Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 23 Jan 2008
There will be generally two types of people considering buying this: 1) died in the wool Eels fans (of which I am one); 2) people new to the Eels sound.

If you are in the first group, there is not a great deal on this that you will not already have. Most of the twenty four tracks are from the albums (Beautiful Freak, Electro-Shock Blues, Daisies Of The Galaxy, Souljacker, Shootenanny & Blinking Lights And Other Revalations) but with a couple of interesting little additions. There is a Jon Brion remix of 'Climbing To The Moon', rendering it more melodic. Midway through is a bizarre but excellent version of Missy Elliot's 'Get Ur Freak On'. Works surprisingly well! A live version of 'Dirty Girl' breaks up the studio sound nicely, followed by the Shrek 2 song 'I Need Some Sleep'. These do all come together nicely, giving a compact review of the band's work so far.

If you are in the second group, this is probably perfect to get you into the singular Eels sound. Some people may have been put off by the darker sounds of the first two albums, or the seeming mis-match of almost pop tunes with distinctly un-poppy lyrics towards the later albums. However this takes you on a tour de force of the repertoire displaying the brilliance of the band for all to see!

A word to the wise, though: The DVD of music videos is in the American NTSC format, which wasn't displayed on the page (at least when I ordered it). Should be ok on your PC, but unless you have a NTSC compatible TV, it will come out in black & white!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Talent, 14 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. Margaret Harrington (Co. Carlow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Downloading music is all well and good, but nothing beats being able to flick through the blurb as you listen to a new CD. This is the first Eels album I have purchased, though I have always liked anything I heard by them on the radio or TV. It's a great compilation, with very few tracks I would actually skip over. Best track: Flyswatter, closely followed by Novacaine for the Soul. Fantastic value too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet the Eels, 14 Nov 2010
I love this CD, really haven't stopped listening to it since I bought it around 4 months ago...And I have tried!!! But keep grabbing for it every time...Highly, highly recommend it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great album!, 5 Mar 2010
By 
not really listened to much of the Eels, but this was a good purchase! Apart from the 2 or 3 tracks that I knew from their infrequent forays into the charts, I was more than pleasently surprised by the rest of the songs on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eels with soul..., 18 Feb 2010
By 
Joonz "Kinverwolf" (Kinver, West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great retrospective collection...each track feels like a comfortable pair of shoes. For anyone who hasn't got any Eels in their collection...get this album, you won't be disappointed. For the Eelsophile you've got to get it just for the previously unreleased "Get Your Freak On"...inspired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 1 Feb 2008
This Eels compilation collects all of the classic Eels songs together and adds a remix, a live track and a cover version. Wonderful. This should not be purchased without the accompanying DVD which has 12 great Eels videos. A totally awesome CD + DVD package for a bargain price, and well worthy of a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 years of great music....but why no "Cancer for the Cure"?, 11 Feb 2008
By 
Lumpster (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great romp through the Eels' work over the past 10 years and this just goes to prove what a fine collection of songs E and the guys have assembled, along with a few interesting bits and bobs added for the die-hard completists (such as myself) who need an excuse to spend a tenner on music they mostly have. This just goes to prove two things - 1) E is a fantastic songwriter and 2) the Eels is perhaps the most under-rated band out there today.

My only gripe is the lack of 'Cancer for the Cure' - itself a great single - on the CD, which is somewhat baffling. However, it gives newcomers to the Eels' work a great excuse to buy 'Electro Shock Blues' and dive deeper into the fantastic back catalogue.

The rarities twin CD set that was released alongside this CD on the same day is also highly recommended. Here's to the next 10 Eels years.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy compilation for a great talent, 24 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to see a decent Eels compilation released - hopefully people will start to realise what a huge talent Mr Mark Oliver Everett (E) is. The track listing is satisfying for both old and new Eels fans. The majority of the "famous" tracks are on this album (Novacaine For The Soul, Susan's House, Souljacker Pt1, Last Stop This Town, etc - all still sounding great) but the remix of Climbing To The Moon is a real lost treasure. One minor whinge - would have liked to have seen Woman Driving Man Sleeping and Rock Hard Times on here instead of, say, That's Not Really Funny, but this is a small complaint as the music on offer here is often inspiring, especially Railroad Man and 3 Speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a self-confessed Eels fan, and have all their albums, but wanted something condensed for travelling in the car. This album has a lot of my favourite Ells tracks and would also be an easy way for a newcomer to get into the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Album, 2 April 2014
By 
Rhys.J (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've heard some of The Eels songs, and wanted a best of to see what the rest are like. Pretty much every song is good! Great guitar work, and simple but catchy melodies. Can't beat the oldies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews