Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime. Colossal. All but perfect.
Usually quite judicious in my praise, I must start nonetheless by saying that this is one of the greatest jazz albums of all time (truly among the ranks of, if you're curious as to my frame of reference, Brubeck's "Time Out," Ella's 'Mack the Knife' Berlin concert, Trane's "My Favorite Things," Miles' "Kind of Blue," and "Porgy and...
Published on 16 Dec 1999

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine on its own terms.
How you rate this album probably depends largely on whether you consider it as a Coltrane album or as a Johnny Hartman album. As a Coltrane album it's a bit of an aberration - the quartet (this the classic quartet who were to produce A Love Supreme a year later!) are little more than a framing device for the singer and hardly get much opportunity to play, particularly...
Published 17 months ago by Falstaff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What music!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The combination of Johnny Hartman's voice and John Coltrane's playing is smooth, warm, melodic and just so wonderful to listen to at any time of day or night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mum loved it, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its hard for me to give a definite review as this was a gift for my mother.She wanted it for one particular track, however I know she loves the CD and all the other tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i am speechless .. luckily Johnny Hartman isnt!, 28 Oct 2011
i just discovered Johnny Hartman .. this album is sublime.. words just fail me .. but i need to add a few words so as to make 20 so review is posted ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Lush Serenade, 18 Nov 2010
By 
This album has tended to put off many Coltrane fans due to the smooth crooning of Hartman seeming incompatible with Coltrane's fiery music.Likewise,I've heard of Hartman fans who can't cope with the Coltrane "twiddlybits".For those like me,however,who adore any Coltrane despite the setting,I feel that some of this music is Coltrane's finest and I personally find "Lush Life" and "Autumn Serenade" with Hartman's soulful singing followed by a double time dose of Coltrane-Elvin Jones ecstacy to be outstanding examples of the tender side of the Coltrane Quartet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer perfection, 28 July 2010
The only flaw in this recording is that there isn't more of it! We all know Coltrane and his superb tone. His gift for improvisation however never prevented him from emphasising a beautiful melody and we have 5 of those here. Johnny Hartman on the other hand is known only to a select few having been overshadowed by better known performers such as Billy Eckstine. Suffice to say he is soulful, an excellent interpreter of a ballad and technically as perfect as Mel Torme but with a richness of tone that totally seduces and enchants the listener. The combination makes for one the greatest Jazz recordings of all time complete with an outstanding team of sidemen (!) in McCoy Tyner,Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones. Coltrane demonstrates his musicality by showing that he doesn't always have to be the main event and complements Hartmans cultured delivery perfectly in complete understated comfort. The choice of material is ideal to showcase Hartmans classic phrasing and effortless power. Its worth the price for My One and Only Love alone! An unmissable delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird, 10 May 2006
It is hard to imagine that this is the same band backing Johnny Hartman who recorded My Favourite Things, Crescent and A Love Supreme. I heard this first when it was a strong recommendation by the owner of a local record store. I was prepared for a different Coltrane experience with a vocalist but quite how different is amazing. Many writers have noted the difference in style of Oscar Peterson when he played backing people like Ben Webster compared to when he was leading his own band but that is nothing compared to this! I'm still not sure if I really like this or if it is all a bit too lounge jazz for my taste. If you do like this you must check out Jimmie Rowles The Peacocks, unfortunately high jacked by the Egomaniacal Stan Getz therefore listed on Amazon as by Getz, which was released as Stan Getz Presents...

Rowles vocal style (which he displays on just a handful of tracks, is similar to Hartman's and the title track on that album is just beautiful and Stan Getz sax does add to Rowles' wonderful melody so justifying his intrusion (he was just meant to be producer but couldn't help muscling in on the session)

This album though is something you will either love or hate and, despite my usual reservations when it comes to this sort of jazz singer, I think I fall into the former category so if you are not put off by the reservations buy this and enjoy Johnny Hartman with the most over qualified backing band you could wish to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful mellow music,a real treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coltrane with trimmings, 29 Mar 2012
By 
A. W. Kindness (London G.B.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Coltrane evidently made three LPs round 1962 because Bob Thiele the producer at Impulse was alarmed by the adverse criticism Coltrane's live recordings had received, and the possibility of falling record sales. There was the "Ballads" album, the album with Duke Ellington, and the present one.
The stars ( two and a half really ) are all for Coltrane and his fellow musicians who add much more to the contribution of Johnny Hartman, a kind of low-budget Billy Eckstine, than he does to Coltrane's music. A singer like Carmen McRae or Sarah Vaughan might have put some intensity and energy into the music, but Hartman croons his way thru these standards with all the zest of a limp cabbage.
To be honest I dislike singing on Coltrane's records in general. Leon Thomas's contribution on "Kulu se mama" is just as gruesome. If an edited version of this album minus the vocals could be produced I'd be very grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman (Classics)
John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman (Classics) by John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews