Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Collection
I'd say this is probably the best place to start if you're interested in giving Barry White a try. You get a fine collection of his best known tracks and get a good mix of his style, from the funk to the soul. He may be classed as slightly 'cheesy' these days, but his voice is amazing and you can't help but smile and tap your feet as each song kicks in. A great...
Published on 27 Oct 2007 by Spider Monkey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barry White - The Collection
A very unmistakeable voice! Very relaxing to listen to. However, a few tracks towards the later half of the album only feature a short 'appearance' from Barry White, so other artists also feature - this is more of a collection of his music (writing and singing). I'm still glad I got it though.
Published on 9 Mar 2011 by bazinnch


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Collection, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I'd say this is probably the best place to start if you're interested in giving Barry White a try. You get a fine collection of his best known tracks and get a good mix of his style, from the funk to the soul. He may be classed as slightly 'cheesy' these days, but his voice is amazing and you can't help but smile and tap your feet as each song kicks in. A great selection of Barry at his best for new and old fans alike.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The deep-voiced soulful balladeer, 21 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Barry had been involved in the music business for several years, usually working in the background, before finally making the big time. His first success came via the Love Unlimited hit in 1972, Walking in the rain with the one I love. This paved the way for a series of solo recordings that yielded several major international hits.
After a promising start in 1973 with I'm gonna love you just a little bit more baby and Never never gonna give you up, Barry had his best years in 1974 and 1975. Can't get enough of your love babe, You're the first the last my everything (his only UK number one hit), What am I gonna do with you, I'll do anything you want me to, Let the music play and You see the trouble with me all proved hugely popular in many different countries. Barry's distinctive deep, husky voice was well suited to these soulful love songs.
Following those two very successful years, Barry had further hits but they were generally smaller than before. His last major American hit came in 1977 when he made the top five with It's ecstasy when you lay down next to me, which was only a minor UK hit. Nevertheless, he still had two more UK top twenty hits - Just the way you are (a cover of Billy Joel's classic song) in 1978 and Sho you right in 1987.
This compilation includes all of Barry's important British and American hits. If you only want a single CD of Barry's music, this is a good one to choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, a 'must have' for any record collection., 8 July 2000
By A Customer
This has to be one of my all time favourite albums. The songs are smooth, sexy and timeless. The album has some of Barry White's best work - so just hit the repeat button, sit back and enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best every Barry White collection, 17 Mar 2000
By A Customer
An astonishing collection of Barry Whites classic songs, past and present. Including some of his best work bought back into the lime light by Ally McBeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Bazza doesn't disappoint - it's official!, 5 Dec 1999
By A Customer
If the truth be known... it was Ali that has re-stirred my liking of the big man, and Barry very obligingly puts that little ditty that John keeps in his head on track 1 - what a belter! But the big man, I'm pleased to say, doesn't get carried away, he puts the odd track in that he doesn't actually star in, such as track 7 'It may be winter outside'... and the album is all the better for it. Well worth adding this collection to yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Barry White too cheesy? Buy this to prove yourself wrong, 17 Feb 2000
By A Customer
OK, Barry White's a bit of a cliche. He's up there with black satin sheets and chocolate body paint right?
Wrong. This is the man who taught Huey from the Fun Lovin' Criminals that you can say all the right things to women without sounding like a tight trousered Lothario. And Huey's cool.
This is a an awesome album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Smooth As Silk, 20 May 2009
By 
When it comes to Mr Barry White he is unique in every way. He is one of those very rare talents that has a voice that can hypnotize you.....and it's genuine,not 'put on' or part of his act, what you see and hear is exactly what you get, 100% pure genius and more. Those dulcet,deep,velvety tones;the spoken intros, the sweeping orchestra,the 'tsk tsk' of the drum,you know that you are instantly listening to a Barry White track.
This album has the classic tracks 'Can't Get Enough', 'The First,The Last,My Everything','Show You Right','The Trouble With Me' and some very early stuff that was under the title with the Love Unlimited. This collection is definitely a must for any fan of Barry White.
Sadly, Barry is no longer with us,but long may his spirit and his music live on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The walrus of love - and a hugely underrated talent, 28 April 2009
By 
Mr. Richard N. Walker "wlkrrch" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Barry White's reputation as the godfather of lurrrrve so dominates his image that it's a delight to slip this CD into the player and be impressed all over again by the sheer talent of the man. At his best he mixed sex, soul and romance with a solid funky underlay - listen out in particular for some of the early hits that are less string-laden than some of the later stuff and probably better for it. He was no slouch as a producer of Love Unlimited Either - both 'It may be winter outside' and 'Walking in the rain with the one I love' are cracking soul/pop singles in the Motown mould - the latter recently reworked to great effect by Estelle. One sad omission is 'Your Sweetness is my Weakness' - the flip side of Just the Way You Are and quite a dancefloor barnstormer in its day with a sort of 'everybody join in' feel that is reminiscent of Prince at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cd, 8 May 2009
By 
Ms. J. Massey (rochdale,lancs,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased the barry white collection,and its brought back loads of great memories from my younger years,I`d forgot how brilliant barry white was,this cd is superb with all his best hits,thank you amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Barry, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic singer is our dear departed Barry white. Love his soulful voice and style. Just a love machine who lest our planet too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews