Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voice of an Angel
There is simply no other word to describe Alison Krauss, her voice is unqiue and undoubtably one of the most beautiful you could ever wish to hear. This CD includes 11 brilliant tracks to suit any die hard blue grass fan. Track 3 'It wouldn't have made an difference', and Track 7' Ghost in this House' are undeniably the two most awesome recordings on this CD, Alison...
Published on 9 Oct 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The same cliché... not the same music quality
First of all a mention for Round Records, I'm not that expert but maybe
their recordings are among the best available on the market.
For sure Alison Krauss walks always on the same style thread, the fantastic
mix of voice and instrument is the same in all the Cds I heard.
This time I fear it is a bit weak but I ask her not to change the...
Published on 16 July 2011 by Lucazest


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voice of an Angel, 9 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
There is simply no other word to describe Alison Krauss, her voice is unqiue and undoubtably one of the most beautiful you could ever wish to hear. This CD includes 11 brilliant tracks to suit any die hard blue grass fan. Track 3 'It wouldn't have made an difference', and Track 7' Ghost in this House' are undeniably the two most awesome recordings on this CD, Alison sings in a way which will sweep the listerner along, and the best way to listen to any Alison Krauss CD is to sit back, close your eyes and just listen, the listener will never find anything close to this kind of perfection no matter how hard they try. The final track 'Dreaming my dreams with you', sung with backup by Doll Parton, a country queen herself, this track is a superb ending to a superb CD and will leave the listener wanting more. All in all 'Forget about It', holds 11 amazing tracks, each one as good as the next, it simply just gets better, if your thinking of buying a CD, make it this one, the listener will not be dissapointed in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POIGNANT AND MASTERFUL..., 30 Dec 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
You know when you read or hear those reviews that go on and on about how wonderful this is or how amazing that is ?
Well, this album by Alison Krauss IS one of the most beautifully sung and played albums EVER and does warrant a glowing, wordy review !
Her voice is second to none and her playing (fiddle) is every bit as soulful and heartwrenching as her singing...and that's saying a MOUTHFUL !
BUT...I won't go on. You should be listening to this album. Buy it NOW !
WARNING: If you have recently (or ever) gone thru a sorrowful breakup with someone, this album will either help heal your soul or drive you out onto the ledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contemporary country from Alison, 6 Jun 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Alison made her reputation as a bluegrass singer and musician but this album, excellent as it is, doesn't contain any bluegrass music. Instead, Alison (who also produced the album) has gone for a contemporary country sound, albeit one that includes mandolin and dobro among the instruments used. Some of Alison's albums are credited to Alison Krauss and Union Station. This is billed as a solo album, yet all the members of Union Station (Barry Bales, Ron Block, Jerry Douglas and Dan Tyminski) feature heavily in the musician credits.
As we've come to expect from Alison, the album is dominated by ballads that suit her voice ideally - if you want up-tempo songs, forget about Alison Krauss. Among the songs, Michael McDonald wrote or co-wrote three (Empty hearts, It don't matter now, That kind of love) while Todd Rundgren wrote It wouldn't have made any difference. Country music fans may recognize Dreaming my dreams with you (recorded in the seventies first by Crystal Gayle, then by Waylon Jennings) and Ghost in this house (one of Shenandoah's big hits of the late eighties). These two country oldies are my favorite tracks here. Alison performs them as well as the other versions I've mentioned. Dolly Parton and Lyle Lovett provide harmony vocals on Dreaming my dreams with you.
While I generally prefer Alison's early music, this album provides proof that Alison can match the best contemporary country singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy-listening with highlights, 2 Dec 1999
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
This is my first Alison Krauss album - bought entirely on spec at that - and proving to be well worth the gamble. Easy listening throughout, Alison's soft voice blends well with the country influenced melodies and rythms. The opening three tracks kick the album off to a good start and those old enough or ecclectic enough in tatste to recall Todd Rundgren's original of 'It wouldn't have made any difference' won't be disappointed with this cover version. High spots of the second half are the haunting (no pun intended) track 7 'Ghost in this house' and final track 'Dreaming my dreams with you'. Some thought - provoking lyrics, interesting instrumentation and melodies. Time to investigate Ms Krauss' back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Totally unexpected, 29 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Now,I'm not American, and hadn't heard of Alison Krauss beforethe track "It Dosn't matter" appeard on the Buffy TheVampire Slayer soundtrack (which is fantastic) Finding this CD at an English libary was a suprise as 1. Our libary never stocks music made before 1990! and 2. This album is unavailable in the UK. odd. Maybe somebody from the libary bought it and realised just how great it is , and made it available to everyone... dunno. But im sure as hell glad they did. This album is fantastic, track 3. a cover of It Wouldn't Of Made Any Differnece, is fantastic (my dad has the original-Yuk!) and then the other highlight track 7. Ghost in this House, is great, Krauss' voice really takes off. and the rest of the album continues to be fantastic, ending sweetly with another cover Dreaming My Dreams With You" upon borrowing this from the libary, i immediatly imported this album as it really is worth any money you pay for it. Krauss' voice is outstanding, and this is a perfect album, for anyone with any taste of music, the words, music and vocals are simply perfect, there is now, only one thing left to do. Buy it, plain and simple. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest album of all time, 3 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Well, what can i say? I first heard Alison's beautiful vocals on the track 'sitting in the window of my room' on the ya ya sisterhood DVD. After that i just had to get a copy of at least one of her albums. And i think i made a great choice choosing 'Forget About it.' Although i would rate her back catalogue as one of the best around, nothing compares to the sometimes sombre and blue, other times quietly ecstatic 2001 release. Never before (apart for in Brandy's 'Full Moon' album) had i heard an album with not one bad track. Alison surprises me by staying constant throughout, whereas many artists seem to start off with a couple of good tracks, a few fillers in the middle and then one or two decent tracks at the end of an album. First we have the gorgeous 'stay' which gives a good example of what is to come. Emotionally felt vocals spring through, reminiscent to Alison's collabaration with Union station on the track 'everytime you say goodbye' although a little slower. Next is the title track 'forget about it' which features an unmatched chorus and very clever wording and harmonies. Next is the single 'it wouldn't have made any diference' which although not as good as other songs on the album, still manages to evoke emotion with its beautifully sang storytelling.
The album is a truly heart felt masterpiece with 11 fabulously crafted blue grass/country/mainstream pop mixes which i doubt any other artist could top. Tracks to look out for as modern classics include 'maybe, ghost in this house, it don't matter now, could you lie' and my personal favourite 'Dreaming my dreams with you.' Featuring absolutely flawless backing vocals from the amazing Dolly Parton ( i also recommend her 'Halos and Horns' album) and musical perfection from Alison's legendary group, i doubt you'll find anything better. Even if country isn't your thing, this is for anyone who's ever suffered. Trust me, it brightened my day. Please buy this album. Alison Krauss deserves to be recognised worldwide. Although to be honest the album is even more special to me seeing as it's virtually unknown in the UK and it almost feels like a personal message to me from Alison herself. If you want that feeling, buy this album. Music couldn't get much better. (i'm only a teenager and i liked it, so i think you will too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Amazing album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gosh, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Forget About It [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I should hate Alison Krauss, her voice is a little to twee for my normal liking but this really is a great mellow record, what makes it so is that the song choices are top draw and delivered with real deep seated conviction & sincerity that totally wins out. Converted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Great music and superb vocals and lyrics. Her music can tug on the emotions or lift your mood depending on your outlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely music, as always, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Lovely music, what ells to say? You know what you are buying when are you buying her album - good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forget About It
Forget About It by Alison Krauss
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews