Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No-nonsense rock'n'roll - you can't get any better than this
Quo were contracted to do a second album of covers (after Don't Stop in 1996), and have remained true to their words...This basicly beats the socks off D.S., due to the raw energy and enjoyment Quo seem to have in playing the songs. Don't Stop had a little more variation in the type of songs, but many fans want them to play the serious rock'n'roll classics, like Roll...
Published on 30 April 2000

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How could it possibly have come to this?
As much as it pains me to say, but Status Quo hit an all time low with 'Famous In The Last Century'. This must surely be the poorest album that they have ever made - or will ever make.
Firstly, it's another covers album, which is bad enough - as if we hadn't had enough with 'Don't Stop'.
Secondly, with the possible exception of...
Published on 15 Mar 2006 by Bazzer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No-nonsense rock'n'roll - you can't get any better than this, 30 April 2000
By A Customer
Quo were contracted to do a second album of covers (after Don't Stop in 1996), and have remained true to their words...This basicly beats the socks off D.S., due to the raw energy and enjoyment Quo seem to have in playing the songs. Don't Stop had a little more variation in the type of songs, but many fans want them to play the serious rock'n'roll classics, like Roll Over Bethoven, Rave On, Mony Mony, Runaround Sue and others. Play this album at loud volume, and you will be encaptured by the party atmosphere the band create....I can hardly wait until they tour later this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How could it possibly have come to this?, 15 Mar 2006
By 
Bazzer (Eastbourne, England.) - See all my reviews
As much as it pains me to say, but Status Quo hit an all time low with 'Famous In The Last Century'. This must surely be the poorest album that they have ever made - or will ever make.
Firstly, it's another covers album, which is bad enough - as if we hadn't had enough with 'Don't Stop'.
Secondly, with the possible exception of 'Old Time Rock n Roll', there isn't a decent track on the whole record, including the bonus tracks - that's how bad it is, in my opinion.
Thirdly, as if to add insult to injury, the album went top 10 - a better chart position than any of their original recordings throughout the late 80's and 90's!
Whilst 'Famous In The Last Century' charted well, musically the 21st century couldn't have gotten off to a worse start as far as Quo were concerned.
Both Francis Rossi and Rick Parfitt have since stated that they were pushed into this by their then manager, David Walker, which leaves one burning question in mind from me, and quite possibly from many Quo fans: if you knew it was the wrong thing, then WHY DIDN'T YOU STAND UP TO HIM?
An absolute disaster! The only reason to buy this is to complete your Status Quo collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classics Quo'd up., 11 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As is the case with many latter quo albums and especially the covers ones this is generally believed to be poor.
I dont agree at all,i think it's a really fun album.
Actually i'd go as far as saying i prefer this to some original quo albums,and yes i'm a long time fan,its just fun to listen too and makes me feel good!
Because these are all classic songs there isn't really a bad track on here,a couple i'm not overly keen on but that's the songs themselves,nothing to do with quo.
Production on this is a big plus point,it's really nice and bold,almost with a live sound to it which in my opinion makes this one of the best sounding quo albums.
Not a cd to listen to seriously but for a great toe tappin' air guitarn' time this can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Back to their ROCKIN' Best!, 17 April 2000
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just got this thru' this morning. Wow, this is what they should've been goin' ALL the time. This is up there with the last one - Under the Influence - in terms of quality and production. Apart from the first and last track(s) - a waste of space, hence the one star off - this is the business. Roll Over Beethoven, Old Time Rock And Roll, Once Bitten Twice Shy, Sweet Home Chicago etc, etc . . . they just keep on comin' If you don't but another Status Quo album, or if you never have (Shame on you(!)), buy this one, you'll never forgive yourself if you don't. A fitting epitaph for Jeff Rich who has chosen the release of this album to announce his departure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Foot off the Pedal?, 22 Dec 2000
By A Customer
It appears that this bouncy album - as fun as it is - and indeed it is unmistakably Quo - nevertheless shows that the lads have softened up ( at least in the recording studio) a little and that sharp, driving edge doesn't really grab you as it did in the past. One or two covers - Sweet Home Chicago is an example - are too formulistic and don't really match up to the verve of the originals. Having said that, if you love Quo, you'll at least like the collection which would liven up a party playing most other species of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Real Disappointment, 12 Nov 2001
As much as I hate to say it, as a long term fan of Status Quo, this is perhaps the band's worst album in their recording history. Possibly worse than Spare Parts ( the 2nd album). The only thing which makes me feel any better about this recording is that the Quo also admit that it is not good - apparently , they were contractually obliged to make this album. Basically, this album is an extended version of the Anniversary Waltz singles - a collection of fifties standards done well, but you can just tell that the enthusiasm is not in the same studio. There is one new track which makes it a must - buy for the completist, but that's about it. I still love and support the Quo, but this is a very low point. I truly hope that the next new album is the rocker that the band has promised. It's the least us loyal fans deserve.
In summary, Famous In The Last Century is the Blue Nun compared to the Champagne of the Quo's classic output. It's ok, but you know that they're capable of a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album. Buy it and you won't regret it., 27 May 2000
By 
Chris White "Chris White" (United states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you ignore the title track, the album kicks off in high gear and doesn't have a breather until it hits a couple they shouldn't have done, namely 'Hound Dog' and 'Good Golly Miss Molly'. With one more covers album due I hope the band can look it some more recent songs to add some 'Quo curry' to. Production really brings the guitars out. Listen to the sharpness of Parfitts guitar in "Roll over beethoven' and 'Claudette.' But we would all prefer another album of originals first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Album, 29 April 2000
By A Customer
I bought this album a couple of weeks ago and needed to play it several times to finally make my mind up. It is an absolutely brilliant album.
Songs to watch out for: Roll Over Beethoven, Old Time Rock N Roll, Way Down, Mony Mony, Rock N Me, Once Bitten Twice Shy
If you love Quo buy it, if you hate Quo buy it you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The true QUO guitar sound is back!, 12 April 2000
By A Customer
Excellent selection of tracks, plus great production has ensured that the unique raw QUO sound has returned.
All songs are rockers, with the band giving 150%.
Tracks to watch for
When I'm Dead and Gone, Old Time Rock N Roll, Onec Bitten Twice Shy, Mony Mony,
Terrific fun, buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Devoted fans only would buy this i think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews