Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, remastered & with Hey You returned to the tracklist!
I'm so glad they've finally put 'Hey You' back on the tracklist. This was inexplicably missing on the original cd but present on the vinyl and cassette versions of the album. This for me was the last, great Cure work of art and for me it's right up there with Faith and Pornography as my 3 favourite Cure albums. The opening track is just phenomenal. A really long...
Published on 18 July 2007 by Adamski

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much filler. Not a patch on other cure albums
Having become a bit of a cure fan around a year ago, I started buying their albums (in no specific order).
I started with disintegration,wish then head at the door. I then bought this album and I must say I was quite disapointed.
For me, it has far too much filler and mediocre tracks. Just like heaven is an amazing track and stands out from the rest of the...
Published 16 months ago by C. Macleod


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, remastered & with Hey You returned to the tracklist!, 18 July 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I'm so glad they've finally put 'Hey You' back on the tracklist. This was inexplicably missing on the original cd but present on the vinyl and cassette versions of the album. This for me was the last, great Cure work of art and for me it's right up there with Faith and Pornography as my 3 favourite Cure albums. The opening track is just phenomenal. A really long doom-laden guitar melody introduces Robert's most venomous vocals and lyrics to date. I absolutely love it, easily one of the best Cure tracks ever! This album is around 50% dark doomy Cure and the other half is more poppy but don't let that put you off because I think this album appeals more to the older 'true' Cure fans than those who like the newer poppier stuff post-Wish. Essential Cure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like audio heaven!, 15 Aug 2006
By 
R. John "greedoe" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By 1987 The Cure were in their stride, combining mainstream success with critic success, thanks mainly to the 36 minute "Head on The Door" album.

"Kiss Me (x3)", an 18 song extravaganza (well over an hour in length) is an amazing collection of dark and dour, but with those killer Cure hooks.

The singles were firm and bubbly ("Just Like Heaven" may just be the greatest Cure single of all time), but digging futher tracks like "Torture" and "One More Time" are just so excellent it makes the hairs on your body stand up.

The second disc is full of the compulsory demos and "live bootleg" tracks cuz most of the other material has found it's way out on various boxsets over the years. It's still amazing to hear the germination of the final product though.

This album is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic Masterpiece, 22 Feb 2005
By 
Chris Halfhide (Hertford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
It can be hard to tell what the main theme is to this album. Love or death. On a lighter note, Robert Smith provides us with some superb, pop rock songs like "Just Like Heaven" and provides us with catchy dance beats to songs like "Hot Hot Hot!!!" displaying muscial genius along the way. On a darker side, Smith portrays the darker side of love with epic and truelly gothic tracks like "the kiss" and "the snakepit". The album plays out like a balanced argument displaying the joy and happiness of love and the pain and torture of rejection when i can not be found. This album is fantastic to buy because it suits two main moods; happiness and depresion. The only downside to the album is perhaps the quality of Robert Smith's vocals on certain songs where he is clearly lacking the quality heard in 1985's "The Head On The Door". Nevertheless, this album is perfect for anyone into pop/alternative rock or someone who wants to see what The Cure have to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From gloom to bliss to gloom again, 9 Nov 2000
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
This cure album is probably the best, at showing that the cure can write songs that range from the warmth and happiness of "just like heaven, to the darkness and despair of "All I Want". This proves that the Cure, unlike what most square headed "goths" think of them, offer a large pallete of sounds and feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you telling me you don't already own this ?, 2 July 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
This album caused quite a stir within the music media when it was released (1987). Just two years earlier The Cure had finally broken through as a major commercial act, following six years of trying their best not to, and the prospect of a double album (as was the form it's original vinyl release took) from these unexpected megastars got more than a few people quite excited.
All their expectations were fulfilled, the album containing 4 bona fide hit singles and 13 other classics, many of which could have been suitable choices for singles.
The album kicks off with The Kiss, a heavy wah-wah driven track - the full 6:17 of wild guitar (with few repeating phrases) being performed in one take by vocalist Robert Smith rather than guitarist Porl Thompson, which surprised many given Porl's reputation as the "solo" guitarist out of what was a 2-guitar line up (Smith and Thompson). After this, we move into Catch, a mediterranean style piece of pop which is acknowledged by most Cure fans as being one of their greatest singles.
The opening two tracks set the pace for the rest of the album really. The 17 songs pretty much go from rock/sort-of psychedelic to pop back to rock/sort-of psychedelic back to pop, and so on throughout the album.
This is a concept that the band employed years later for Wild Mood Swings (1996), however on that particular album it doesn't really work simply because most of the songs just aren't strong enough to carry it off.
On Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me it works brilliantly though.
Like I said, most of the songs could have been singles, and of the songs that couldn't (i.e. the rockier or sort-of psychedelic stuff) are all absolute classics as well, so there aren't any problems with mixing and matching styles. I think the main reason it works so well is because it was unexpected that they would do this, whereas with Wild Mood Swings they made quite a contrite effort to actively do the same thing, even suggesting in interviews that this was their goal.
A quick run through of the songs reveals rocky stuff such as The Kiss, Torture, All I Want, Shiver And Shake and Fight (heavily inspired by Led Zeppelin's Kashmir - blame Porl Thompson who went on to play with Page and Plant !!), the pure guitar pop of Catch, Why Can't I Be You, How Beautiful You Are, Just Like Heaven, Hot Hot Hot, The Perfect Girl, and psychedelic trancey stuff like One More Time, A Thousand Hours, The Snakepit, and the middle-eastern flavoured If Only Tonight We Could Sleep (very Kula Shaker - except about 10 years before they did it!!)
This is the album where Smith's lyrics really started to become extremely sharp and polished, and his lyrics have been some of the best in the world from this point onwards (although he sings way too much about relationships for my tastes - his subject matter is ocassionally a bit limited). His voice really started to take on a maturity in that his singing here is the best it had ever been up to this point, although he still manages to put on the weirdest interpretation of a soul singer on Hot Hot Hot (don't worry, it actually works - it's not as bad as it sounds, in fact it's quite good !)
This is an absolute classic album and at 17 songs in length (72 minutes running time) is a great value purchase that any self-respecting guitar music fan (of the indie/alternative variety of course) must have in his or her collection.
I cannot recommend this album any higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Classic!, 8 Dec 2007
By 
G. E. Marthews (Nanjing, China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the pop of 'Why Can't I Be You' to the romantic 'Catch', through the dramatic 'Fight' this is the ultimate Cure album. There is not a bad track here, and shows the breadth of their talent. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure's double-album from 1987., 7 Feb 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
I have a thing about double-albums, perhaps it's the fact they're good value (not necessarily good) or the band gets to cut loose in an experimental fashion. 1987 was a bumper year for double-albums- Kiss Me... sat well next to Prince's Sign'O'The Times & Husker Du's Warehouse (Songs & Stories). Recorded in France, this was the most 'band'-created Cure album- various members co-writing the music. It takes in most sounds of The Cure- most notably the deranged pop they had been making since 1982's Let's Go to Bed & the bleak-guitar heavy work of Pornography.
The Kiss is a brilliant opening track, a guitar overload that advances on earlier tracks like Shake Dog Shake & The Figurhead- other tracks are similar to this: the claustrophobic Snakepit (a more abstract Pornography) & the anti-Tolhurst diatribe of Shiver & Shake- a more tuneful take on 1984's Give Me It.
There are wild experiments, with a hint of world music on such songs as If Only Tonight We Could Sleep & Like Cockatoos; though much is the classic alternative sound- songs like Torture, All I Want (A Night Like This II?)& Fight cut from the same cloth as Psychedlic Furs' Midnight to Midnight album. But it's the pop songs that really stand out- Catch is one of Smith's most gorgeous moments, as songs like How Beautiful You Are, Just Like Heaven (In Between Days II, covered by Dinosaur Jr), The Perfect Girl & A 1000 Hours are wonderful.
There are a few duds- Hey You is dropped from this edition (fine- it's a screaming b-side & not as good as other b's of this era- such as A Japanese Dream (played on The Kissing Tour) & Snow in Summer). Why Can't I Be You? is a rewrite of The Lovecats which sounds really cheesy away from the hilarious 5 Star pastiche video, Icing Sugar is another dud- just a bit of a non-event. Still, I'm just being picky...
Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me is a great example of the invention of Robert Smith & Co- perhaps it's a schizophrenic affair, then again that's probably what I like about it. This single disc collection is great value- though I think the album isn't quite in the same territory as albums such as Pornography, Disintegration & Wish- the latter being a refined relative of this. Compare also to 96's career-low Wild Mood Swings, that attempts to recapture the varied sound here- & fails.
A classic 80s album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doomed Romantics, 26 July 2014
By 
Stotzy (North East England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
When you think of 80's music you inevitably think of Duran Duran, New Romantics, Madonna, Micheal Jackson, Power Ballads, synthesisers & - God help us! - Stock, Aitken & Waterman! But this is an incomplete overview of the decade, for there were also groups like The Teardrop Explodes, Echo & The Bunnymen, The Smiths, Prefab Sprout, XTC & The Cure...

This, their follow-up to 1985's 'The Head On The Door', sees them expand their sound & lyrical content. There are songs of doomy romanticism such as, 'If Only Tonight We Could Sleep' & 'A Thousand Hours' & pure venom, such as the album opener 'The Kiss!' Many of the songjs have long intro's before Robert Smith croons, a technique perfected on their masterpiece, 'Disintegration', 2 years later. There is also remarkably little filler for a double album. So, if your view of 80's music is much as I described earlier, then buy this album & think again!..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like Heaven for fans of The Cure, 15 Jan 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (Audio CD)
Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me is one of my favorite Cure albums. It’s packed with great music and has a discernible atmosphere that distinguishes it from most other alternative music. The Cure was a big part of my teenaged years, and this music sounds as good today as it did back then. Just Like Heaven and Hot Hot Hot!!! are the two tracks most likely to be familiar to the uninitiated, the first song catching the group at one of their more mainstream (yet unique) moments and the latter proving that The Cure could appeal to a wider audience while remaining perfectly and distinctively themselves. My nod for best song on the album, though, would go to Why Can’t I Be You? which is actually quite upbeat and danceable (if you’re so inclined). This song is one of several that deliver a virtual cacophony of sound, including prominent horns against the familiar background sounds of the band. Catch, How Beautiful You Are, and The Perfect Girl have an infectious, ditty-like quality to them, breaking the music free from the clinging maudlin environment one expects to find front man Robert Smith in much of the time. Of course, melancholia exists among these tracks as well. If Only Tonight We Could Sleep is a slow, sentimental song which sounds wonderful until you get to One More Time, which outdoes it in poignancy. And then you get to A Thousand Hours; if ever a Cure song could be called beautiful, this is the one. Robert Smith says more in a few words than most singers do over the course of an entire album. When Smith sings “For how much longer can I howl into this wind, for how much longer can I cry like this?” I find myself quite moved every time; the vocals are raw and impassioned and seem to incorporate so much anxiety and angst into them that the overall effect is incredible. I don’t want you to think that the guys went soft on this album, though: Torture is a release of pent-up feelings, Shiver and Shake tells it like it is, and the final track Fight energizes each past, former, or future Cure addict to be who you are and who you want to be regardless of what others may think of you.
You may actually want to look for the tape rather than the CD of this particular album. While the CD is quite long, extending well over an hour, the tape contains one track not included on the CD: Hey You. It’s actually one of my favorite songs on the album, full of bounce and inspiration, even though it isn’t very long in duration. There is really more variety to be found on this album than on most other Cure releases, and I think this is the best selection with which to introduce today’s generation to the music we thirtysomethings indulged in during our youth. I would still have to name Disintegration as the group’s best album, but I really believe Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me is their most appealing offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds good after all these years, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me (MP3 Download)
It's been 24 years since I last listened to this under-rated Cure album. I bought it on impulse expecting it to sound rather dated by modern standards. True, the production is definitely 80's, but the arrangements and funky guitar effects still sound fresh and original and Bob Smith's howling vocal still sounds tongue-in-cheek. It doesn't quite hit the heights of 17 Seconds, Faith, Pornography, or Disintegration, but is still a cut above its contemporaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews