Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2005
The elegant, silken voice and piano playing of Diana Krall have been with us now for ten years, so I suppose we were overdue this album of Christmas standards.
Long term fans like myself, who were a little uncomfortable with her last two studio albums, will be relieved to discover that she has banished both the over-lush orchestral arrangements and her husband's eclectic but tuneless involvement this time. Further than that, she has resisted the usual temptation to include any new or self-penned songs, so that the old chestnuts are allowed to roast nicely on their own.
Musical backing on seven of the songs, the more uptempo ones, comes from the Clayton/Hamilton Jazz Orchestra. The sound they produce is just short of full big band jazz, and they give a smooth, rounded accompaniment to the likes of opener Jingle Bells, Let It Snow and Winter Wonderland. Diana's singing is polished and elegant as ever, but her ad-libs and occasional lapsing into scat mean that the shadows, if not the ghosts, of Ella, and Dino, and Sinatra fly a little too close for comfort.
For me the slower numbers work better, with the traditional jazz quartet instrumentation. The Christmas Song and I'll Be Home For Christmas are just the right side of dreamy and Diana makes them her own (not once did Nat Cole come to mind). White Christmas is turned into a slow, smoochy dance, as near to a waltz as the tune will allow, and it works beautifully.
Some of the slower numbers do have orchestral backing, and Johnny Mandel arranges and conducts three of them in his inimitable understated fashion - Christmas Time Is Here, Have Yourself a Merry... and Count Your Blessings. This last track isn't really a Christmas song, but it's a little gem, a lullaby from the pen of Irving Berlin and makes for an excellent closing to the album.
Throughout Diana's singing is as smooth and elegant as we have come to expect. The backings and production, courtesy of Tommy Lipuna, are also polished and just about perfect. If I was picky I would say that it is all just a bit too perfect and clinical - while it's probably a good thing that there's not even a whiff of snow or bells, jingling or otherwise, except in the lyrics, it does seem to lack a bit of colour or emotion. I don't know - maybe I was expecting too much.
0Comment25 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2006
I’m pleased that she has reverted to more classic jazz than her recent offerings which I haven’t enjoyed as much. I heard this in a shop before I realised it was Diana Krall and thought it was an upbeat must buy. This is very much what you expect from a Krall Christmas album. 12 Beautifully orchestrated versions of classic Christmas songs, not always my all-time-favourite versions. For example Ella’s “Sleighride” is hard to beat, but Diana’s version is in her own style. As for “What are you Doing New Years Eve”, I think Harry Connick Jr’s version is far more subtle and therefore superior. “Christmas Time is Here” is a stocking filler. But if you’re fond of Diana and want a new seasonal album to add to your collection you can’t go far wrong.
0Comment25 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2005
Diana Krall has delivered an album full of classics. Christmas classics, that is. This album does pretty much exactly what it says on the box, yet it does it with a style and elegance that is not usually afforded to these types of projects. Diana's trademark jazzy style is present throughout this record and her interpretations of such greats as Jingle Bells, Let It Snow and Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas transcend any 'novelty song' status and sound genuinely great. In fact, the record as a whole never slips into the purely novelty category, due to the wonderful arrangements, respect and enthusiasm Diana shows these classic songs. This will appeal to the hardcore Diana Krall fans yet it should also be received by a much larger audience. You simply won't find a classier, more appealing Christmas album this year.
Buy a copy and have yourself a merry little Christmas.
0Comment63 of 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 December 2005
When i heard that Diana Krall had recorded an album of Christmas songs i approached it with great reservations - but how wrong i was.This album has the Christmas spirit literally bursting from every track.The picks of the album are the up-tempo big band numbers that are quite simply a joy to listen to."santa Claus is coming to town" is easliy the best version i have heard with it's lustrous brass arrangements and Diana's joyous swinging vocals."Jingle bells" and "Sleigh Ride" get the same treatment but there is a gentle and slightly melancholy side to the album with the "christmas song" and "white Christmas" with Diana's dreamy vocals proving the perfect foil to the cheery up-tempo numbers.Forget all the pop compilation Christmas albums and plump for this one alone because it is quite simply the best.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For this album, Diana chose to vary the tempo by including some bouncy songs as well as the ballads that she has tended to focus on in her more recent albums. There are no original songs here, but two songs (Christmas time is here, Count your blessings instead of sheep) are rarely recorded compared to the other songs featured.

Another notable feature of this album is that it focuses exclusively on the festive aspects of Christmas. You won't find any songs about Jesus here, so people of all religions and none can enjoy this album. That makes this a rarity among Christmas albums, since the vast majority include at least one song about Jesus.

Diana and her musicians open the album with a distinctive arrangement of Jingle bells. She follows it with another up-tempo song, Let it snow let it snow let it snow, which includes a long instrumental break that allows the musicians (including Diana on piano solo) to show their talents. The remaining tracks are ballads except for Winter wonderland, Santa Claus is coming to town and Sleigh ride, all of which are performed either mid-tempo or up-tempo. Among the ballads, my favorite is Christmas time is here, perhaps because I don't hear it very often.

This is a wonderful Christmas album that will appeal to those who like to hear Diana singing ballads, but which also reminds us of Diana's jazz roots.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
I love this album. Diana Krall's fantastic voice wrapped around Christmas classics, instantly evoking a relaxed Christmas. Perfect listened to whilst wrapping presents in front of a roaring fire with a glass of red wine. Equally as enjoyable listened to in the car whilst battling for supermarket parking spaces on Christmas Eve when you and half of the world realise you've forgotten something essential. If you love Diane Krall, then this album is a must. Equally, if you're just looking for something Christmas-sy to get you in the festive mood, then this is the album for you.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
I loved this album, I really did, Krall's vocals and arrangements are really elegant and I've listened to it every day for ages. Initially, I hadn't thought this one was worth buying because I wasn't sure about the string arrangements, but I'm so glad I bought it, especially now. I've always been a fan of hers, and this has renewed my interest in her fabulous music. Buy it, you won't regret it!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
I am not a great fan of Diana Krall's music but she does have a wonderful voice and in my opinion her voice + Christmas songs is a perfect duet. I would recommend this CD to anyone who likes to feel the spirit of Christmas whenever they want to, just listen to it and ... it brings Christmas with every song.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
I really like Ms Krall who usually recognises when to stop the noodling and get on with the song. This album is a case in point : there is just enough improvising for it to qualify as a jazz release but not enough to obscure the original songs. If I must criticise it concerns the orchestral arrangements which at times contain so many added notes (dischords to the rest of us) that the listener is hard pressed to know what the underlying chords are. This may be clever but extremely distracting and, once an embellishment becomes this noticeable, takes this listener's attention away from the song itself.
Nevertheless this album contains some good retreads of tired old seasonal standards and is well worth a test drive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2008
Diana Krall offers you an incredible revamp of some of the most famous Christmas classics with her lovingly young voice and the nice band that accompanies her will give you everything you need to spend a great Christmas :)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.