hours' which seems to be a taster for Disintegtration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars happy with my purchase, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The vinyl is in good condition
The cover good front & back looks great on side is a scuff where bare cardboard is revealed but its acceptable As is over 25 years old & I am happy as this was in equal if not better condition to what local Record collectors shop where selling for 19.99
Arrived fairly promptly & I would buy from seller again (just pleased to have this Record back in my collection as recently discovered at least 7 of my Cure vinyl had gone missing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was so in love with this album ... sigh!, 4 Jan 2012
One of the greatest Cure albums - but then that can be a tough call to make given the quality of their output over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the product description is a wee bit negative., 23 Oct 2011
By 
Miss Davies "LENA 777" (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the review above, by some random-bill, is largly negative, and stereotypical 'glum stares' full of 'b-sides', who gives a donkeys about glum stares or any objectifying descriptions of their style and being, the fans are feeling the music, a live band everyone should see too... the cure are one of my favourite bands, the songs i adore on this album 'torture, if only tonight, hey you, like cockatoos are some of the best tracks the cure have ever done! hey you is bursting with life, like cockatoos sexy as hell, torture is phenomenal intense, if only tonight a dream, this album has songs also besides these that are pure magic. i love many of their albums especially faith.. get this its top.the cure are genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never fade away, 19 Dec 2002
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
kiss me, kiss me, kiss me is a magnificent work, swooping from atmospheric swirling guitars, to class catchy poppy cure classics, it was easy to forget in retrospect quite how many hits came of this album.
amazingly sounds as fresh and exiting as it ever did, although not short on great albums, the cure have never sounded better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pucker up, 14 Aug 2006
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This release should make a lot of people very happy. Not just because it is a very fine album but because it rectifies a glaring oversight that occurred when the album was originally released on the C.D. format, namely the omission of the track "Hey You".Apparantly it was absent for reasons of space which made no sense what so ever. There are tracks off the album far more susceptible to the chop but as this was a decision made by some record company executive with museli for brains and a platinum disc for a soul so that's no surprise.

"Kiss me Kiss Me Kiss Me" is my favourite Cure album .It sort of encapsulates their many strengths and oeuvres within its 18 tracks. There are truly great songs, a bewildering range of styles and textures and though it is often on the surface as light and breezy as daytime TV magazine show there is a constant undercurrent of darkness, despair and disaffection. It sums up their career in one rather large enjoyable bite sized listen without the relentless misery associated with some of their other works.

Of the songs on here everyone must be familiar with the wondrous "Just Like Heaven" (covered memorably by Dinosaur Jr) which is one of those effortless pop gems The Cure would churn out in between (days) and the more morose introspective material. "Catch" is as lightweight and airy as the band ever got with its breezy guitars and buoyant strings. "Why Can't I Be You" is exuberant and vivacious with a pepped up horn arrangement and glowing keyboards unlike album opener "The Kiss" which tremble with tension and pent up aggression mirroring the songs central dysfunctional violent relationship. This song is leaving a marker that despite some of the albums pop gems it is no way going to be an easy ride. "Torture" is a magnificent broiling landscape of monumental keyboards, percussion that slaps against the songs structure like a Grizzly trying to break down a cabin door. Smith's vocals are teetering on the verge of collapse. Its torture but he's almost there to paraphrase the vocals.

Showcasing the albums diversity and melange of stylistic flourishes is "If Only Tonight We Could Sleep" which integrates Eastern sounding strings whose exotic strains sit uneasily against the torpid sorrowful vocals. Contrast this with the brief concentrated "Icing Sugar", all screeching saxophones and panting vocals or the furious insistent "Shiver And Shake". "Hot Hot Hot" is an audacious and not entirely successful sidestep into funk and may have influenced the Red Hot Chili Peppers in which case I damm it to hell. "Fight" attempts epiphany via rock music and though it's central theme and message is unusually positive and assertive it smacks of a stadium filling exhortation that sits uneasily with this band who were never about grand gestures, more about personal ones. "How Beautiful You Are" is just such a moment , a song about falling out of love with perky violins, sharp stabs of brass and whirling accordions , it is one of the albums strongest tracks and should certainly have been a single ahead of tracks like "Hot Hot Hot". I love the orchestral work on "A Thousand Hours" and the acid tinged feedback of "The Snakepit" while finding "Like Cockatoos" a little too bizarre and stubbornly discordant. "The Perfect Girl" is welcome due to the twinkling motes of piano and fragrant harpsichord.

Released on vinyl as a double album it follows the path laid down by so many double albums by being an intoxicating mixture of the baffling, brilliant and sometimes just plain indulgent but "Kiss Me Kiss me Kiss Me" happily has far more of the good stuff than the extraneous nonsense. Lots more. Unusually it is credited to the whole band on a writing level which gives a tantalising hint that this was a period of harmony and mutual appreciation within the group. The extra disc is the usual mixture of alternative versions and mixes and will only be off interest to real Cure aficionados and leads to a question. Why aren't songs like "Breathe" or "A Chain Of Flowers" that were on B-sides of singles off the album included? They are extras worth having. That said this is a splendidly diverse and intoxicating album, especially in this re-mastered and fully up-dated form. Pucker up and give it a good smooching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Cure Album, 9 Jun 2005
By 
Chris Halfhide (Hertford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
The much anticipated follow up to 1985's The Head On The Door sees Robert Smith writing about the joys of love when you have it and contrastingly the pain, heartbreak and torture of rejection.
The album opens with a gothic masterpiece in its own right. The Kiss is a gloomy, moody, gory tale of self-rehabilitation. Smith sings "you nail me to the floor and push my guts all inside out" as he is trying to get a past flame out of his head by demonising her. He slurs, "I wish you were dead" repeatedly as if to re-emphasise his hatred and feelings towards her. The song is only lyrical for the last two of the six-minute epic that allows the listener a stunning, instrumental opening to the album thanks to the remaining members of the group. Further tracks such as Torture and Snakepit reassure listeners that The Cure have not lost the post-punk goth rock that wowed fans back in the early 80's.
The more optimistic side of the album proves that The Cure are not a one-trick pony with only one style. Just Like Heaven provides us with a beautiful piece of alternative rock with absolutely fantastic keyboard work from Porl Thompson. The piece contains brilliantly crafted music that nearly equals Smith's tear jerking lyrics. "found myself alone alone alone above the raging sea, that stole the only girl I loved and drowned her deep inside of me". The heartbreaking, metaphorical verses displays Smith's poetic side and show that there is more to him than black hair dye and red lipstick. Continuing the optimistic feel, the album produces some superbly catchy dance tracks like Hot Hot Hot !!! and Why Can't I Be You? that do not quite match the previous success of hits such as Close To Me but still give us some cheerful kicks.
For an album originally containing eighteen tracks, most would not think that the phrase all killer no filler would apply. But it does. The album contains eighteen well-crafted songs that are only partially let down by the repetitiveness of a few tracks. Nevertheless, Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me is a near perfect piece with something that will always match your mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe reissue of 1987's double album..., 5 Aug 2006
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1985's 'The Head on the Door' & the following year's 'Standing on a Beach/Staring at the Sea'-compilation began to put The Cure on the path to stadium appeal. The Smith-Tolhurst-Gallup-Thompson-Williams line-up one of the key versions of The Cure (even if Tolhurst was a poor keyboard player!) featuring four prinicpal members who would be in the band up to the best-selling 'Wish' in 1992 (following which Thompson & Williams would bow out - the former has since rejoined, which is as well as he's the best guitarist the band ever had!). Following a headlining slot at Glastonbury and the 'Cure in Orange' concert, the band relocated to the South of France to record this double album. I'm sure Smith was picturing it as The Cure's 'Electric Ladyland' or 'White Album', while Thompson nodded to 'Physical Graffiti.' Essentially 'Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me', released in Spring 1987, was an expanded take on the eclectic directions of 'The Head on the Door', an album that seemed to sum up the different ways Smith went...

As with many double albums, it suffers by having some so-so material - though fans of box-set 'Join the Dots' will note some fine songs were banished to b-sides, e.g. 'Chain of Flowers', 'A Japanese Dream.' The album would be a lot sharper without 'Icing Sugar', the 'Night Like This'-retread 'All I Want', the obvious b-side 'Hey You!!!' (which wasn't on the prior cd version), or the irritating initial single 'Why Can't I Be You???' Smith had become more democratic with the songwriting, letting other members contribute whereas Cure albums from 'Seventeen Seconds' on had been very much his vision. Then again, hard to gripe when the results of this collaboration fuelled by masses of wine created such joys as the psychedelic wonder 'If Only Tonight We Could Sleep', the otherworldly 'Like Cockatoos' (a return to the territory of 'The Top'), or the single that should have been, 'How Beautiful You Are' - a song up there with such rococo Prince-joys as 'Raspberry Beret' & 'Starfish & Coffee' (1987 to me was one centred around double albums, 'Kiss Me...' and Prince's 'Sign'O'the Times', as well as the 'Substance 1987' compilation by New Order - perhaps this accounts for my eclectic taste?). Three of the four singles here were fantastic, 'Catch' as perfect a popsong as can be, 'Hot Hot Hot!!!' a blend of Chic & Talking Heads, & 'Just Like Heaven' a sequel to 'In Between Days' that nods to Rilkean angels and would be covered by Dinosaur Jr. and Katie Melua (...fortunately not at the same time!!!).

There are a few songs that suffer by having synths of the time, notably 'Fight' and 'Torture', which make you think of such average records from 1987 such as 'Midnight to Midnight' & 'Outland.' Smith & co still managed to emit classic dream pop songs, as well as the sublime 'Catch' there is the lovely 'The Perfect Girl', while the dreamy wonder of 'Disintegration' would be predicted by 'One More Time' and 'A Thousand Hours.' To cover all bases, Smith & co nod back to the darker, earlier work of The Cure - songs like 'The Kiss', the spiteful Tolhurst-gripe 'Shiver & Shake' and the epic dirge 'The Snakepit' could have been on 1982's bleak bilefest 'Pornography.'

This album signified The Cure meant business, several peers' recent releases (The Banshees' 'Tinderbox', The Furs' 'Midnight to Midnight', The Bunnymen's eponymous letdown, New Order's 'Brotherhood', The Mary Chain's 'Darklands', PIL's 'Happy?' & The Damned's 'Anything') paled against this, only The Smiths, who would shortly split up, seemed able to keep up. To be fair, New Order returned a year or so later with the best album of their career 'Technique', but not many could hold their own with this globally conquering version of The Cure. Next stop, 1989's bleak masterpiece 'Disintegration'!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews