Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rush - Fly By Night
This is an often overlooked classic by the great Canadian Trio.
Neal Peart made his Rush debut on this album, and the differences were immediately apparent: more intricate drums, more percussion, more thoughtful lyrics. After the 100% full-on rock of their eponymous first album, some of the mellower moments on this one must have caused quite a stir when it was first...
Published on 17 Sep 2004 by Bassthang

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan but thought I would try it
First play and the singer reminds me of the singer in Budgie - suspect it will grow on me in due course.
Published 5 months ago by Moiras Husband


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rush - Fly By Night, 17 Sep 2004
By 
Bassthang (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
This is an often overlooked classic by the great Canadian Trio.
Neal Peart made his Rush debut on this album, and the differences were immediately apparent: more intricate drums, more percussion, more thoughtful lyrics. After the 100% full-on rock of their eponymous first album, some of the mellower moments on this one must have caused quite a stir when it was first released. However, "Anthem" kicks off in time-honoured style - a superb rock track. The next two songs are also fairly straightforward heavy fare.
Then we get "By-Tor and the Snow Dog" (surely the silliest title in Rock?) - not just a brilliant vehicle for a guitar vs. bass duel, but possessing an atmospheric middle section ("Across the River Styx"). Thankfully, the guys have recently brought most of this track back into their live set (check out the great cartoon on the Rio DVD). "Rivendell" is about as mellow as they come. I first listened to this in my teens whilst reading Tolkien's LOTR and Silmarillion for the 1st time, and this spacious music (and indeed much of Rush's earlier music) fits in with my imagination of Middle-Earth much more than the pseudo-celtic claptrap that they used on the recent LOTR films.
Closer "In the end" has one of those deceptively simple great guitar riffs that you've just *got* to learn to play.
And if none of the above impresses you - just buy it for the gorgeous cover art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush at their classic finest, 3 Oct 2000
By 
Mr. Barry J. Cooper (Herefordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
Having owned the vinyl version for as long as i can remember, i was keen to get the remastered CD edition. Kicking-off with the rocking "Anthem" the album rarely looks back. If you've never heard classic ruch then this is a pure pre-synth treat of Canada's finest trio. Highlights (for me at least) always remain: "Beneath,Between, Behind", and the excellent "In the End" The turntable will never get a look in for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly By Night (Remastered 1997 version) (MP3 Download)
1 of Rush's earlier albums. Fantastic listening. Rush have to be the best ever rock trio I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Rush at thier rocking best., 4 Jan 2011
By 
Kieran Smith (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
This is the start of the Rush we all know and love. The first album to feature drummer Neil Peart. The album is just a great old heavey rock album, with some great lyrics, again thanks to the arrival of Peart. The title track Fly By Night is an absoulte classic. There is not a bad track on this album. Everything about the album down the the artwork is pure perfection. This is by far the best pre 2112 Rush album out there. A must have for any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Rush Genius, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Rob Walker (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
If you're already a Rush fan you don't need to read this, it's a fine example of the early and best Rush, maybe not up there with the likes of 2112, hemispheres and permanent waves but still a fine album full of classic Rush eccentricities, flare, superb musicianship and of course the unusual lyrics!
If you are new to Rush, then welcome to the start of what should be a revelation for you. There is no band like Rush and they are indeed an aquired taste, but if you dare to be different they can be an absolute joy to listen to, whether you get mesmerised by the insane drumming by the one of the worlds best, Neil Peart, or get lost in the complex guitar of Alex lifeson and Geddy Lee's unbelievable bass - it's simply a musical delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fly By Night's Still Doin' All Right, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
Possibly my favourite Rush studio disc from the 70's,an album that i love as much today as i did back then.With Neil Peart on drums and lyrics the band moved up a gear,dungeons and dragons ,sword and sorcery would become the norm while expanding the Zeppelin/Sabbath like riffs.

From the opening 'Anthem' followed by 'Best I Can' the band have hit a groove which just rocks hard and brings a smile.The highlight of the disc ,of course, is the epic 'By Tor And The Snow Dog(fantastic title) a superb track which contains a wonderful bass/guitar battle sequence which confirms the talent of the musicians involved whilst everything held tight by the out of this world drumming of Peart.

Interestingly the other tracks 'Fly By Night','Beneath Behind Between' and 'Makin Memories are all quite commercial,rock n roll rather than heavy metal.
Sadly time hasnt been kind to 'Rivendell',hated it then,hate it now,that leaves the other highlight 'In The End' a fantastic ending to the album a simple but blues based rocker,which really ought to be reinstated in concert.

A stunning album(remember it was only their second) which deserves to be re evaluated,as good now as it was then,excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance, 26 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
This is the album that for me set the direction that Rush were going to take. Although they have veered to many sides of this format, this is classic Rush. Every track is 10 out of 10 and it is so inspiring to hear what 3 great musicians can do without all the Techno and IT that was to come later......
I always had this album on vinyl, but after 35 years just had to get a CD copy for playing in the car and indeed anywhere else... No doubts, an excellent purchase that I never grow tired of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where it really all started, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
This is where it really all started for Rush, one of the best bands to come out of the '70's. Yes, they already had one album under their belts, but that was a straight forward hard rock album, albeit a very good one. Here with a change of personnel was also a slight change indirection. John Rutsey, the original drummer left and was replaced by the professor, the great Neil Peart, one of the greatest drummers to ever beat the skins of a drum kit. Not only was Peart a far more accomplished drummer, bringing in more complex time signatures, he also brought with him his lyrical ideas. Whether or not you agree with all those ideas, especially those influenced by the right wing author Ayn Rand, they certainly added more depth to the song writing.

The album starts out with one of their classic rockers, Anthem, the first song to reference Rand (It was the title of one of her novella's and the story that influenced Peart when writing 2112). Whatever its influences this is a wonderful statement of intent to start the album, yes the introduction and chorus rock out but the verses take a slightly gentler course. The next two songs Best I Can and Beneath Between And Behind carry on in the harder edged end of the Rush universe. Side 1 (Yes I am that old) signs off with By Tor And The Snow Dog, the first of their forays into extended songs telling fantastical stories, something which they continued to so over the following four albums. Although not my favourite of their extended story telling (That award goes to Xanadu) this is still a wonderful example of prog rock. A tale of good versus evil as Snow Dog battles to save us all from the evil of Prince By Tor. Okay so it may not be songwriting that looks deeply into the human condition but these were twenty year old blokes, how many of us in our early twenties were capable of looking into the human condition (Bono, Bob Dylan put your hands down).

Side 2 has more of the gentler side of Rush, the title track and Making Memories gentle rockers looking at life on the road and then Rivendell, a soothing acoustic number whose lyrics certainly earn the description 'Tolkienesque'. And finally a return to their rock roots with In The End, although you would be forgiven for thinking it's more of their acoustic leanings as the introduction starts out with a lonely acoustic guitar and Geddys voice until everything else plugs in and we're back in rock territory.

So there we have it, Rush's first great album, there were bigger triumphs to come but this was one hell of a statement of intent from a band that would go from strength to strength over the next seven years. It's funny over that period many so called 'serious' music journalists loved to poke fun at Rush and their fans. The band though have seen them all off and these days they are falling over themselves to heap praise on them. You see we were right all along, the geeks have won. Take a listen to this album and see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent heavy workout, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
Rush, with Neil Peart recruited on the drumstool, really start to hit their stride on this 1975 release. The Led Zeppelin influences are very much on display, but, you can already hear the future direction towards progressive rock. The opening salvo of 'Anthem', 'Best I Can' and 'Beneath, Between and Behind' sets the pace before 'By-Tor And The Snow Dog' gives Alex Lifeson the opportunity to show his virtuoso guitar skills. Geddy Lee's supreme bass playing and high-octane vocals are excellent throughout. The lovely 'Rivendell' demonstrates that Rush can do subtlety just as well as power whilst the stately 'In the End' rounds things off very nicely. This is an album well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rush, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly By Night (Audio CD)
Enjoyed the classic Rush music especially the title track Fly By Night,Anthem & Rivendell (timely given the second Hobbit movie is due out soon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac2be4e0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews