Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resistance is futile
Remember that feeling after entering a nightclub, full of promise, full of adrenaline, full of the unknown, and just being sure this night will be one of the best of all time? We welcome The New Young Pony Club, a band who have managed to capture that unrestrained joy onto one pleasure-seeking thrill of an album.
Fantastic Playground is the soundtrack to every...
Published on 19 Sep 2007 by Sam Crawford

versus
11 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Behind a fashionable exterior is something very bland and uninspiring
In the time it takes me to write this review, this record will already have dated another 25%. That's a fact. Probably.

Anyway, what have we here? The sound du jour, all angular synths and deadpan ice cool vocals. Except, hang on a minute, doesn't this sound EXACTLY like the electroclash of 4 years ago. Remove the stupid and inaccurate 'nu rave' tag and yup,...
Published on 14 Aug 2007 by Bernard H. Christ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resistance is futile, 19 Sep 2007
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
Remember that feeling after entering a nightclub, full of promise, full of adrenaline, full of the unknown, and just being sure this night will be one of the best of all time? We welcome The New Young Pony Club, a band who have managed to capture that unrestrained joy onto one pleasure-seeking thrill of an album.
Fantastic Playground is the soundtrack to every partygoers hedonistic lifestyle. Overflowing with infectious pulsing baselines, addictive synth hooks and vocals that define the epitome of flirtatious exchange, it's doused with lashings of mischief, naughtiness and enough grinding sex appeal to make resistance utterly futile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the Sound!...' of Summer 07..., 16 Jun 2007
By 
Dave (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
First thing's first, there is nothing particularly 'new-rave' about New Young Pony Club. Yes their music is very dance-able and yes they toured with Klaxons but if you had to list their influences you would start with 80s new wave as opposed to 90s rave. There's a definite hint of Blondie to them and this album certainly owes much to the B-52s, Human League and even The Waitresses but what brings this album to the future is most certainly Tahita Bulmer; the all-dancing Hoxton hair-cutted front-woman of the coolest pop (yes POP) band in the world.

All the sex of Karen O, the sophistication of PJ Harvey, the fun of Madonna, the ballsy strut of Missy and Debby Harry's ability to make herself the centerpiece of every song she sings, Bulmer is destined to be an icon. She's the kind of girl PJ Harvey sings about, the one Debbie Harry wanted to 'Rip to Shreds'. And this is never more evident than on 'Ice Cream', aka the scenester's anthem and a song so perfectly destined for chart success you can virtually hear the sound of Tahita shoving Rihanna off of the throne of 'number 1 of 2007'. And at its center of course is the lady herself half-rapping filthily suggestive lyrics about 'fantastic flavoured fancy/ sick like Sid and Nancy' in her sex-chat drone. But this is far from the album's peak, 'Hiding On the Staircase' is what it would sound like if ska-era No Doubt were fronted by Kelis as `jungle drums fade in the background' over the catchy hook of "it's the sound!" and lyrics about 'revolution in the bedroom', while 'The Bomb''s adrenaline fuelled 80s disco is the sound of Duran-Duran colliding with Kylie's 'Can't Get You Outta My Head' at full speed.

But it's the chilled out Ponies which suits them best, be it ludely suggesting all sorts on 'Jerk Me', moodily shrugging off a talkative lover on 'Talking, Talking', sound-tracking a night out circa 1AM on the brilliant 'The Get Go' or stressing over the great Kate Moss/Posh size debate on the ridiculously good closer 'Tight Fit'. The lyrics may sometimes appear to lack the focus of 'Ice Cream' and '...Staircase'; "I'm your F-A-N, M-A-N" from dance-floor stomp 'FAN', "It's alright, as long as it's black or white, except when they're grey, that's not my favorite colour" from Grey. But delve deeper into the former and you'll hear a celebration of narcissism and an attack on sexism while the latter has enough groove- along with a hint of 80s minimalist pop- for you not to care that Tahita appears to be deciding what to wear on record.

Fans of pop from CSS to Gwen Stefani will love it, those that believe the charts are a reserve for Kasabian and The View will hate it, Girls Aloud and Sugababes will be jealous of it; either way the elasticated basslines, the bleepy synths, the stuttering drums, funk guitars and to cool-to-sing vocals will soundtrack a long hot summer. 'The sound of revolution in the bedroom' indeed!

Highlights: Hiding On The Staircase, Ice Cream, The Bomb, The Get Go, FAN, Tight Fit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poptastic, 3 Aug 2007
By 
A. Wainwright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
I like everything about this album. The production is amazing for a pop album. The drums sound perfect. Tight, distorted with dance influenced breakbeats. The bass guitar is funky and slightly growling and uncomplicated. Add some nice synth stabs and what you have is a very catchy, well made album that will not leave the cd player.

The album will appeal to indie people and the house/electro crowd. In fact "Ice cream" sounds alot like Miss Kitten but with a pop edge.

The lead singer has a cockyness about her and she makes mundane vocals sound interesting. Very sexy singing style.

"Ice cream", "talking talking" and "the bomb" are the standout tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic playroom, 11 July 2007
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
i only discovered nypc a month or so ago on a tv show of the o2 festival and loved them instantly - you know that feeling when you find something musically that you just know is right up your alley?! (who says there's no such thing as love at first sight?). it was the song 'the bomb' that did it for me, of the few they showed, there was just something about them..... well, this album just cements my feelings. it is simple, sexy pop music with a great attitude, playful lyrics and a great style. i think the track order is tops too, the songs flow really well into each other and tight fit is the perfect finale. i hope i can catch them live soon. highlights for me are: get lucky, ice cream, the bomb, the get go, grey, f.a.n. and tight fit, though i love all the songs. am one happy boy i brought this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bass-synth-drumtastic, 3 Sep 2007
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
Wow....what a record....first listen and I'm putting "The Bomb" on repeat play....superb basslines,haunting keyboards....a classic...

NYPC are clearly influenced by a variety of eighties dance records as well as some more modern punk-funk but with a real stripped down punch that explodes from the speakers.

Tahita Bulmers vocals are perfect for some of the cut glass beats and glacial synths. There are very few fillers, its nearly all killer and "The Get Go" is the finest four minutes of pop in 2007.....no kidding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plastic Fantastic, 8 May 2009
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
fairly vacuous but in a stylized way; New Young Pony Club join the likes of CSS and Bat for Lashes as 2008's New Wave new kids on the block. With clear 80s influences, this album isn't groundbreaking but is zesty, fun and eminently danceable. My favourite track is 'Jerk Me' and my least favourite is the aptly named 'Grey'. However, I can highly recommend this CD for fans of pure pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Wavey-Electro-Punkey Thingy, 25 Jan 2008
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
Interestingly I have had some quite extreme reactions from some of the people who I have spoken to about this record. I think it never helps when a band gets well known via an over-played advert (Intel used `Ice Cream' for one of their adverts) but I really rate this record. For a change I actually think the more interesting tracks are at the end of the record then the start where they break away from the Blondie, nu-wave type sound.

NYPC produce some nice neat songs and clearly have listened to a lot of different sources to produce modern smart pop. They remind me a little of a cleaner sounding CSS. I believe their live performances can leave a little to be desired. We shall see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Young Pony Club, 20 Jan 2008
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
>>> I'm Into Emo/ Rock music; My Chemical Romance, Linkin Park, ect, but When I Heard NYPC, I Thought Wow, I Like.
Very Catchy.
Very Snazzy.
Recommend To All!

=] Hannah >>>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definetley a grower, 5 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
This is for all the Indie Disco fans out there!! When i first heard this album i admit i didn't like it and then about the third time i listened to it it grew!! You find yourself singing along to Tahita's harsh vocals and slowly start to dance to the funky beats!! i really recommend this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now we're cooking, 21 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Playroom (Audio CD)
Here is the recipe required to make the perfect 'Fantastic Playground':-

Firstly, we will need the core ingredients of: New-Rave and New-Wave. Try not to worry if you don't have any New-Rave in, because a touch of 'Electro-Clash' will do just as well. The important thing is that we create a rhythmic dance groove.

We will now need to add in some layers of synths, plus lashings of angular guitars. I recommend the use of: Blondie, B-52s, New Order (Peter Hook style base playing, plus those synths), David Bowie (think his 'Scary Monsters' album - what with all those angular guitars and bleepy synths) and Duran Duran (it's that 'Girls on film' style bassline).

We will now need to add in a very large amount of sauce - judging by the suggestive lyrics.

Finally, give it a good stir and bring to boiling point, then serve.

* This is also suitable for vegetarians, vegans, CSS and Klaxon fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic Playroom
Fantastic Playroom by New Young Pony Club
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews