Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNIQUE SOULFUL & PASSIONATE ROCK SOUND
I bought this CD half-heartedly, just for old time's sake, apprehensive that the music might have gone stale. Wow! I couldn't have been more wrong. All the old magic is still there, but the sound captivated me more than most contemporary rock. I now realize how unique this band was and that there has been nothing even vaguely similar on the radio for many years now. Their...
Published on 3 Mar 2003 by Pieter Uys

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creedence Clearwater Revival Greatest Hits: Didn't quite put a spell on me
This is a serviceable best of from rockers Creedence Clearwater Revival. Covering all their big hits and with a few lesser known tracks. I bought this just to get my hands on a copy of the superb `Bad Moon Rising'. Apart from this bona fide classic there are a few great tracks (Suzi Q for example) but the rest of it is filler. Did the world really need another version of...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNIQUE SOULFUL & PASSIONATE ROCK SOUND, 3 Mar 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I bought this CD half-heartedly, just for old time's sake, apprehensive that the music might have gone stale. Wow! I couldn't have been more wrong. All the old magic is still there, but the sound captivated me more than most contemporary rock. I now realize how unique this band was and that there has been nothing even vaguely similar on the radio for many years now. Their songs are powerful, melodic, soulful and captivating, perfectly delivered by that VOICE (John Fogerty) and the harmony vocals. There's the wistful yearning of Have You Ever Seen The Rain, the spooky unease of Bad Moon Rising and their funky, bluesy rendition of I Heard It Through The Grapevine. There's also the catchy Down On The Corner with its swaying rhythm. Every one of these songs is a winner, but I must point out my other favourites like Proud Mary, Hey Tonight, Up Around The Bend and of course the divine Lodi, a lament of a disillusioned rocker on the road. This collection is as golden as golden can be - brilliant, emotionally captivating songs infused with gritty soul that have not merely survived the decades, but shine as brightly now as in the late 60s and early 70s. This is the most authentic rock 'n roll you'll ever get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the big UK and USA hits are here, 12 Feb 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This group combined elements of pop, rock, blues and R+B in their music and you can hear all the different influences here. For example, I put a spell on you is a great piece of blues-rock, but Proud Mary is raw rock'n'roll.
As far as hits are concerned, the group were more consistently successful in America than in Britain. In America, they had many big hits including several that peaked at number two without ever achieving a number one hit. In Britain, their overall record was more modest although they clocked up four top ten hits – and Bad moon rising went all the way to number one. Their other UK top ten hits were Proud Mary, Travelling band and Up around the bend (which made the top three).
Among the other classic songs here are Green river, Down on the corner, Fortunate son, Who'll stop the rain, Looking out the back door, Long as I can see the light and Have you ever seen the rain. All of these were either huge American hits, or were B-sides of those hits.
A companion to this collection, Chronicles volume 2, explores their album tracks in greater depth but this collection contains all the essentials.
Note that another compilation was released in 2003 titled Bad moon rising. It contains all the tracks plus two others and it is also cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy Bad Moon Rising Instead, 22 Sep 2003
By 
G. M. Dobb "lord_vinyl" (Bicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a really good CCR collection (albeit without "Midnight Special").
However a 2003 collection called "Bad Moon Rising" has the same track listing as Chronicles Vol. 1 with two additional tracks (Born On The Bayou and Wrote A Song For Everyone) AND it's three pounds cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly essential compilation spanning their greatest work, 12 Jun 2003
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Released in 1976, Chronicle (Vol. 1) contains practically everything that made CCR as big as they were, and as such boasts an embarrassment of riches. As far as compilations go, they don't come much more generous or essential than this. Chronicle is littered with classic tracks from the pen of the amazing John Fogerty, and has a couple of well-chosen covers for good measure. Infact, this compilation is so all encompassing, it almost renders some of the CCR back catalogue obsolete (but not quite!)
Ranging from the soulful 'Long As I Can See The Light', the anthemic 'Proud Mary' (which became a massive hit for Ike and Tina Turner, and a staple of Elvis' concert repertoire), to the sheer fun of 'Looking Out My Back Door', nearly every track is a classic. Even the lyrical content is as varied as it is brilliant. From the anti-Vietnam war sentiments of 'Fortunate Son' and 'Run Through The Jungle', to the sinister 'Bad Moon Rising', and the simple tales of life on the road in 'Travelling Band', 'Down On The Corner' and 'Lodi'. This CD takes you on a journey through the music of CCR that is hugely impressive and infinitely memorable. The fact that the band never put a foot wrong, in nearly ten years worth of music, is a phenomenal achievement in itself, and the essence of that fact is evident in this brilliant compilation.
For anyone who needs an introduction to CCR, this album is simply perfect. But far more than just a stepping stone into the back catalogue of one of the most successful bands of their generation, it is also a timeless collection of songs that can be referred to time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY CD!, 19 Dec 2005
What can I say about this CD, other than that it's absolutely great. CCR is such a great band and they made dozens of instant classics. These are collected on this CD and on the CCR Chronicle Vol. 2 CD. Both should be a part of any music fan's collection. You won't skip through any of the tracks, not on this CD nor the other. I can recommend every song, such as Suzie Q, I Put a Spell on You, Travellin Band, Down on the Corner, Up Around the Bend, I Heard It Through The Grapevine. Buy this NOW! But don't forget to buy Vol. 2 too, which includes among others Good Golly Miss Molly and Midnight Special. A total of 20+20=40 songs. With these two CD's you will have one of the best CCR collections available. Perfect as an introduction to CCR, but also die-hard CCR fans will love this compilation. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great hidden band, 18 Sep 2005
only really now known for their use in film soundtracks (notably apocolapse now and american werewolf..) this group must rate as one of the best 'obscure' bands of all time. Strong melodies, wonderful gravel voiced lead singer, vocals and great playing. Its all here and the CDs are cheap due to their bizarre lack of complete popularity with the public. 10 years together before becoming discovered clearly payed off (as with the stone roses), buy this CD and enjoy some amazing and unique 'post- modern' music. Be warned if you enjoy coldplays brand of corporate lift music you may not be impressed with this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, 29 Nov 2002
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
No American rock composer has ever written so many songs of such consistently high quality as John Cameron Fogerty.
This album comprises most of Creedence Clearwater Revival's must-have songs (you'll need "Chronicle vol. II" as well!), among them such classic tracks as "Bad Moon Rising", "Proud Mary" (no, it's not an Ike & Tina Turner-composition!), "Fortunate Son", "Travelin' Band" and the soulful "Long As I Can See The Light".
This is the best single-disc CCR compilation available. All you have to remember is that a single-disc compilation really isn't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, 31 Jan 2000
By A Customer
Actually, Creedence never recorded "Leroy Brown" (it was Jim Croce who wrote, recorded, and sang "Bad Bad Leroy Brown").
But this CD is the best place to start if you've never heard anything from Creedence Clearwater Revival. "Proud Mary" was their 1st big hit. All the songs on this collection are great from "Bad Moon Rising" to "Lookin' out My Back Door" to "Down on the Corner". If you're looking for "The Midnight Special" or "Born on the Bayou", check out Volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bluesy Rock, 31 May 2008
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I just bought this CD because I wanted the song 'Bad Moon Rising' which I originally heard on the soundtrack to 'An American Werewolf in London,' one of my all time favourite films. I have loved this song ever since I first saw the film as a kid but never actually owned it myself. When listening to the rest of the CD in the car I realised how familiar I was with a lot of CCR music and how brilliant they actually were.

I don't know a huge amount about the history of rock music but it sounds to me like Elvis, Hendrix and the Doors all rolled into one bluesy rock n' roll band. 'Put a Spell On You' is a great cover of a Screamin' Jay Hawkins song, done justice by Fogerty's snarling vocals. 'Bad Moon Rising' is a perfect rock n' roll number, as is 'Fortunate Son' which sounds like an anti-Vietnam anthem (it was used on the 'Forrest Gump' soundtrack for when he arrives in Vietnam). The band also cover Marvin Gayes classic 'Heard it Through the Grapevine' in an 11 minute jamming session which sounds fantastic. In short every song on this album is a gem and Creedence Clearwater Revival are more influential on modern rock bands than people give them credit for. Buy this album, you won't be disappointed.

Like this? Try: The Doors: LA Woman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 31 Aug 2003
By 
Callie (To the North) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the classics are here "proud Mary",Bad Moon rising","Green River" "Who'll stop the rain" "Up around the bend" and then there's the political "Fortunate Son " which caused a bit of a stir in the States, Fogerty was such a brilliant songwriter and guitarist and his playing is brilliant on the classic 10 minute long "I heard it through the grapevine"
The band were just so versatile Rock'n'roll ,Country ,Blues and most of all they had a sense of fun about them!
No wonder they were the Big Lebowski's favourite band !
Looking back I don't think they made a bad album ,so buy this and volume two is brilliant as well !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chronicle: 20 Greatest Hits
Chronicle: 20 Greatest Hits by Creedence Clearwater Revival
Buy MP3 Album: Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews