Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this much nowadays!
In an age where mainstream 'hard rock' is dominated by uninspired bands like Nickelback and.... well Nickelback, and with Audioslave never living up to their potential, and seemingly a new bunch of emo kids crying through their eyeliner every month on MTV - this is a breath of fresh air!
I was maybe a little harsh before but bands like Nickelback are just so...
Published on 25 April 2008 by J. Groom

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What happened?
Although I think the much maligned Creed were a good band, they did not showcase just how good a guitar player Mark Termonti is. This was all resolved on One Day Remains - a strong debut album with great songs and some awesome guitar work.
What went wtong?
Blackbird starts well with a strong opening track but then drops to a sub par level and stays there. The...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by Mr. B. Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Once again I have to thank Planet Rock for bringing my attention to another fantastic band. Alter Brige you ROCK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, highly recommend!, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
When I first heard blackbird for the first time I was quite blown away with the tracks that were recorded onto the album including songs like "come to life" which had a heavy melodic style to it whilst also giving a grungy feel at the same time. Other heavy songs with a very good structure in them included "White Knuckles" and "Ties that bind" which were heavy but unique in there own way, "White Knuckles" was quite a fast track which had good drum and guitar patterns through the song. "Ties that bind" opened with a good guitar riff with a good build up to the chorus of the song.

Whilst blackbird had many fast and heavy tracks there were also quite slow melodic tracks like "Wayward One" which starts off slow and builds itself up to quite a loud powerful chorus then takes its way back to a nice slow verse with a nice smooth drum pattern, and good guitar riff, the vocals go well with song, it makes the song have more feeling and emotion. Another similar song to "Wayward One" is "Brand New Start". It has the similar drum pattern and vocals but it is very different in its own way. It also has the similar build up to the chorus with powerful vocals and very dynamic instruments. The band in my opinion have succeeded really well with recording this album because it shows how they can create such a different sound from there last album, also it also lets you feel how they can play such amazing solos and perform rock like ballads like "Blackbird".

I think alter bridge has brought out a very well written album, with some songs that leave you amazed and some songs you just want to listen to over and over, with the unique vocals of Myles Kennedy and the fantastic dynamics and sound of the instruments, this bands album is no question of a doubt one of the finest and unique sounding albums to hit shop shelves and if they continue to create wonderful sounding music like this they will continue to sell millions of copies around the world, if you have not listened to the album i highly recommend that you do so because it is a beautifully made album that needs to gain more and more reputation from around the globe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many days remain!, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Again I'm late in reviewing this album even though I bought it when it was first released. And what an album it is! Heavier and darker than One Day Remains but no less enjoyable. Tremonti remains as kinetic and brilliant as always but is now augmented by Kennedy on rhythm and occasionally co-lead (the outro lead on the title track is Kennedy in an ode to a dead friend).
The riff work has a much harder edge to it this time, if it weren't for their commitment to keeping melody the driving force some people would no doubt call this metal. What it is though is heavy rock of the highest order; it may not be the happiest of lyrics, but the hooks and rhythms more than make up for that.
After a rumbling bass line and crunching riff open Ties That Bind things settle down into a, as previously mentioned, darker and heavier cadence than ODR until the utterly sublime Before Tomorrow Comes drags you straight into a melodic overload that would have held its own on the previous record and from there on in the whole album kicks it up a gear. The guys demonstrate a fantastic ability to write, both lyrically and musically, songs that seemingly plumb the depths of despair before rising on a crescendo of optimistic melody to leave you amazed, Rise Today being a stunning example. This being a winning formula, it's one they show no apology for reusing, nor should they. Finishing with the rebellious We Don't Care At All, a fantastic showcase for what they can do when having fun this is an album that will reward with multiple plays, stunning work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
This album is just amazing, at first some of the songs seem alien to you, you haven't heard them before and since the songs aren't advertised why should you? but believe me when i say it but they are catchy best way to describe what this ablum does to you is the music video for party rock anthem, but honestly for 5 quid no-one should complain don;t get me wrong a relatively unknown band here in the UK but in the states they are big business i'm not saying no-one has heard of them just small amount of people know who they are just like bands like dream theatre or puddle of mudd etc. All in all though a great album by a great artist and only a fiver no moans no gripes can;t lose, nuff' said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare breed, 27 Oct 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
This builds on their worthy debut, adding a little more flavour and excitement as well as heavier riffs and more emphasis on tunes. To this end it starts far better than One Day Remains (don't get me wrong, 'Find The Real' was good but it could have been better) and 'Ties That Bind' stuns you straight out of the starting blocks. Cur-lassic. 'Come to life' is not as good but still holds its own and heavily goes about its business. 'Brand New Start' is equally as good but there is a trend to these tracks that whiffs of middling (if that makes any sense at all?!). This continues with 'Buried Alive'. These 3 tracks are actually all 3-4 star songs but are the least interesting on the album. From 'Coming Home' onwards their game is upped considerably. It's a little predictable but has a great chorus. 'Before Tomorrow Comes' is one of those power-ballad cheese monsters that you shouldn't really like but is just so catchy that you simply cannot help yourself. 'Rise Today' is less interesting but still is a very catchy track. The title track is an almost prog-rock behemoth. It is basically a ballad but it soars and lulls and has the most sublime, pre-climactic rhythm solo towards the end. 'One by One' is equally as stunning. As is 'Watch Over You' - they just can't stop making interesting ballads!

The last few before the tremendous ending are not as good, barely 3 star efforts if I'm truthful. It's not to say they are bad (there isn't a badly written or performed track here) but just not as stunning as many of the others. 'Wayward One' is as 'End is Here' was. Epic and with a thundering, gloomy chorus.

There are about 3 or 4 tracks that could have been shaved to make this into a classic, but as it stands it is merely very very good, which aint bad. Much better than their debut, which was in itself very good. The good thing is that they've forged their own identity apart from Creed and now feel like a proper band that could take on the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the 00's, 12 April 2010
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Only just listened to this album after buying on a whim off the back of an Amazon recommendation.

Wow, all I can say is that this has gone right to the top of my list of the best albums of the century so far.

This album is awesome. So good in fact that it was actually a disappointment to go back and listen to One Day Remains; which should be judged on its own merits.

Alter Bridge go to the top of the class edging Black Stone Cherry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning album, 22 Sep 2009
By 
R. Smith "Hedge" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Having lived through Creed with some of the masterful tunes they produced Alterbridge took it a step further with "One Day Remains" and topped it off with "Blackbird". This is a musically clever album, a cut above the mediocrity that resides in the music industry at the moment. Having seen them live 3 times I can not understand why they rae not more widely recognised for their talent. Heartfelt songs, with a message and no swearing (Linkin Park please note...do you think they'll read these reviews?). Having bought this album 2 years ago I have never stopped playing it! In my books the track Blackbird is up with classics such as Stargazer, Freebird and Stairway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harder, Louder, it's Alter Bridge, 22 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Blackbird, Alter Bridge's second studio album and the follow up to One Day Remains, is another quality collection of Hard Rock, slightly harder than it's predecessor but musically stronger.
Lyrically, Myles Kennedy contributes more on this album, after all One Day Remains was written mostly before he joined.
The result is an accomplished rock album bursting with distorted guitar riffs, elegant choruses and brilliant solos, Alter Bridge have delivered a truly unique album.
It's a shame it appears to have sold less well then One Day Remains, that's tough on Alter Bridge because overall this is a much better album.
It's a less mainstream rock sound, but no-one can deny Alter Bridge have delivered a hard rock classic right here, no arguments.
Track Picks: "Watch Over You" and "Ties That Bind"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alterbridge - Deserve to be Huge, 22 Sep 2008
By 
Tarkers (Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
This album along with their first I just can't stop listening to. Vocals, guitar riffs top notch. Composition of all the songs great - even the slower tracks are listenable to.
"Ties That Bind" is stunning.
"Blackbird" takes me back to the earlier days of heavy rock.
I could go on waxing lyrical on the greatness of this album but the easiest thing is to say if you like heavy rock with imaginative well composed tracks with incredible vocals and guitar work - go out, buy it and treasure it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rock Tour De Force., 30 Mar 2008
By 
N. Fitzgerald (Newtownabbey, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Having enjoyed the "One Day Remains" album I bought their latest offering "Blackbird",and boy,am I glad I did!!!
This collection of 14 songs is simply outstanding and it's almost impossible to pick a favourite-they're all brilliant.
Miles Kennedy delivers soaring vocals,combined with Mark Tremonti churning out a blistering sonic attack on lead guitar-with plenty of Zakk Wylde style riffs and solos thrown into the mix-watch out Zakk-these guys are real good.
Any true rock fan will adore this album,and hopefully i'll get to see AB play live in concert sometime soon.
Excellence of this calibre is rare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackbird
Blackbird by Alter Bridge
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews