Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Metallica fans
If your a hardcore Metallica fan or if not this double Cd is a must have. A great arrangement of covers performed to perfection. If you have been told that Metallica have gone soft in the later years then you should just listen to the Cd and find out for yourself that that statement is not true. Metallica rock and will forever.
Published on 22 Oct 2000 by danhairs@aol.com

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massively Over-rated
This is an album that seems to be really popular, so I bought it in HMV. I took it home and listened to it and I was really disappointed. The covers aren't as good as the reviews said and it made me think Metallica only made it because they couldn't think of any original songs. My honest opinion is that the first four albums (Kill em all, Ride the Lightning, Master of...
Published 8 months ago by David Dobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Metallica fans, 22 Oct 2000
By 
danhairs@aol.com (Launceston, Egland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
If your a hardcore Metallica fan or if not this double Cd is a must have. A great arrangement of covers performed to perfection. If you have been told that Metallica have gone soft in the later years then you should just listen to the Cd and find out for yourself that that statement is not true. Metallica rock and will forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET THIS ALBUM NOW..., 14 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Garage Inc. (Audio CD)
Garage Inc. is one of the best albums that Metallica have ever released. They may all be covers, but they still rock. Songs like Turn The Page, Astronomy, Die Die My Darling, Sabbra Cadabbra, Loverman, and Whiskey In The Jar really get me going. And what about the Mercyful Fate medley - good isn't it! Not only that, but CD2 also includes all the tracks from the Garage Days album, which, these days, you'll be very lucky to get. Does it get much better than this? I think not!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic & Rockin' set., 8 July 2010
This review is from: Garage Inc. (Audio CD)
I first heard this album when it came out back in '98 but which i've only just bought and loved the mix of songs especially on Disc 2 which covers Metallica's contemporaries at the time (early to late-eighties) as well as some of their personal favourites.
This album helped make me aware of bands like the Misfits and got me more interested in Motorhead who I've since seen live (30th anniversary tour @ the academy in Birmingham anyone?) What I really like about this album is the enthusiasim that goes into the songs such as the Diamond Head song Am I Evil? or So What by the Anti-Nowhere League.
Another good thing about the album is hearing James Hetfield singing songs like Turn The Page and Loverman as it shows another side to his voice. I liked this album after getting into Metallica more through the Black album onwards so would recommend it to someone who might not necessarily own their first few albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica - what else can you say, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garage Inc. (Audio CD)
These dudes are awesome - the cover of Turn the Page is a particular favourite as it is a real slow and heavy classic. Still turning out the goods after 25 years, as well. This is a must for anyone metal back catalogue, but if you play along, remember to drop tune your guitar :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Garage Inc. (Audio CD)
You can't really give a covers album five out of five, but this double CD comes very close. The quality shines through from the fact that Metallica pick obscure covers and they are a diverse range too. The first CD does have one or two mistakes in the playing, but is well produced and gives a live in the studio vibe to it, which is refreshing. Top picks of CD1, recorded in September 1998, are the Mercyful Fate medley, the groovy as hell Sabbra Cadabra, the wistful Astrology by the Blue Oyster Cult, Bob Seger's gloomy Turn The Page and a cover of Nick Cave's even gloomier Loverman.
CD2 is a reissued compilation of the rare B-sides and original "Garage" days. "Am I Evil?" and "Blitzkrieg" first appeared as B-sides to the November 1984 release of the "Creeping Death" single. The first five tracks on CD2 are ... recorded in six days during the summer of 1987 as a prelude to Donington 1987. This includes the classic "Last Caress" by the Misfits and the tense "The Wait" by Killing Joke. Tracks 8 and 9 were B-sides recorded in January 1988 to the release of the "Harvester Of Sorrow" single the following September. Track 10 is a record label anniversary celebration cover - Queen's "Stone Cold Crazy" has never sounded better. But the best track is from the "Black Album" sessions of 1991 - the Anti-Nowhere League's "So What" contains some of the most vulgar lyrics you'll hear in a song. Unsurprisingly, this British band's signature tune was banned when it was released originally in 1981. The album finishes off with a Motorhead tribute from the "Load" sessions in late 1995 - best track here, and possibly on the whole album, is "Damage Case" - it rocks.
All in all, well worth buying. It is a sign of the influence of British bands that so many of them are represented here. Try Slayer's "Undisputed Attitude" for a clutch of punk covers that are even more furious and extreme than the music here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best covers album EVER!!!, 13 April 2005
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Garage Inc. (Audio CD)
Let me start by saying that this album is amazing!!! I've owned it for what must be in the region of 6 years and I still love it to bits.

This is the album that got me into Metallica. The first song I heard from this album was "Die Die My Darling", a cover of the old Misfits song.

Other notable tracks include the fantastic "It's Electric", a glorious version of "Astronomy" and a huge 11 minute Merciful Fate medley. Metallica also show their softer side with a beautifully soulful version of Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Tuesday's Gone" taken from a BBC radio session and including guests (such as Alice In Chains quitarist Jerry Cantrell).

The first CD comprises of tracks recorded for the album. The second CD features B-Side cover tracks and rarities recorded through the years.

I cannot reccommend this album enough. I still listen to this album quite regularly and still vastly enjoy it.

Garage Inc. is unmissable to any fan of Metallica or rock/metal music in general. Absolutely fantastic!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING ENERGY AND IMPACT - PLAY IT OVER AND OVER, 11 Dec 2001
This review is from: Garage Inc. [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I love this album. I am not a Metallica fenatic but this album could easily make you one. I bought the album after seeing the video to "Turn The Page" and knew I would have to know more abut this group as they had more appeal than any other Rock act I had ever heard before. I listen to disk 1 at work on headphones and get so engrosed in it's raw energy and the groups amazing guitar playing abilities. Many people at work ask to borrow this album so they can listen to it when they have just got to get that major work done for the boss! Other people who play guitar say how covers of songs on disk 2 like "Whiskey in the Jar" are the best they have ever heard. An all together very enjoyable compilation of old and new in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garage Inc. (Audio CD)
this is a very good metallica album as the songs on it are all good in their own right a must buy for all metallica fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exquisite, 28 July 2013
By 
Radu Mihailescu (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garage Inc - 3LP [VINYL] (Vinyl)
sensational item due to content and quality of recording. presentation is also very good bottom line I am very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super!!, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garage Inc. (Audio CD)
Very good stuff and price, my doughter is very happy, she ask me to buy cose she like rock and metal music and I like Metallica too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad2bbc6c)

This product

Garage Inc.
Garage Inc. by Metallica
Buy MP3 Album9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews