Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Snap
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 13 February 2006
This was originally a great double LP which was released as a single CD in criminally cropped form. The set has now been returned to its not inconsiderable former glory in time for Wellers Brit award for lifetime contribution.
It's a strictly chronological run through the critical cuts of the Jam's short but metoeric and influential career. The early sides are all angular guitar chops that would make Franz Ferdinand green with envy. Weller sets himself apart as a songwriter from the All Mod Cons era onwards. Down in a Tube Station at Midnight is still eerie and atmospheric with its economical lyric. Only the stone hearted could remain untouched by Beat Surrender. And to think Weller had the cajones to break up the biggest band in the country at the age of 24.
A great career overview of a band who defined my generation and left a legacy of great singles. If you are a casual fan this is the place to start. If you are a true fan you'll want this one for the car.
Magic.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 February 2006
I grew up with this album. Originally I became a fan of The Jam in the early eighties when the mod revival was massive and bandwagons were there to jump on. This album came out after the band split to do there own things, leaving masses of fans hungry for more, and buying this album in their droves. Nowadays The Jam and their singer Mr Weller are cited as influences to literally hundreds of top bands.
This album contains all the hits in various versions and also some of the lesser known (but equally impressive) tracks, together with live tracks from there Wembley concert in December 1982. The first time I bought this on double album (yes, it's THAT old!) there were 21 tracks, now it is padded out to a more reasonable 34.
Standout tracks for me are David Watts, In The City, That's Entertainment and Precious. However, every track is brilliant and each person will have their own favourites.
This is a fine addition to any discerning music fan's collection, give it a try. Hopefully Bruce, Rick and Paul will benefit from the sales of this - they definitely deserve it!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
This is how SNAP! was when originally released (for those that can remember). Up until now it has only been available on cd as Compact SNAP with a number of the non-hits missing. This new release is now returning this album to all of its' original glory with the full track listing as it was intended. Every one of those tracks a real jem. If you are lucky enough to get the three disc set then you get, for the first time on cd, a copy of the LIVE! ep that was released as a 7" given away with the first copies of the original album - more jems.
This really is a classic collection and now, as it should always have been. The original and the best and stuffing the rest.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Much cheaper here at Amazon music than at the Android Play Music store for same amount of tracks.
I still have this on vinyl but was quicker and easier to buy MP3 download especially at such a terrific price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
The seminal hits of The Jam all on one album. Have it already on vinyl but downloaded onto phone for convenience. Youth relived everytime i play it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Great value and of course great music. All fans of the jam should download this and enjoy taking a trip down memory lane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Really love this album brought back some good memories. Every song is a good one would recommend. Great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2006
ITS GOOD TO SEE SNAP FINALLY RELEASED AS A DOUBLE CD. THERE WERE SO MANY TRACKS OMMITED BY COMPACT SNAP. THE LIVE CD IS ALSO A GREAT BONUS TO BACK UP THIS LEGENDARY CD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
Ok, firstly, every one of these 29 songs is a classic. The music itself cannot be faulted.
My problem with this compilation lies in its length. Of course, this double cd is a translation from vinyl of the original Jam 'Greatest Hits' collection. And for the nostalgic, who grew up with this collection, its nice to see it on cd for the first time.
But we already have several Jam single cd Greatest Hits collections available. One of them, 'The Sound of the Jam', is 24 tracks long, using the full capacity of the single disc. SNAP only comes in at 90 minutes, just 10 minutes longer, and has only a few more tracks. There's another spare 70 minutes on the two cds combined, which could have been filled with other classic Jam tracks - there's enough of them to easily fill the two discs. We could have had lots more album tracks on here, as well as the strangely ommited '5 o clock hero' single.
We already have several single cd collections.
Now we have a 'one and a half cds' collection.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
Brilliant I play it all the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.