Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its time
This was the Mael brothers first foray into the UK/Europe back in 1974. After completing 2 weird and wonderful American albums they set up in London, advertised for a band and produced a number of well received albums and singles, beginning with this rockin' gem. The 2 British top 10 singles: "This Town...." and "Amateur Hour" are first up and then...
Published on 14 Sep 2000

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia time
First 2 tracks are classics, but most of the rest is pretty weak.It as still a good nostalgia trip for us oldies.
Published 17 months ago by Glenn Fox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its time, 14 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
This was the Mael brothers first foray into the UK/Europe back in 1974. After completing 2 weird and wonderful American albums they set up in London, advertised for a band and produced a number of well received albums and singles, beginning with this rockin' gem. The 2 British top 10 singles: "This Town...." and "Amateur Hour" are first up and then things begin to get interesting. The album is tight, Dinky's drumming rock hard, Adrian's guitar playing superb and Martin's bass loud and exciting. Standout tracks include "Hasta Manana Monsieur"; "Up Here In Heaven" and "Thank God its not Christmas". Sparks could never perform this good live, but if you want a slice of '74 then buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rest in peace Rosemary Clooney, 3 July 2002
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
This is an extraordinary album and this review is dedicated to the singer and actress, recently deceased, who inspired the title with her 1953 hit "come-on-a-my house". The Maels' addition of a Japanese connection is symptomatic of the weirdness of the whole concept. Bjork has said of this (one of her favourite records) that Russell Mael sounds here like a demented geisha girl: now we know where she got her cue-cards. Scalpel- sharp wit and style are watchwords, even from the Cabaret spotlit photo of the Maels evoking Berlin of the 20s (the iconic moustache and mad glare in all its sinister glory) on one side and two screaming Nippon tea-ladies on the other. And that's just the cover..... The disc begins with that gradually nearing,icy keyboard riff which still has the power to send shivers up the spine. Nobody at the time could have guessed what was to follow... that androgynous voice - is it boy or girl?.... what is that strange language?...is it major or minor?....what's the metre?.....thirty seconds of some of the most riveting displacement of pop music you are ever likely to hear. " This Town Ain't Big Enough " remains Sparks' greatest achievement and on this album the ride rollercoasters through cheerleader hysteria ("Amateur Hour") chic gigolo cynicism ("Falling in Love With Myself Again") and lovers' angst ("Thank God It's not Christmas", "Hasta Manana Monsieur", and the fabulous "Equator"). These are the best tracks and this is an essential part of your pop equipment. A masterpiece - and I mean that most sincerely, folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The number one album in heaven?, 13 May 2005
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
Sparks' 'Kimono My House' ranks as one of the greatest albums of all time- despite the fact Sparks have created a wealth of excellent records, this is one that stands out. It's a record that has been cited as an influence, or just is an influence, by/of such acts as Morrissey, Depeche Mode, Siouxsie & the Banshees, New Order, Faith No More, Franz Ferdinand, Associates, The Darkness (and so on...)It's also one of the great long-players of the glam-era, taking its place alongside such classics as Bowie's 'Ziggy Stardust', T-Rex's 'Electric Warrior', Roxy Music's 'For Your Pleasure', Todd Rundgren's 'Something/Anything' & Lou Reed's 'Transformer.'
Recorded in the UK, where the Mael-brothers were joined by Dinky Diamond (Drums), Martin Gordon (Bass) & Adrian Fisher (Guitar) - Sparks' had a suitably rock-band sound for their Mael-pop. That line-up have played this album alongside the recent 'Lil' Beethoven' at Morrissey's Meltdown festival and beyond (there is a DVD) Whoever said this album was rubbish & nothing more than 'This Town...' is clearly talking out of their posterior. 'Kimono My House' is loaded with pop-classics, even bonus-track 'Lost and Found' (a dead ringer for Suede, like Ultravox!'s 'Life at Rainbow's End') is a classic!
Highlights on an album populated by highlights include 'Amateur Hour', the caustic 'Talent Is An Asset', the prog-ish 'Equator' & the fantastic ode to narcissism 'Falling in Love with Myself Again.' & these are probably not the uber-highlights, which include the caustic gripe 'Thank God It's Not Christmas' - which with 'Here in Heaven' (Juliet bottles out of the suicide pact) makes clear the reason why Morrissey adores them. The humour is fantastic, and possibly the reason why people don't take this album as seriously as they should- classic-lines include "It's a lot like playing the violin/You cannot start off and be Yehudi Menuhin" ('Amateur Hour') & "You mentioned Kant and I was shocked/You know where I come from none of the girls have such foul tongues" ('Hasta Manana, Monsieur'- up there with Monty Python's playful Philosophy Song!).
The two ultra-uber highlights have to be the most well known track 'This Town...', which is a glampoprockrush which nods sinisterly to war ("You are a Khaki-coloured bombadier- it's Hiroshima that you're nearing...the bullets cannot cut you down")& have the euphoric repetition, "Heartbeat/Increasing heartbeat." & my personal favourite 'Hasta Manana, Monsieur' - which manages to allude to 'Strawberry Fields Forever' intelligently (note to Oasis' 'Go Let It Out') and sounds wonderful with such odd lines such as the refrain, "Kimono My House, Mon Amour/I am sure that this motion don't need no accompanying words/Guess I was wrong because you've fled/Leaving me with my Michelin Guide and a half-empty foreign bed." It's kind of amusing and melancholic, a happy-sad-odd pop-rush that makes me wonder if they're the Kurt Vonnegut of pop-music?
'Kimono My House' is quite reasonably the number one album in heaven - though follow-up 'Propaganda' is as great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect reissue of classic album, 21 Oct 2006
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
Sparks' 'Kimono My House' ranks as one of the greatest albums of all time- despite the fact Sparks have created a wealth of excellent records, this is one that stands out. It's a record that has been cited as an influence, or just is an influence, by/of such acts as Morrissey, Depeche Mode, Siouxsie & the Banshees, New Order, Faith No More, Franz Ferdinand, Associates, The Darkness (and so on...)It's also one of the great long-players of the glam-era, taking its place alongside such classics as Bowie's 'Ziggy Stardust', T-Rex's 'Electric Warrior', Roxy Music's 'For Your Pleasure', Todd Rundgren's 'Something/Anything' & Lou Reed's 'Transformer.'

Recorded in the UK, where the Mael-brothers were joined by Dinky Diamond (Drums), Martin Gordon (Bass) & Adrian Fisher (Guitar) - Sparks' had a suitably rock-band sound for their Mael-pop. Whoever said this album was rubbish & nothing more than 'This Town...' is clearly talking out of their posterior. 'Kimono My House' is loaded with pop-classics, even bonus-track 'Lost and Found' (a dead ringer for Suede, like Ultravox!'s 'Life at Rainbow's End') is a classic!

Highlights on an album populated by highlights include 'Amateur Hour', the caustic 'Talent Is An Asset', the prog-ish 'Equator' & the fantastic ode to narcissism 'Falling in Love with Myself Again.' & these are probably not the uber-highlights, which include the caustic gripe 'Thank God It's Not Christmas' - which with 'Here in Heaven' (Juliet bottles out of the suicide pact) makes clear the reason why Morrissey adores them. The humour is fantastic, and possibly the reason why people don't take this album as seriously as they should- classic-lines include "It's a lot like playing the violin/You cannot start off and be Yehudi Menuhin" ('Amateur Hour') & "You mentioned Kant and I was shocked/You know where I come from none of the girls have such foul tongues" ('Hasta Manana, Monsieur'- up there with Monty Python's playful Philosophy Song!).

The two ultra-uber highlights have to be the most well known track 'This Town...', which is a glampoprockrush which nods sinisterly to war ("You are a Khaki-coloured bombadier- it's Hiroshima that you're nearing...the bullets cannot cut you down")& have the euphoric repetition, "Heartbeat/Increasing heartbeat." & my personal favourite 'Hasta Manana, Monsieur' - which manages to allude to 'Strawberry Fields Forever' intelligently (note to Oasis' 'Go Let It Out') and sounds wonderful with such odd lines such as the refrain, "Kimono My House, Mon Amour/I am sure that this motion don't need no accompanying words/Guess I was wrong because you've fled/Leaving me with my Michelin Guide and a half-empty foreign bed." It's kind of amusing and melancholic, a happy-sad-odd pop-rush that makes me wonder if they're the Kurt Vonnegut of pop-music?

'Kimono My House' is quite reasonably the number one album in heaven (though a later Sparks album from 1979 might count too?) - though follow-up 'Propaganda' is as great too! As are the latest two Sparks albums...this is the best version released, coming remastered with great sleevenotes and pics and at a budget price...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poptastic!, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
..a label I’m sure Smashie and Nicey would readily apply to this classic 1974 album by the unclassifiable LA 'rockers’ Sparks. Of course, listening again to this collection of great hooks and catchy choruses (all overlaid with the band’s unmistakeable, and infectious, eccentricity) one of the few things that is not surprising about Russell and Ron Mael’s troupe is that they decided to decamp from early 1970s LA 'hippiedom’ to take advantage of the burgeoning (post-Kinks, Move, etc, and now Bowie, Bolan, Ferry-inspired) 'scene’ in their adopted UK home. That said, although the sound on Kimono My House has undeniable glam-rock traits, Ron Mael’s songs always pushed the boundaries of more simplistic verse-chorus structures and the level of ironic wit and inventiveness in the man’s lyrics had not be seen since Ray Davies and would not be equalled again until Mozza (a big fan of the band, of course) hit the scene a decade later.

Kicking off, Russell’s falsetto opening to that most bizarre, pulsating and infectious of all romantic ditties (OK Corral gunshots and all), This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both Of Us, provides one of the most invigorating album openings anywhere. Thereafter, Ron takes us on a magical tour of intoxicating pop composition via Amateur hour’s tale of burgeoning adolescent romance, the alternative 'theory of relativity’ encapsulated in Talent Is An Asset, the 'down-to-earth’ homeliness of In My Family and the irresistible tale of language barriers in Hasta Manana Monsieur (just about as close as you can get to 'pop perfection’, in my book). Elsewhere, things do get rather ‘grander’ (Rocky Horror Show-like, I would say) in the suicidal Here In Heaven (Russell sounding truly 'Furter-esque’ here), the 'Morrissey song that isn’t’ Falling In Love With Myself Again, the epic take on marital problems at Christmas (with Russell doing his German cabaret accent) on Thank God It’s Not Christmas, the relatively insubstantial tale of 'shop returns’ in Complaints and the nicely ironic tale of 'date stand-up’ in album closer Equator. Throughout, producer Muff Winwood achieves an impressive blend of studio polish and live exuberance, whilst at the same time I still seem to be able to detect some degree of influence on the band’s sound from earlier band producer Todd Rundgren (A Wizard, A True Star era).

Bonus tracks on the 2006 re-release are b-sides, the relatively middling Barbecutie and the rather more engaging tale of good fortune in Lost And Found, plus an invigorating live version (from 1975 at the Croydon Fairfield Halls) of Amateur Hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kimono me in New Zealand!, 30 Jun 2010
By 
B. Stuart "NEW ZEALAND MUSIC FAN" (Dunedin, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
Having read the review in 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die, I thought WHY NOT GIVE IT A GO!!!

I must have for anyone considering adding quirky glam rock to their cd collection.

Fits in nicely alongside Roxy Music, Eno and The Darkness!

A very interesting and bizarre album that one never seems to get enough of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars memories, 1 July 2009
By 
B. G. Cullen (lancs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
bought the original lp many,many years ago.The quirkiness of the duo has not lessened over the years. A nostalgic buy, but what the hell!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 18 Dec 2006
By 
C. Brown "sloan7046" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
It's always the sign of a stone cold classic album when you can't place the year it was made in. Despite recording it in 1974, square in the middle of the glam fad, this could be released any time in the past 32 years and it would still be considered a work of genius. Obviously the Roman Candle of the record is 'This Town Isn't Big Enough...' but it's just soaked in great tunes, brimming with hooks and almost intimidatingly intellectual lyrical wit. Particularly love 'Thank God It's Not Christmas' and 'Here In Heaven'. I actually put off buying this for years, purely because I was so familiar with The Hit, but having listened to it solidly for the past two days, I can assure any coy shoppers that it's one unalloyed pleasure - even the extra tracks are brilliant, particularly 'Barbecutie'. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous nolstalgia., 2 Nov 2010
By 
Ms. Carol A. Mills-field (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
My husband and I played the vinyl version of this brilliant album until we nearly wore it out. Years later, it is an absolute pleasure to play it again on cd and we can't figure out why we did'nt purchase it years ago. Sparks are unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kimono My House (Audio CD)
Fab thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kimono My House
Kimono My House by Sparks
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews