Customer Reviews
Boy


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There must be an error here.........
U2 would never allow the re-structuring of any album so the fact that Into the Heart has gone from the listing and I will Follow has moved to the bottom must be a mis-print or admin error as all other sellers I find online are showing the orginal listing.

This will always be my favorite album of all time. I was 21 when I bought This and October on the day that...
Published on 16 Oct 2006 by Mr. M. J. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the remastered copy
It was not the remastered copy that was sent. It was the original cd from the 80s. Music is good.
Published 3 months ago by j


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There must be an error here........., 16 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. M. J. Morris (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
U2 would never allow the re-structuring of any album so the fact that Into the Heart has gone from the listing and I will Follow has moved to the bottom must be a mis-print or admin error as all other sellers I find online are showing the orginal listing.

This will always be my favorite album of all time. I was 21 when I bought This and October on the day that October came out. It was a time when New Wave was turning into New Romantics and new 'rock' needed rescuing. So along came U2. As is sometimes common with debut albums, this is a 'greatest hits' of early U2. Out of Control, Stories for boys, Twilight being the only songs from a catalogue of early singles that were re-recorded with Steve Lillywhite for this album. Other songs like my favorite 'Electric Co.' culled from live sets. It was a 5* album at the time making all of the music papers top listings for the year and although now I see Actung Baby as their pinnacle musically I will always go back to the days when this couldn't leave my turntable or car cassette. Its one of those classic can't take off albums where each track flows effortlessly into the next and every track gap seems perfectly timed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sheer burst of energy!, 21 April 2005
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
This album from start to finish flows with such great energy and joy that you feel that you are a 'boy' again. It is U2 at their most innocent and fragile time and there is just four young energetic guys giving it all they've got. U2 may have made some better stuff since but they will never be able to make something so original and beautiful as BOY. The two main songs I feel being 'I Will Follow' and 'Out of Control' which are U2 through and through. Edge's guitar is majestic and Bono's voice quite frankly the most pure voice I have ever heard in rock and roll. Larry and Adam are also superb and their massive talent is clearly evident from their first album. I don't feel there is any songs that really stand out, the album just flows from song to song in this fantastic up beat nature that brings out the BOY in you. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating, 29 July 2008
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
Really nice package with some great insights into the early sound of U2.

Unless you happen to have the 6" vinyl singles from the Boy album most of the tracks on the bonus CD will be new to you. Speed of life is an out-take from the Boy session and fits in with the vibe of the album perfectly. There's also killer live versions of Boy/Girl and 11 o'clock tick tock.

The only weird one for me is Cartoon World which is a bit of an oddity.

In terms of cost I think this package is good value. 15 to 17 quid is only a bit more than what you used to pay years ago for a single CD album.

Oh, and the Boy album itself is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boys 2 Men!, 26 Aug 2009
By 
D. LAZAR ""True Believer"" (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
Fantastic debut album from U2 that shows amazing maturity for a bunch of guys barely out of school.Although the band's signature sound would come a few years later, this album shows the potential that U2 would go on to fulfil.Steve Lilywhite does a fantastic job with the production and I think this is one of the appealing things about this album, it has a very basic yet enchanting feel to it unlike a lot of the music that was coming out at the time.There's many songs on here that made up U2's live set for the next few years, but apart from the obvious classics like "I Will Follow" and "Out Of Control" there are a few lost gems on here such as "Twilight",the brooding "An Cat Dubh" and "The Ocean" which although is just over a minute long has a wonderful atmosphere and again showcases the band's imagination to full effect.I'm glad to see that a lot of the material on this album has been put back into the "Under A Blood Red Sky" dvd having not made the original cut.A true testament to some great songs,a soundtrack to childhood innocence and a reminder of how creative young people used to be before the i-pod generation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite U2 album, 20 April 2001
By 
Michael (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
I recently dug out my old U2 CD's to let my sister listen to them. I got into U2 during the mid 80's whilst still at school, and listening to this album brought back some memories. Boy was definately my favourite U2 album with some great tracks. A day without me, Twilight and The electric co. particularly being my favourite. These songs came from a time when they were making there way into the pop/rock world and show great creativity and passion. U2 have become too big for my personal taste these days, I don't think they'll be playing my local pub again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth 19.99, 3 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Morris (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
This is my favourite album of all time. Worth every penny of the 19.99. The isn't just a double CD as one of the premature reviews said previously. Its a beautifully packaged book with 2 CD's. Why do people review items before they come out? I'm a life long U2 fan and I have all of the bonus tracks on vynyl so its great to now have them now on CD. The remastering of the main album is vastly superior to the original CD. Who's complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate album just got better, 3 July 2008
By 
Mr. I. Jackson "whiterat1977" (North East of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
Before I start i would agree that the price is a bit steep, however BOY is such a great album and with these added extras which I know all true fans will have somewhere its nice to get all the stuff from this period together in one package plus nice booklet etc. No one is forced into buying this and I myself have UK JAP and Canadian versions of BOY on Vinyl and CD but I will be buying this version too. This is the ultimate U2 album much better than the ridiculous singles album released last year which was missing some of the better tracks featured here and on October which almost tops boy for its inclusion of the live Boston 81 recording which are awesome and never bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Exhaustive As You Would Like!, 2 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
Imagine, if you will, an alternate reality. In this alternate reality, U2 failed to take the enormous stylistic left turn required to conquer the world, and instead carried on with more of the same after reaching a commercial and creative apex in the mid 80's, and thus, fell victim to the inevitable law of diminishing returns. To this end, U2 carried on making the same type of bombastically nave records they trademarked in their formative years, never headlined anywhere bigger than a 10,000 seat arena, and eventually fell into disgrace when Nirvana killed the old music dead. In this reality, U2 plodded on for a bit before they split up and made largely ignored solo records.

Think... that's how close it could've been for U2. Instead, as we all know, they invented stadium rock, before turning into some kind of leftfield, weird art music project for most of the 90's, and conquering the world in the 00's as an institution. Until recently, U2 meanwhile, have fiercely resisted the temptation to become a nostalgia act : it is only with these releases and last years "Joshua Tree" set that U2 have started to look like historians. Not for them, the Greatest Hits tour, or the We're-Playing-The-Whole-Of-An-Ancient-Album tour. Until last year, U2 have always been pushing forward.

Taken on their own merits, "Boy", "October" and "War" are good, but not great albums. The sound of a band growing into itself. On "Boy" the songs sound like the products of cramped rehearsal rooms, of snatched moments forged on and off stage, of people exploring themselves and barely scratching the surface of the possibility. The original LP is a classic of its kind, a left-field assortment of songs that told us U2 could go in any direction they wanted to, with influences write large such as the American Art Rock of the 70's, of Television and the Ramones and Talking Heads and also, very definitely, their own people, their own identity, doing only what greats have ever done, in terms of making them sound like more than the sum of the parts, of a product of their environment yet also, definitely their own men. The production is brash and light and the band sound oddly confident (which is almost, but not quite arrogant) in their abilities. "Boy" is an embryo of an album, and thus, perhaps an underlooked addition to their work : it hints clearly at the band they would become whilst telegraphing where they have been. Debut albums rarely came so assured, or competent, in those days.

The bonus disc - as with all the extra tracks on these packages - are unfortunately a unforgivable disappointment for the knowledgable U2 fan. Whilst it thankfully compiles all the bands non-album songs of the era, it cruelly neglects to include both the first demo tape, and the legendary Boston 1981 concert is present only in small fragments as they were later used as b-sides : (both this demo, and the full 60 minute concert, were recently digitally remastered and released on the iTunes only "Complete U2" Box Set so their exclusion is frankly unforgivable). There is certainly space on the discs, with some careful sequencing, to include all the available stuff, and this release is a halfway house that pleases nobody. Quite why it is missing is baffling and a little insulting to fans who prefer the old fashioned age of the physical product. Also missing - though this would've required a third disc - is a televised Dublin 1980 concert which contained several unreleased songs, or the oft-bootlegged early demos. Of the unreleased stuff on the second "Boy" disc, there is a virtually indistinguishable alternate mix of "I Will Follow", two pretty good songs that should've come out at the time ("Speed Of Life" and "Saturday Night"), and a live version of "Cartoon World" from the aforementioned Dublin concert. Overall, whilst the extra disc is an interesting curio, it is sequenced non-chronologically that presents a frustrating experience to actually sit down and listen to, and fails to make much sense, as the band travel backwards in time towards the discs conclusion. The omission of a large amount of previously-released material when there is ample space across the two CD's is also at best baffling, and, at worst the sound of a band missing an open goal to create an overall satisfactory package. Maybe they're holding this stuff back for another box set or reissue in 2018. Thanks guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy better than ever, extras 'interesting', 24 July 2008
By 
Doug Futers "dougfuters" (Nottingham, Kingom of Mercia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
The remastering has improved on the orginal album, but the interesting thing here is the extra cd. The alternate mix of I will follow is very good and the original version of Out of Control is better than the Boy version. Of the rest, boy-girl (both versions), tick tock (both versions) and Saturday Night (quite clearly the same tune as Fire) are very good, the earlier stuff has a tendency to sound like Devote era Buzzcocks or XTC and the version of Twilight is just plain weird.

One for the fans I think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best post punk album bar none, 6 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. I. Jackson "whiterat1977" (North East of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy (Audio CD)
Boy is U2s best album bar none it's a simple as that. Anyone who was into the band at the beginning knows this, only late comers will disagree. I bought boy after hearing it from a friend in 1980 and it blew me away and still does. It changed my tastes overnight. The production is flawless, the playing is superb and the edge has the greatest guitar sound around. Modern bands could do with checking out the edge's set up it's so crystal clear and yet powerfull as hell. The album is so full of life and every track runs into the next perfectly. If you only buy one U2 album this is the one don't listen to anyone who tells you otherwise. It's a cardinal sin that only one track is featured on the new U2 18 singles album. "A day without me" is better than anything U2 have done in the last 20 years or so. Trust me buy this album and enjoy an overlooked classic. Oh and don't forget how superb they were live too in those early days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boy
Boy by U2
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews