Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Siegal Goes Solo, 17 Nov. 2008
This review is from: THE DUST (Audio CD)
The Dust represents Ian Siegal's first "solo" effort and it is a suprising mix of Country and Western , Blues and Gospel songs.

Somehow Ian gets away with it (he usually does)with his strong vocals equally at home with all styles. I'm a blues fan myself and do prefer the more bluesy tracks but if the sign of a good album is that no tracks are skipped then this is a very good album indeed.

If you get a chance to see Ian live grab it with both hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Hell !!!, 2 Dec. 2008
This review is from: THE DUST (Audio CD)
I read about this CD in Mojo magazine where it was awarded Blues Album Of The Month for December 08 . Must admit i was a bit wary because i love all types of American music from blues to country through to soul etc but i never feel that anyone can do it as well as the Americans . I took a chance on this anyway and....it's good . Very , very good. In fact it's bloody magnificent and i can't stop playing it all the time !
Superb acoustic stuff all the way with top-notch musicianship , great songs (covers and brilliant originals) and some of the best , most passionate vocals you'll hear in a long time . I've been converted , this guy's as good as any American out there and , Ian , this is a damn masterpiece my man . More please......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dust, 24 April 2009
By 
G. Reader (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE DUST (Audio CD)
The number of times I have played this album since being given it, it will soon be dust. I have seen Ian a couple of times in St Albans and been privilaged to photograph him at one of the gigs, his style is powerful and comes from the heart. On hearing him you would think he had just stepped out of the Mississippi. This album is a 'solo' album, he does have single guest musicians accompaning him on 4 tracks which enhances the songs not saying that Ian isn't any good on his own, he's inspiring! I first saw him as an acoustic solo act and this CD relives that. Although a blues singer some would say that a couple of tracks sound 'Country', but with Ian's interpretation it's far from sounding like Roger Miller. He has been liken to the english Howling Wolf, on one track he name checks Wolfman Jack a USA DJ, and sounds like him. Whether you like blues or not listen to this album once and you'll be hooked and searching the web for Ian's gigs, shame he doesn't do more solo gigs over in the UK.
When you buy this album and you get to the last scheduled track, leave the CD playing, as on my copy 15 seconds after the 'last' track finishes he starts playing one more; a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality modern blues with traditional values, 10 April 2014
By 
R Kupisz (no fixed abode) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dust (MP3 Download)
Saw him at a music festival in January and have been catching up on his back catalog. Ian has an expressive and emotive voice and is a laid back guitarist who plays to support the song, not to show off. His music therefore has real depth to it. A real blues man, who also looks the part.

Recent releases by some of the highly touted new guys on the block seem quite formulaic (a fast one, a slow one, a rocky one, Chigago shuffle... like checking off the list). Ian's music is not like that - I get the feeling that its all about the songs.

The same review applies to the other 2 CDs I bought at the same time so forgive me for cutting & pasting. There are differences in style between them so by no means cookie cutter product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IAN SEIGAL BLOWS THE DUST AWAY, 9 Dec. 2008
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE DUST (Audio CD)
WOW! This is some album,best blues set of the year.This is pure class by the best voice in blues today.Ian's already produced two stunning albums in 'Meat And Potatoes',then last years awesome 'Swagger',now we get this acoustic set that surely although only originally intended for an online release,got reviewed by magazines like Mojo,album of the month,it just had to get a full release.Here is an album that is just so good you'll just play it over and over again.Ian's voice although he's English springs from the Mississippi dust,a modern day Howlin' Wolf,his guitar pickin' and slide work is absolutely stunning.Every track on this varied set is so good,whether studio or live,whether solo or with simple support.I first saw Ian as support on a Bill Wyman Rhythm Kings tour playing this type of acoustic blues,I was knocked out then,now this comes along,oh! just get it it's absolutely terrific from beginning to end.Dare I say it but it's vastly superior to the current Seasick Steve offering.This is British but I'll tell you you'll not hear a better album by anyone anywhere this year.If you like Chris Smither,you will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Siegal at his best!!, 29 Sept. 2011
By 
Mrs. Carole Armstrong "caz" (derbyshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE DUST (Audio CD)
Have seen Ian play lots of times . This is yet another brilliant album from a truly awesome entertainer. Can,t wait for his next release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE DUST (Audio CD)
Ian Siegal at his brilliant best, excellent tracks and musically brilliant. Ian is a master with music like this absolutely superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE TO LISTEN TO., 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE DUST (Audio CD)
TAKES A LITTLE WHILE TO GET HOOKED ON THIS ONE COMPARED TO HIS LATER MATERIAL. BUT ONCE HOOKED IT TAKES SOME BEATING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE DUST
THE DUST by Ian Siegal (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews