Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stoned in love - back in business
This terrific single is one of the best releases of 2006 so far and not so much a return to form for a Chicane as a return to existence - after the undeserved failure of Love on the Run in 2003 and the mysterious disappearance of its parent album Easy To Assemble it looked as if the world had decisively moved on from Nick Bracegirdle's take on progressive house and...
Published on 22 May 2006 by skywatcher

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Having heard the song first in the Jonathan Ross Show I was overwhelmed by Tom Jones outstanding vocal performance and Chicane's brill backing. I decided to purchase the single. When it arrived I could not wait to pop it into the CD Player. What a disapointment it turned out to be. Tom Jone's totally provided the vocals in the JR Show but in the single only provided the...
Published on 27 July 2006 by Y. F. Li


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stoned in love - back in business, 22 May 2006
This review is from: Stoned in Love (Audio CD)
This terrific single is one of the best releases of 2006 so far and not so much a return to form for a Chicane as a return to existence - after the undeserved failure of Love on the Run in 2003 and the mysterious disappearance of its parent album Easy To Assemble it looked as if the world had decisively moved on from Nick Bracegirdle's take on progressive house and melodic trance. But class evidently does not go out of fashion, as Stoned In Love's immediate top ten entry and substantial airplay attest.

It's close in style and substance to the aforementioned Love on the Run and 2000's no. 1 hit single Don't Give Up - a pulsating, rhythmic chunk of trance-pop with a strong vocal hook. But what really sets it apart is Sir Tom Jones's frankly magnificent performance. I've never been too enamoured of much of his solo work but that is on account more of the songs themselves rather than the voice, which is unquestionably one of the best in the business and arguably better than ever here.

I don't know if this single is being followed by an album but I certainly hope so. And if it re-explores some of the now-abandoned territory of Far From The Maddening Crowds then that will make it an essential purchase.

Either way, welcome back Nick - this is a classy piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SONG OF THE YEAR SO FAR?, 29 April 2006
By 
K. Brown (GLASGOW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stoned In Love [Cd2] (Audio CD)
ABSOLUTE CRACKER.A SONG THAT'LL MAKE YOU WANT TO GET UP AND DANCE FROM THE FIRST TIME YOU HEAR IT.THE BEST SONG TOM JONES HAS BEEN INVOLVED WITH SINCE "SEX BOMB" AND I BELIEVE THIS HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BETTER IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chicane, hopefully back from a long abscence, 30 April 2006
By 
M. J. Sparkes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stoned in Love (Audio CD)
I am a massive fan of chicane, and after a long time where they have been quiet i really hope this is the start of them returning to the dance circuit. This a cracking track and pretty typical of chicane but their more up beat side and a little less ambienent than they do. A good return from chicane and even tom jones does a good turn on this track and i am not a fan of his, so top stuff, come on chicane come back and keep churning out those awesome tracks that have made dance what it is today!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, the previous review is misleading and untrue, 1 Jun. 2006
By 
OKN Robinson "bored_jester" (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stoned in Love (Audio CD)
This song is a demonstration of the brilliance of the SINGLE PERSON that Chicane is, unfortunately not a band as the previous review states. Also, Tom Jones superb vocals ALL THE WAY THROUGH make this song a classic. Chicane enters none of his own vocals into any song. Amazon, should you not make sure reviews are of a factual nature before posting them?

BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT as well as "Behind The Sun"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mucho Chicanery, 22 May 2006
By 
Ms. R. C. S. Buckeridge (Fakenham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stoned in Love (Audio CD)
Luckily taped Jonathan Ross watched Tom Jones interview, nice but uneventful but at the end the instant the intro came on I was transfixed - watched it over and over again fascinated with both the words, the backing, lovely to hear congas (?) drums, amazing sounds, then bought the CD - quite a different sound, lots of voice modification, Tom sounds about 20, words clearer, very interesting and unexpected, so far have played nothing else since getting it. The words are excellent, going round and round the theme and not predictable. Am not a Tom Jones fan although always admired his sheer vocal power and range, but loved "Kiss" which Prince chewed up and spat out, missing the best bits, anyway I hope you enjoy as much as I did. Thank you Chicane I will now have to get the rest of your stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dancy groovey awesome, 10 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Stoned In Love [Cd2] (Audio CD)
i can't stop playing this. It makes me want to stand on a chair and wave my arms about while watching "eternal sunshine of the spotless mind" for some reason. And then get off the chair and dance about- a lot! It has a fantastic video- i think you can watch it on youtube, its hillarious. Tom Jones- he's the daddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stoned in Love (Audio CD)
I love this tom jones song its not on any other ov his cds iv been looking for it for ages love tom jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stoned in Love (Audio CD)
Great replacement as I lost mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 27 July 2006
By 
Y. F. Li (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stoned in Love (Audio CD)
Having heard the song first in the Jonathan Ross Show I was overwhelmed by Tom Jones outstanding vocal performance and Chicane's brill backing. I decided to purchase the single. When it arrived I could not wait to pop it into the CD Player. What a disapointment it turned out to be. Tom Jone's totally provided the vocals in the JR Show but in the single only provided the chorus. I'm sorry but I'm not a Chicane fan (I havent even heard of them until the JR Show) and the lead singer's voice was pretty lousey in comparison to Tom's. If I have heard the single on the radio first and have never heard it from the JR Show I would probably have totally dismissed it as another annoying piece of contemporary pop music. Unless you're a Chicane fan I don't recommend this purchase. Total disappointment. And to think I purchased both CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews