Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Quality tracks that will be happily replaying in your head to the point of craving another listen."
Funky dance pop. That's the best way I can think of describing this modern masterpiece of musical perfection. A blend of a true spectrum of genia from the strong Freddie Mercury-esque vocals to the having-fun style adopted by style companions 'Scissor Sisters,' Mika has managed to cross boundaries. By no means is Mika a style stealer though - while drawing from a wide...
Published on 23 Jan 2007 by Líam

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inoffensive
In an intemperate 2007 review of this inoffensive mainstream pop record for The Guardian newspaper the music journalist Alexis Petridis melodramatically described the process of listening to the multi-million selling Life In Cartoon Motion as, "like being held at gunpoint by Bonnie Langford".
Published 16 months ago by S Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Quality tracks that will be happily replaying in your head to the point of craving another listen.", 23 Jan 2007
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
Funky dance pop. That's the best way I can think of describing this modern masterpiece of musical perfection. A blend of a true spectrum of genia from the strong Freddie Mercury-esque vocals to the having-fun style adopted by style companions 'Scissor Sisters,' Mika has managed to cross boundaries. By no means is Mika a style stealer though - while drawing from a wide influence, Mika has carved a space of his own. The effect? Quality tracks that will be happily replaying in your head to the point of craving another listen. Not in recent times has such an artist been discovered, and in a music industry dominated by s**t emo wannabes and people claiming to have the X-Factor - by which we mean their soon to be celeb list ranking - Mika's sound is a very welcome one: cheery, fun, carefree happy times! Mika, Bienvenue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great debut, 26 Mar 2007
By 
Clarissa Linnitt "musicadian" (Orkney, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
He's being hailed as the new big thing in the UK, and after hearing Mika's Grace Kelly as it stormed through the charts to the top, I jumped at the first chance to listen to the album.

At first, it didn't meet my high expectations with its slightly Scissor Sisters-esque sound ('Love Today') and almost too-poppy tracks ('Lollipop'), but with second listens, they're already growing on me. It wasn't until about half way through that I discovered it contains some irresistibly catchy little ditties such as 'Big Girl (You Are Beautiful)', 'Billy Brown' and 'Stuck In The Middle'. It ends with a bonus track, 'Ring Ring', which continues the vibe that screams 'LISTEN TO ME OVER AND OVER' at you - and I certainly have no problems obliging.

However, the album certainly has its weak points. It slows down slightly for a funky bassline in 'Relax (Take It Easy)', but unfortunately, despite the good beats, it's the chorus that puts me off wanting to listen to it more. This leads onto possibly the weakest track on the CD, 'Any Other World', which perks up now and then with some hopeful violins, but the track soon drifts back to its softer melodies.

While the CD features some fantastic upbeat pop songs, it just generally isn't as amazing as it could be. In fact, if I had to sum up the album in one word, 'amazing' would not be it. I would definitely call it 'rather good', though. The piano and catchy hooks keep you wanting more and Mika's voice ensures a great sound. For a debut, it's a great CD, and certainly worth the money if you were a fan of 'Grace Kelly'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !!, 15 April 2007
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
I am so glad I bought this album - I've listened to it practically non stop ever since. The feel good 'Grace Kelly' and 'Love Today' single tracks are fab for warm summer days. 'My Interpretation' and 'Any Other World' are beautifully written and expertly delivered and 'Big Girl' and 'Billy Brown' - well I just love them! I could go on for hours but I'm off to listen to it again instead - do not miss this album buy it now - you won't be sorry - I think this man is a genius with one of the most fantastic voices and ranges I've heard - play it loud!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mega star is born, 6 Feb 2007
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
This Cd was brilliant ,I played the whole album and there wasn't one bad song on it,they were all brilliant.This guy had a lovely voice and he writes his own songs,A genius.He's been compared to Scissor Sisters,whom i'm a big fan off,ive got all there cd's .I think Mika is better than them.Im looking forwards to what this guy will produces next:-)

stuart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one duff track on the whole CD, 7 Feb 2007
By 
Sue from France "Sue" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
How rare is that! Every track is individual, in both lyrics and style and the instrumental arrangements are brilliant. Mika's voice is very gymnastic, very Freddie Mercury. I first heard Grace Kelly on Radio 2 (me being 40 and all....) and had to get my teenage son to download it, since then all of my kids have put in on their MP3s, Mika rules across the age range. The album is no different - refreshingly original, nothing else like it out there folks. Looks like Mika is here to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional first album, 28 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
A voice that ranges from the falsetto of Jake Shears, through a pinch of Elton John with hints of Darryl Hall, Andrew Gold with notes of Thom Yorke, Mika's debut album is great fun. Well produced, uplifting, it's toe-tappingly good. I don't know much about Mika, only what I have read in the press or on the t'internet, lucky enough to hear an advance copy I can only press upon you to go out and buy this album when it's released in early February. Some of it is a bit too Scissor Sisters, but if you felt Ta Da was a disappointment, then this sounds like the album that one should have been. Don't wait to hear the single go out and buy the album. Stand out track for me on a first listen is Big Girl (You Are Beautiful, a Fat Bottomed Girl for the new Millenium. Good Times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!, 21 April 2007
By 
Sue (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
I agree that this is a fantastic album. It's true that there's more than a hint of Scissor Sisters, Freddie Mercury/Queen and Robbie in the various songs but this is part of the appeal for me. Every song has a catchy beat and I find myself singing along in the car every day on the way to work.

I've also noticed that the opening bars of Relax, Take It Easy seem to be very reminiscent of the tune to Cutting Crew's "I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight". Go on - sing along and see what I mean!!

That said, I love his style and think he could have a good future ahead of him. Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab.. Fab.. Fab, 1 Feb 2007
By 
Ms. G. O. Moore "gemmoore" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
I didnt think i would like Mika how wrong i was!

Grace Kelly is fabulous but the rest of the album so lives up to its Hype.

All the songs are funky and so so catchy. This guy has such a great range highlighted in the beautiful love song Happy Ending, which if released will surely be huge.

Mixed in with such fab tunes as My Interpretation, Big Girl (you are beautiful)and Lollipop which is ridiculous but fantastic.

Get this album... this guy is gonna be huge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The MUST BUY album of the year, 12 Feb 2007
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
If you only buy one album this year, this has got to be the one. Destined to be the next "Queen - Greatest Hits" that everyone has a copy of, this is one album which does not disappoint. Amazingly, this is Mika's debut album, and if the quality and variety of offerings on here are anything to go by, he will be around for a long time yet.

Track Review:

1. Grace Kelly - If you haven't heard this song yet, where have you been? Straight in at number 1 in the charts on downloads alone before the single had even been released on CD, this bouncy number delivers on a number of levels. There is the obvious Scissor-Sisters strain which everyone has been picking up on, and yet, tucked away (and referenced within the song itself) in the background there is not just a hint of Freddie Mercury-style piano punching. A great opener to the album.

2. Lollipop - A simple refrain from the beginning finds its way easily into your head, and before the song has even finished its first play, you are singing along to the chorus asking yourself how you know the lyrics! If "Love's gonna get you down" then you'll really get down to this song!

3. My Interpretation - A soft starting ballad with some wonderful chord changes which keep the song fresh time after time. Mika shows how he doesn't always have to sing in his upper registers to sound great. In sections could even be a Robbie Williams hit.

4. Love Today - "You've got to love, love me".. A techno-pop-funk hit with strains of Scissor Sisters (although I hate comparing him against SS, on times it cannot be helped) which is sure to make this a hit. One of the most likely songs on the album to be released as a single.

5. Relax, Take it Easy - Slowing the mood down a little after the high speed Love Today, "RTIE" is a simple-sounding song which has so many different layers to it you will have to listen to it a few times to notice everything that is going on in the backing track from China-town to 80's pop. There have been many comments of "it reminds me of something else", and the opening bars could easily be the start of Cutting Crew's 80's hit - "I just died (in your arms tonight)"

6. Any Other World - When the world is being terrorised by suicide bombers, power-crazed politicians and general madness, how can you put it into a song? Somehow Mika manages to do it in a way that is inoffensive, yet extremely thought provoking. Is this is answer to Queen's "The World We Created"?

7. Billy Brown - A funny little song about a married man who falls in love with another man. Read what you want into sexual preferences, commitment, love relationships, whether this is about Mika personally or not is irrelevant. It just goes to show how people have to live with their decisions. Trumpets and trombones add to a pseudo big-band sound that gives yet another style to Mika's repertoire.

8. Big Girl - If you've got it, flaunt it. The more the merrier. A 70's style disco hit, this is a definite crowd singalong.

9. Stuck in the Middle - a mainly piano-vocal song, this one is not one of the strongest songs on the album, yet gives an insight into the many facets of Mika's talent.

10. Happy Ending/Over My Shoulder - an R&B style song about relationships and how they don't always work out how you want. The second "hidden" track is a seriously haunting falsetto and piano song which would not be out of place in a Wolrd Cinema soundtrack (think French black and white films).

11. Ring Ring - a "bonus track" on the album, this is yet another example of how big Mika is going to be. A Grace Kelly rival in the making, this is another track which is bound to get airtime if released as a single.

The album also has hidden extras. Put the CD in your PC and you will be presented with a registration page for "exclusive" mailings etc. Not only that, one you have verified your disc, you will be given access to videos of Mika performing Billy Brown and Grace Kelly on piano, as well as acoustic versions of Love Today and My Interpretation as found on the "Dodgy Holiday EP" album. The acoustic sets are played on Freddie Mercury's grand piano, and may even be the same one as in the videos.

Overall, an amazing first offering from a new talent who is sure to make it big in the months and years to come. It will be interesting to see if he is around 20-30 years later like Freddie, Queen and Elton. Time will tell, but this is a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It! Love It! Love It!, 13 Mar 2007
By 
RozziD "Rose" (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Life in Cartoon Motion (Audio CD)
If you like the Scissor Sisters - you'll love this album. 'Grace Kelly' is one of those songs that gets stuck in your head and if you're not trying to hit the high notes without attracting all the local dogs, you'll just be singing it all day!! The other tracks are great too - my favourites are 'Grace Kelly', obviously, 'Lollypop' and 'Big Giel (You Are Beautiful). This album is going become a party special - I just know it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews