Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A touch of Christmas elegance
The elegant, silken voice and piano playing of Diana Krall have been with us now for ten years, so I suppose we were overdue this album of Christmas standards.
Long term fans like myself, who were a little uncomfortable with her last two studio albums, will be relieved to discover that she has banished both the over-lush orchestral arrangements and her husband's...
Published on 9 Dec 2005 by Mr. R. B. Ager

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some seasonal cheer that’s distinctively Diana.
I’m pleased that she has reverted to more classic jazz than her recent offerings which I haven’t enjoyed as much. I heard this in a shop before I realised it was Diana Krall and thought it was an upbeat must buy. This is very much what you expect from a Krall Christmas album. 12 Beautifully orchestrated versions of classic Christmas songs, not always my...
Published on 16 Jan 2006 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some seasonal cheer that’s distinctively Diana., 16 Jan 2006
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
I’m pleased that she has reverted to more classic jazz than her recent offerings which I haven’t enjoyed as much. I heard this in a shop before I realised it was Diana Krall and thought it was an upbeat must buy. This is very much what you expect from a Krall Christmas album. 12 Beautifully orchestrated versions of classic Christmas songs, not always my all-time-favourite versions. For example Ella’s “Sleighride” is hard to beat, but Diana’s version is in her own style. As for “What are you Doing New Years Eve”, I think Harry Connick Jr’s version is far more subtle and therefore superior. “Christmas Time is Here” is a stocking filler. But if you’re fond of Diana and want a new seasonal album to add to your collection you can’t go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A touch of Christmas elegance, 9 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
The elegant, silken voice and piano playing of Diana Krall have been with us now for ten years, so I suppose we were overdue this album of Christmas standards.
Long term fans like myself, who were a little uncomfortable with her last two studio albums, will be relieved to discover that she has banished both the over-lush orchestral arrangements and her husband's eclectic but tuneless involvement this time. Further than that, she has resisted the usual temptation to include any new or self-penned songs, so that the old chestnuts are allowed to roast nicely on their own.
Musical backing on seven of the songs, the more uptempo ones, comes from the Clayton/Hamilton Jazz Orchestra. The sound they produce is just short of full big band jazz, and they give a smooth, rounded accompaniment to the likes of opener Jingle Bells, Let It Snow and Winter Wonderland. Diana's singing is polished and elegant as ever, but her ad-libs and occasional lapsing into scat mean that the shadows, if not the ghosts, of Ella, and Dino, and Sinatra fly a little too close for comfort.
For me the slower numbers work better, with the traditional jazz quartet instrumentation. The Christmas Song and I'll Be Home For Christmas are just the right side of dreamy and Diana makes them her own (not once did Nat Cole come to mind). White Christmas is turned into a slow, smoochy dance, as near to a waltz as the tune will allow, and it works beautifully.
Some of the slower numbers do have orchestral backing, and Johnny Mandel arranges and conducts three of them in his inimitable understated fashion - Christmas Time Is Here, Have Yourself a Merry... and Count Your Blessings. This last track isn't really a Christmas song, but it's a little gem, a lullaby from the pen of Irving Berlin and makes for an excellent closing to the album.
Throughout Diana's singing is as smooth and elegant as we have come to expect. The backings and production, courtesy of Tommy Lipuna, are also polished and just about perfect. If I was picky I would say that it is all just a bit too perfect and clinical - while it's probably a good thing that there's not even a whiff of snow or bells, jingling or otherwise, except in the lyrics, it does seem to lack a bit of colour or emotion. I don't know - maybe I was expecting too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have yourself a Jazzy little Christmas, 16 Nov 2005
By 
Steveo (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
Diana Krall has delivered an album full of classics. Christmas classics, that is. This album does pretty much exactly what it says on the box, yet it does it with a style and elegance that is not usually afforded to these types of projects. Diana's trademark jazzy style is present throughout this record and her interpretations of such greats as Jingle Bells, Let It Snow and Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas transcend any 'novelty song' status and sound genuinely great. In fact, the record as a whole never slips into the purely novelty category, due to the wonderful arrangements, respect and enthusiasm Diana shows these classic songs. This will appeal to the hardcore Diana Krall fans yet it should also be received by a much larger audience. You simply won't find a classier, more appealing Christmas album this year.
Buy a copy and have yourself a merry little Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Songs - a review, 31 Dec 2005
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
When i heard that Diana Krall had recorded an album of Christmas songs i approached it with great reservations - but how wrong i was.This album has the Christmas spirit literally bursting from every track.The picks of the album are the up-tempo big band numbers that are quite simply a joy to listen to."santa Claus is coming to town" is easliy the best version i have heard with it's lustrous brass arrangements and Diana's joyous swinging vocals."Jingle bells" and "Sleigh Ride" get the same treatment but there is a gentle and slightly melancholy side to the album with the "christmas song" and "white Christmas" with Diana's dreamy vocals proving the perfect foil to the cheery up-tempo numbers.Forget all the pop compilation Christmas albums and plump for this one alone because it is quite simply the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazzy Christmas album of mainly familiar songs, 8 Sep 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
For this album, Diana chose to vary the tempo by including some bouncy songs as well as the ballads that she has tended to focus on in her more recent albums. There are no original songs here, but two songs (Christmas time is here, Count your blessings instead of sheep) are rarely recorded compared to the other songs featured.

Another notable feature of this album is that it focuses exclusively on the festive aspects of Christmas. You won't find any songs about Jesus here, so people of all religions and none can enjoy this album. That makes this a rarity among Christmas albums, since the vast majority include at least one song about Jesus.

Diana and her musicians open the album with a distinctive arrangement of Jingle bells. She follows it with another up-tempo song, Let it snow let it snow let it snow, which includes a long instrumental break that allows the musicians (including Diana on piano solo) to show their talents. The remaining tracks are ballads except for Winter wonderland, Santa Claus is coming to town and Sleigh ride, all of which are performed either mid-tempo or up-tempo. Among the ballads, my favorite is Christmas time is here, perhaps because I don't hear it very often.

This is a wonderful Christmas album that will appeal to those who like to hear Diana singing ballads, but which also reminds us of Diana's jazz roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the christmas wonderland, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
I am not a great fan of Diana Krall's music but she does have a wonderful voice and in my opinion her voice + Christmas songs is a perfect duet. I would recommend this CD to anyone who likes to feel the spirit of Christmas whenever they want to, just listen to it and ... it brings Christmas with every song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic soundtrack to Christmas, 30 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
I love this album. Diana Krall's fantastic voice wrapped around Christmas classics, instantly evoking a relaxed Christmas. Perfect listened to whilst wrapping presents in front of a roaring fire with a glass of red wine. Equally as enjoyable listened to in the car whilst battling for supermarket parking spaces on Christmas Eve when you and half of the world realise you've forgotten something essential. If you love Diane Krall, then this album is a must. Equally, if you're just looking for something Christmas-sy to get you in the festive mood, then this is the album for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real gem, Krall doesn't disappoint, 14 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
I loved this album, I really did, Krall's vocals and arrangements are really elegant and I've listened to it every day for ages. Initially, I hadn't thought this one was worth buying because I wasn't sure about the string arrangements, but I'm so glad I bought it, especially now. I've always been a fan of hers, and this has renewed my interest in her fabulous music. Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Merry Christmas!, 24 April 2008
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
Diana Krall offers you an incredible revamp of some of the most famous Christmas classics with her lovingly young voice and the nice band that accompanies her will give you everything you need to spend a great Christmas :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Krall's Classy Christmas !!!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Songs (Audio CD)
Lovely arrangements of some of our favourite festive songs, an excellent recording t'boot ! Thoroughly enjoyable !!!
If you are an audiophile full of Christmas Spirit........buy now, you won't be disappointed !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas Songs
Christmas Songs by Diana Krall
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews