Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up to a brilliant debut
Alter Bridge caught my attention after I heard about Creed's split, a band who I had never really valued, but recognised that there was a lot of potential in the sound they were making.

Alter Bridge's first album was a perfectly crafted, pure rock n roll gem, and this follow-up delivers more of the same soaring vocals, chugging riffs and widdly guitar work that...
Published on 20 April 2008 by Master J. M. Heyes

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars new or used ?
Usually when I buy new I expect packaging to show it's been sealed and not used. This came with none of this. This was for a gift
Published 1 day ago by Victoria T.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of 2007, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Loads of other reviews, many by people with more knowledge of this band than I, so suffice to say this album is a GOOD old fashioned (in the best sense of the phrase) rock and roll album, brilliantly played and sung. If you like Maiden, classic Dio, Sabbath, Deep Purple, Machine Head, Megadeth...need I go on? you'll LOVE this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Love with AB, 1 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackbird (UK-OZ-NZ Version) (MP3 Download)
You can't help but fall head over heels for this album. The lead vocals with drums and guitars...wow! It's beautiful and I could listen to them for hours on end. Would definately recommend AB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb...best album to date, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Fantastic album! Never tire of listening to it! Blackbird has to be the best track on the album for me, although find it hard to say that there are any tracks that fall below expectation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Once again I have to thank Planet Rock for bringing my attention to another fantastic band. Alter Brige you ROCK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, highly recommend!, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
When I first heard blackbird for the first time I was quite blown away with the tracks that were recorded onto the album including songs like "come to life" which had a heavy melodic style to it whilst also giving a grungy feel at the same time. Other heavy songs with a very good structure in them included "White Knuckles" and "Ties that bind" which were heavy but unique in there own way, "White Knuckles" was quite a fast track which had good drum and guitar patterns through the song. "Ties that bind" opened with a good guitar riff with a good build up to the chorus of the song.

Whilst blackbird had many fast and heavy tracks there were also quite slow melodic tracks like "Wayward One" which starts off slow and builds itself up to quite a loud powerful chorus then takes its way back to a nice slow verse with a nice smooth drum pattern, and good guitar riff, the vocals go well with song, it makes the song have more feeling and emotion. Another similar song to "Wayward One" is "Brand New Start". It has the similar drum pattern and vocals but it is very different in its own way. It also has the similar build up to the chorus with powerful vocals and very dynamic instruments. The band in my opinion have succeeded really well with recording this album because it shows how they can create such a different sound from there last album, also it also lets you feel how they can play such amazing solos and perform rock like ballads like "Blackbird".

I think alter bridge has brought out a very well written album, with some songs that leave you amazed and some songs you just want to listen to over and over, with the unique vocals of Myles Kennedy and the fantastic dynamics and sound of the instruments, this bands album is no question of a doubt one of the finest and unique sounding albums to hit shop shelves and if they continue to create wonderful sounding music like this they will continue to sell millions of copies around the world, if you have not listened to the album i highly recommend that you do so because it is a beautifully made album that needs to gain more and more reputation from around the globe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many days remain!, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Again I'm late in reviewing this album even though I bought it when it was first released. And what an album it is! Heavier and darker than One Day Remains but no less enjoyable. Tremonti remains as kinetic and brilliant as always but is now augmented by Kennedy on rhythm and occasionally co-lead (the outro lead on the title track is Kennedy in an ode to a dead friend).
The riff work has a much harder edge to it this time, if it weren't for their commitment to keeping melody the driving force some people would no doubt call this metal. What it is though is heavy rock of the highest order; it may not be the happiest of lyrics, but the hooks and rhythms more than make up for that.
After a rumbling bass line and crunching riff open Ties That Bind things settle down into a, as previously mentioned, darker and heavier cadence than ODR until the utterly sublime Before Tomorrow Comes drags you straight into a melodic overload that would have held its own on the previous record and from there on in the whole album kicks it up a gear. The guys demonstrate a fantastic ability to write, both lyrically and musically, songs that seemingly plumb the depths of despair before rising on a crescendo of optimistic melody to leave you amazed, Rise Today being a stunning example. This being a winning formula, it's one they show no apology for reusing, nor should they. Finishing with the rebellious We Don't Care At All, a fantastic showcase for what they can do when having fun this is an album that will reward with multiple plays, stunning work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
This album is just amazing, at first some of the songs seem alien to you, you haven't heard them before and since the songs aren't advertised why should you? but believe me when i say it but they are catchy best way to describe what this ablum does to you is the music video for party rock anthem, but honestly for 5 quid no-one should complain don;t get me wrong a relatively unknown band here in the UK but in the states they are big business i'm not saying no-one has heard of them just small amount of people know who they are just like bands like dream theatre or puddle of mudd etc. All in all though a great album by a great artist and only a fiver no moans no gripes can;t lose, nuff' said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare breed, 27 Oct 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
This builds on their worthy debut, adding a little more flavour and excitement as well as heavier riffs and more emphasis on tunes. To this end it starts far better than One Day Remains (don't get me wrong, 'Find The Real' was good but it could have been better) and 'Ties That Bind' stuns you straight out of the starting blocks. Cur-lassic. 'Come to life' is not as good but still holds its own and heavily goes about its business. 'Brand New Start' is equally as good but there is a trend to these tracks that whiffs of middling (if that makes any sense at all?!). This continues with 'Buried Alive'. These 3 tracks are actually all 3-4 star songs but are the least interesting on the album. From 'Coming Home' onwards their game is upped considerably. It's a little predictable but has a great chorus. 'Before Tomorrow Comes' is one of those power-ballad cheese monsters that you shouldn't really like but is just so catchy that you simply cannot help yourself. 'Rise Today' is less interesting but still is a very catchy track. The title track is an almost prog-rock behemoth. It is basically a ballad but it soars and lulls and has the most sublime, pre-climactic rhythm solo towards the end. 'One by One' is equally as stunning. As is 'Watch Over You' - they just can't stop making interesting ballads!

The last few before the tremendous ending are not as good, barely 3 star efforts if I'm truthful. It's not to say they are bad (there isn't a badly written or performed track here) but just not as stunning as many of the others. 'Wayward One' is as 'End is Here' was. Epic and with a thundering, gloomy chorus.

There are about 3 or 4 tracks that could have been shaved to make this into a classic, but as it stands it is merely very very good, which aint bad. Much better than their debut, which was in itself very good. The good thing is that they've forged their own identity apart from Creed and now feel like a proper band that could take on the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 Oct 2007
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
I'm no music expert. I have only listened to this album all the way through 20 times or so. The first time I listened I was hooked. I'm getting ready to go see them here soon in Spokane, I'm sure it will rip. Best album I've bought in the last 15 years!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album ever made, Realy, 8 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
This Album is truly Amazing. Every track is a face melter.
guitar solos are second to none.
The Talent of this band is out of this world.

Buy this album, Alter Bridge ROCK.

For fans of good talented music, (none of this EMO, Pop, Rap Rubbish)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackbird (UK-OZ-NZ Version)
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews