Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Designs
Power Windows is that rarest of animals; a perfect album. Every track, the mood of the album, is electric. It is also one of the very best Rush albums. Polished, slick and glossy but more importantly, it is infused with layered depths of emotional and musical intelligence.

Grand Designs and Middletown Dreams overflow with excitement, powerful pulsating...
Published on 23 Nov 2008 by G. Young

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Power Windows
Not the best album produced by Rush but always been a fan of the unusual vocal, if you are a Rush fan you will enjoy but not their best piece
Published 13 months ago by MARK SHAW


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Designs, 23 Nov 2008
By 
G. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Power Windows is that rarest of animals; a perfect album. Every track, the mood of the album, is electric. It is also one of the very best Rush albums. Polished, slick and glossy but more importantly, it is infused with layered depths of emotional and musical intelligence.

Grand Designs and Middletown Dreams overflow with excitement, powerful pulsating basslines, combined with some of Neil Peart's most heroic, unusual, complex and exciting drum fills, fully brought to life by the lush, full bodied production.

Elsewhere, Marathon and Emotion Detector burst with feeling via Alex Lifeson's stunning guitar work. The Big Money will make you wonder how on earth three musicians can create something that sounds so vast. I find the songs pulse with energy and vibrancy, almost like a living thing, the craftmanship and quality of the songwriting is first class. This is one of those records that can transport you to another place, it is like taking a walk on a dark evening with lightning in the sky and a brilliant full moon, remote in the blackness, this is a record that will make you feel alive.

Power Windows is one of the best rock albums you will ever hear. Rush blended electronics with the full power of traditional instrumentation to create something quite extraordinary. To fully appreciate this album in its correct context I strongly recommend the previous studio album, Grace Under Pressure (an album approaching perfection) and Hold Your Fire - the latter being the sister record to Power Windows as it shares many rhythmic similarities and contains further developments on the the themes of power and emotion. Also, Rush experiment further with the fusion of electronic and acoustic instrumentation. Rush have never been afraid of taking chances, they are musical scientists exploring sprawling new avenues of sound with a rare honesty and bristling intelligence. For me, Power Windows rates amongst their best work, alongside Hemispheres, Permanent Waves, Moving Pictures and A Farewell To Kings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, powerful and quite exquisite, 22 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
This is the only Rush album that I own .. which is odd, because this is one of my all time favourite albums. A friend lent me a cassette copy of this in 1991 whilst at Uni. I listened to it at night, in bed with my walkman - and it has left a deep impression on me. Later I purchased it on CD.
I usually am not one for deep lyrics, which I feel can often be pretentious and just get in the way of the music. Normally my ear gravitates towards instrumental performances. However this album has it all - fantastic instrumental performances and beautifully crafted lyrics that poetically yet efficiently ram the point home. The use of synthesisers (a new departure for Rush at the time - I think) is just perfect, blending wonderfully with Geddy Lee's superb bass lines and Lifeson's distant and reverb laden guitars, giving the album a smooth and mystical vibe. Production is 1st class - Pearts drums sit nicely with Lee's bass in the mix. Fantastic, memorable melodies - many of the vocal lines have real hooks and you can't help but sing along. This album is just beautiful - I can't praise it enough.
That's my opinion - as a non Rush aficionado!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best SYNTH album of the 80's... no doubt about it!, 6 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Power Windows was released in October 1985, smack bang in the middle of 80's as u'd expect from rock titan's rush, excellent and intelligent songs await the listener with ABSOLUTELY NO FILLER WHATSOEVER!
Rush's career at this point featured the highest level of synthesizer in any of their albums, but power windows is so much more than the usual pop synth style trash circulating around in '85.
It was in my opinion ever since it's release been overshadowed by rush's previous rock staples 'hemispheres' and 'moving pictures'

Power windows or infact any of their 80's syntheiser albums will ever be regarded as their best, it is however still a classic no doubt about it, although this type of music in particular will never appeal to everyone it is definatly an album of it's time taken at face value and not comparing to so many other of rush's amazing releases, it is likely that power windows will become both a top 5 rush fan favourate and to also the casual listener.

THE BIG MONEY - AH what a cracking start to an album, well balanced guitar and synth throughout, an amazing riff chorus and solo from Lifeson also compliment the song greatly, a live and Hit favourate easy to see why outstanding song... 10/10

GRAND DESIGNS - Great song again very intriguing synth bursts you can see the relativity with the lyrics with the comment i made above 'so much style without substance' indeed! 9/10

MANHATTAN PROJECT - An umbelivable gem of a song amazing quality control on synths by geddy, very melodic but packs a punch too, could never imagine power windows a classic without this song! special mention to the intricacy and accuracy of the peart's drumming at the end i wonder sometimes are they human it's that good. 10/10

MARATHON - A breathtaking song to say the least, full of catchy synth hooks abound behind very melodic soloing from lifeson but most people including myself find the synth chorus the real gold in this song i cannot fault this song either 10/10 should be 11!

TERRITORIES - Probably the most guitar work of the 8 songs should be very welcomed by rush's 70's fans, A very very good song indeed in between the loud plunging of geddy's synth work, lifeson gives it his all on guitar but credit here must be given for Geddy's vocals which are arguably the best yet from any rush song, i can't imagine this song disapointing anyone! 10/10

MIDDLETOWN DREAMS - Apropriatly titled, here synth is on full blaze quite mellow in relation to the previous three but the ending for power and melody gives any of the songs on Power Windows a good run for their money absolutely not a throw away number! Great song 9/10

EMOTION DETECTOR - Well if geddy here was experimenting on how melody could bring a tear to the listers eye here he succeeds.
Full marks on bravery this song could well have been a huge failiure, fortunatly it isn't this song contains the most synth in all of rushes huge back catalogue that dosn't go over the top... very enjoyable! 9/10

MYSTIC RHYTHMS - Here the last song, and the best one is absolutely incredible, the range of back drops and flashy synth at the start of the song and between the chorus creates a very atmospheric and eerie tune (Creaking doors as well) hugely complex and melodic beyond imagination the three guys here are on red alert and maximum ability is clear to see one of rush's best songs 11/10 can't get better than this seriously!

Hope this review helps you out i can't recommend this album enough if your an 80's fan in any way, If not stay clear at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush's finest, 20 Sep 2006
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
This was the first Rush album I listened to and despite loads of other songs I like spread across several albums this is my favourite. Here they found a perfect balance between great lyrics and great song writing and the arrangements are not as full on as in earlier recordings yet still have maximum impact. Always sublime to put the vinyl on and after the crackling wait for the opening of the first track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush rocks, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
I am more of a heavy metal fan, but Rush is a band that is well respected in the heavy metal community, or at least they were back in 1985. The first Rush album I ever heard was "Signals" (1982). So it's not surprising that I had no problem with Rush's style change in the 80's (as I simply had no idea how they had sounded in the 70's). When I first heard "Power Windows", it sounded to me exactly the way Rush was supposed to sound.

By today, I have heard almost all of Rush's records, but I still think "Power Windows" is the second-best, right after "Vapor Trails" (2002). Not that this one sounds anything like "Vapor Trails". It sounds exactly 1985 - keyboard-dominated melodic rock, but still unmistakably Rushy. The record is very even. None of the songs is really spectacular taken alone, but they are all good and they fit together very well, making a perfect album just the way I like it.

I totally love the mood on Rush's records, not only this one. Black metal helps me calm down when I'm angry, but Rush's music improves my mood when I'm down for no apparent reason (and not only then). They're so positive and inspiring - and, as I hardly need to tell you, really good with their instruments.

Good work, guys. You're still great - keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best, 2 April 2010
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Rush Well where do you start, well they are probably the biggest band no one has heard of. Which sound a bit strange but its true. I can go to work and I could not find anyone who has heard of them, but they sell millions of records. So who is buying them. Well I will tell you, real fans of real music.
As rush goes they are not a easy band to get into but this album might help you. In my view this is their best and is in my top 10 albums of all time. To start with its well played well written and well produced by Peter Collins. There is not one weak track on this album.
I am a bit of a hifi nut and still buy vinyl when I can get it and if I go out to buy any new hifi I take this album along as it will bring out all the strenghts and weaknesses of said product. This album is that I have even had a owner of a hifi shop sit and listen to the album with me in their demo room as he was blown away by a group he had never heard of.
If you buy this album and you are new to Rush then the nightmare begins as which album do you buy next. Well here the bad news as you have alot of catching up to do as they have about 19 sudio albums, 8 live albums, and many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars power trio at its best, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. M. Dunn "msyrinx" (north east, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
i've loved rush since the late 80's. i think, if you have no love for the 80's you may struggle with this release. if you wonder at the quality of rush, dream theater or other 80's greats, then take a listen to this. as a big fan of rush, from fly by night to present day, and as a drummer (with persuasion toward bass)this is rush at it's peak. really, there's little anyone ever did to surpass it. it's a beautiful album. one of the few i own which is great start to finish. this is rush. timeless. the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly polished RUSH, 22 Mar 2001
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
Power Windows is an album to be listened to as often as possible. Thoroughly enjoyable in both music and clever lyrics, it captures hopes and dreams that never get accomplished in "Middletown Dreams" and "Emotion Detector" but also the darker side of human achievement and greed in "Manhattan Project" and "Territories".
This is a more polished and refined album than some earlier ones and the music has more style and melody than raw enthusiasm but it is no less captivating and delightful for the change of direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius, 25 Jun 2002
By 
Rich (Wurzel Country, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
IMHO this, along with 'Exit... Stage Left', is Rush's finest hour. From the opening statement-of-intent that is 'The Big Money' to the damning indictments of weapons of mass destruction and over-zealous 'patriotism', it hits the spot every time. Peart's lyrics have never been more incisive, and Geddy Lee attacks his shiny new Wal bass with obvious relish -- just check his fantastic playing on 'Marathon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo close !!!, 31 Mar 2009
This review is from: Power Windows (Audio CD)
This album came so very close to eclipsing Signals in my own humble opinion. Big Money is a powerful opener, Territories lets Alex Lifeson off the leash in short bursts and Mystic Rhythms is a melodic if laconic closing track. However, Marathon is the stand out track amid this extremely strong collection. I love Power Windows far more than the previous Grace Under Pressure (whch was itself a decent album) and Rush have struggled to recapture much of this song writing quality in subsequent albums which have started to contain too many 'average' tracks by their own high standards ... but I suppose after over 30 years it must be hard to keep churning out stuff of this standard. If you want a decent taster of Rush at their creative best buy this album (along with Signals and Hold Your Fire)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Power Windows
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews