Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars68
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 February 2008
Barcode: 0602517505803

In a world filled with indie rubbish and sloppy American import trash, Girls Aloud are a precious rarity. As Nicola puts it so brilliantly in the album's booklet, it's really annoying when bands start off well but then go downhill from then on. Thank God then that it's been the opposite for Girls Aloud, Tangled Up proves they really do just keep on getting better. Like always their albums are consistently good from start to end, filled with state-of-the-art pop tunes that fulfill all the criteria - they're fun, catchy and damn good to dance too.

So let's have a look at what the gorgeous girls have treated us to this time round.

First up is Call The Shots, a song that oozes class and is accompanied by a brilliantly stylish video. I think one of the reasons why this song has been so successful is that not only is it a fantastic pop record but it represents Girls Aloud showing a new maturity to their music, something that has allowed more universal appeal to the public and appealing to critics, hence the BRIT award nomination this year.

Close To Love is 80s synthpop dancefloor amazingness. Now, Girls Aloud are famous for their witty, feisty lyrics but this takes it to a new level. Any song that has the line 'Guy with the terrible hair, back off' is a winner in mye eyes. Fling continues in much the same vein with some seriously suggestive lyrics but this time put to a riotous punk-rock bit of guitar thrashing tumbling into a filthy bassline.

Sexy! No, No, No... is still my favourite Girls Aloud song, holding a particularly special place in my heart. It sounds like something Depeche Mode would come up with, a storming mix of rock and electro and with that amazing video. We launch right into another stunning track next with Girl Overboard, one of the album's finest highlights, euro-dance brilliance that screams 'future single'.

Black Jacks is intruiging, tinged with echoes of Blur/Supergrass Britpop with some remarkably indie sounding shouty raps. Damn continues on the same lines, both tracks simple, all-round pop fun laced with that dash of everything that makes Girls Aloud so great.

I wasn't initially that keen on Control Of The Knife but now i totally love it. It's Reggae style in the vein of Chemistry's Watch Me Go and part of it's appeal is that relentless beat/guitar combo that i reckon would go down a right treat at summer parties.

What You Crying For and I'm Falling present Girls Aloud at their most adventuruous, this time venturing into drum n' bass with amazing results. The latter is pumped full of distorted vocals and guitar and sounds like the soundtrack to some high energy Hollywood action/thriller movie.

And then we have Crocodile Tears, a mid-tempo slice of epic beauty. Like Sexy..., this was written by the Girls themselves and once again presents an intense maturity to them and shows real potential as to what they could come up with in the future.

So... after all that, you get the message, the album is absolutely amazing so go buy it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2007
Girls Aloud have never been an act who allow their singles to stand out as the only decent tracks on an album. Their double platinum hit What Will the Neighbours Say? remains one of the best pop albums of the past decade and experimentation on Chemistry resulted in album tracks which out did the singles released from it.

Tangled Up is no exception. In keeping with tradition, Girls Aloud's fourth studio album delivers some of the cheekiest, most genius lyrics of our times and whats more....there's not a cover in sight!

In true Girls Aloud style, 'Close to Love' and 'Girl Overboard' kick us off by leaving you desperate to go clubbing, whilst the haunting almost-ballad 'Crocodile Tears' closes an album you just won't want to end.

'Black Jacks' sees a brand new 'chanting' side to the girls, whilst 'Cant Speak French' is a nice break from the electro-dance feel of other songs on this album.

So many hidden gems, so many quality tracks. The more you listen, the more you understand the true brilliance of this album. Even the tracks that didnt hit you straight away begin to really stand out.

This has to be one of the best albums of Girls Aloud's career.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2007
The fourth studio album from Girls Aloud represents the very essence of the girls' unprecidented five year career to date...a career that has given us some of the decade's most amazing electro-pop offerings - Biology, Something Kinda Oooh and Sound of The Underground to name but a few.
Here's my Track By Track review:

1. Call The Shots - A sultry and mesmerising affair to begin with, a slick mid-tempo electo tune, with some gorgeous vocals from Nicola in the middle eight.

2. Close To Love - Definite potential single, this is catchy and exciting, with the usual off-the-wall GA stamp that made songs like Biology and Something Kinda Ooh brilliant.

3. Sexy! No No No - A veritable Pop Hurricane! This song begins with a haunting electric overture, and crescendos with a torrential storm of angry, sexy pop.

4. Girl Overboard - Think Bananarama in their Heyday, with a modern twist. This is Nu-80s, and it's hot.

5. I Can't Speak French - With the witty lyrics, this had the potential to be brilliant...the melody is not the strongest though, and it fades into something of a filler track.

6. Black Jacks - Again, this is a new sound for the girls. Quite dark, with a slight 70s rock feel...interesting.

7. Control Of The Knife - Reminiscent of Kate Nash/Just Jack, this is the suppposed 3rd single from the album. Sees the girls go off on another classic GA tangent. Very similar to Watch Me Go from Chemistry.

8. Fling - This is absolutely amazing! From start to finish this is the standout track on the album, and if it isn't a single I will be disappointed. Has slight allusions to Bassment Jaxx and some of the best lyrics on the whole album.

9. What You Crying For? - Another interesting one. This is very garage-dancey, and reminds me alot of Real Life from What Will The Neighbours Say.

10. I'm Falling - Awesome song, a sexy electro-stormer with vocoders and sound effects a-plenty.

11. Damn - B52s meets Cyndi Lauper...Not the strongest song on the album, but a solid effort.

12. Crocodile Tears - Although there is no actual ballad on the album, this is about as slow-paced as it gets...and to be honest, we could have done without it. It's hard to see what the thinking behind this one was. I personally would have left this off the album and put the elusive 'Girls Are Back In Town' from the Sunsilk adverts as the album's closer. The weakest effort on the album by far.

Overall, I love this album! I'm not sure if it has the same mass appeal of Chemistry. However, it is definitely a more grown-up approach to music from the U.K's premier Girl Band...and with Spice Girls coming back with mediocre songs like Headlines, it's nothing short of relief that Girls Aloud can be counted on to keep being inventive and consistent with their own brand of infectious music.
44 comments|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 February 2008
Barcode: 0602517539990

This version of the Girls' 4th album was only available to buy from their official website and differs in the fact it has a different booklet featuring the lyrics to all the songs and an awesome new cover which unlike the one available in the shops, features all the Girls on the front. A real nice extra for collectors.

In a world filled with indie rubbish and sloppy American import trash, Girls Aloud are a precious rarity. As Nicola puts it so brilliantly in the album's booklet, it's really annoying when bands start off well but then go downhill from then on. Thank God then that it's been the opposite for Girls Aloud, Tangled Up proves they really do just keep on getting better. Like always their albums are consistently good from start to end, filled with state-of-the-art pop tunes that fulfill all the criteria - they're fun, catchy and damn good to dance too.

So let's have a look at what the gorgeous girls have treated us to this time round.

First up is Call The Shots, a song that oozes class and is accompanied by a brilliantly stylish video. I think one of the reasons why this song has been so successful is that not only is it a fantastic pop record but it represents Girls Aloud showing a new maturity to their music, something that has allowed more universal appeal to the public and appealing to critics, hence the BRIT award nomination this year.

Close To Love is 80s synthpop dancefloor amazingness. Now, Girls Aloud are famous for their witty, feisty lyrics but this takes it to a new level. Any song that has the line 'Guy with the terrible hair, back off' is a winner in mye eyes. Fling continues in much the same vein with some seriously suggestive lyrics but this time put to a riotous punk-rock bit of guitar thrashing tumbling into a filthy bassline.

Sexy! No, No, No... is still my favourite Girls Aloud song, holding a particularly special place in my heart. It sounds like something Depeche Mode would come up with, a storming mix of rock and electro and with that amazing video. We launch right into another stunning track next with Girl Overboard, one of the album's finest highlights, euro-dance brilliance that screams 'future single'.

Black Jacks is intruiging, tinged with echoes of Blur/Supergrass Britpop with some remarkably indie sounding shouty raps. Damn continues on the same lines, both tracks simple, all-round pop fun laced with that dash of everything that makes Girls Aloud so great.

I wasn't initially that keen on Control Of The Knife but now i totally love it. It's Reggae style in the vein of Chemistry's Watch Me Go and part of it's appeal is that relentless beat/guitar combo that i reckon would go down a right treat at summer parties.

What You Crying For and I'm Falling present Girls Aloud at their most adventuruous, this time venturing into drum n' bass with amazing results. The latter is pumped full of distorted vocals and guitar and sounds like the soundtrack to some high energy Hollywood action/thriller movie.

And then we have Crocodile Tears, a mid-tempo slice of epic beauty. Like Sexy..., this was written by the Girls themselves and once again presents an intense maturity to them and shows real potential as to what they could come up with in the future.

So... after all that, you get the message, the album is absolutely amazing so go buy it!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2008
This is the fourth studio album from the girls and it is by far the best. Filled with synth-heavy bangers and pop gems throughout, this album is sure to be a promising one.
1. Call The Shots- The second single, (which went to be the second best selling single of their career) a perfect track. 10/10
2. Close To Love- I'd say the girls are idiots not to release this as a single, it is irresistible and by the best track on the ablum.
3. Sexy! No, No, No- A #5 hit for the girls as the first single. Amazing rock sound and stunning video. 10/10
4. Girl Overboard- Continues the line of amazing tracks, very strong hooks and very impressive vocals, potential single. 10/10
5. Can't Speak French- The 3rd single off the album,and is it ever great. Its no Call The Shots/Sexy! No, No, No, but it is great. 9/10
6. Black Jacks- An interesting sound, and an amazing track with a fun chanting part included. 8/10
7. Control Of The Knife- The rumoured 3rd single off this album, and I can't resist this one, pop perfection. 10/10
8. Fling- Really rocky, and fun filled with cheek and camp all mixed in. Another great track. 9/10
9. What You Crying For- Not the best on the album, but still not the worst. A faster and smarter song for the girls. 6/10
10. I'm Falling- Easily the worst track on the album, (I don't know why Dog Without A Bone or Blow Your Cover weren't included instead) 5/10
11. Damn- Filled with amazing hooks and cute lyrics, this song delivers by a mile and will be in your head for a while. 8/10
12. Crocodile Tears- Even though I did not want this album to end, it does on a high note, the only thing close to a ballad, beautiful. 10/10

I am a definite girls aloud fan and this solidified that by delivering a perfect album. I could listen to over and over. Leave it to these 5 girls to take risks and mix with very different sounds, for a manufactured band they truly created a sound of their own.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2007
With all due respect to amazon who delivered my cd (very quickly i might add) it felt like a life time waiting for this album to arrive, but, that it did this morning and i have had it on repeat on my cd player since i came home from work because its excellent!!, i am a very new recruit to the girls aloud scene and so i consider myself fairly unbiased but i really love this album, so ok its a little different to the previous albums (which i also really like)but the girls pull it off with ease.The album is more uptempo than previous offerings so dont expect a typical GA sound but trust me it'll grow on you darn quick and youll be bopping around ya' crib like a demented looney :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
This product is the 4th studio album released by Girls Aloud. Tangled Up garnered wide critical acclaim when released in November 2007. This edition was only available if purchased on the Girls Aloud website with a different cover to the standard release and it included 3 doubled sided signed cards (Pre-printed) It has now become very rare.
Well then what does the album sound like? Well it picks up where Chemistry left off. Call The Shots, the second single was well recieved, and entered the charts at a peak of number 3 the week after this album charted. It is bordering the mid-tempo line, and is very catch and enjoyable. The Loving Kind from Out Of Control (2008) was in the same vein as this.
Close to Love is a dance track, where it is irresitable to dance to! This was a very popular track to fans, with some campaigning for it to be the forth release off of the album (which never happened)
Sexy! No No No, the first single released in September 2007 peaking at Number 5, was a change in direction for the Gurls. It was more hard hitting and rocky, but personally it pays off. This song also was the opening for the tour in 2008, and provided one of the most spectacular opnings.
Girl Overboard is another fast paced dancable track. This was another track that was considered for the forth single. This track is a good moment where Kimberley shines.
Can't Speak French, the third single, peaking at Number 9 in February/March 2008 is irresistable. The girls even recorded a French veriosn of this song (See Can't Speak French CD 2)
Blackjacks was the time where the critcs saw a new direction for Girls. The chant halfway through really pulls the track into its individuality. A good sing-along
Control of the Knife is a reggae-inspired song, and is VERY catchy. I bet you will be singing along all day to the hook. One of the albums best tracks.
Fling is very racy, with Kimberley declaring people to 'Strip me of my modesty!' It is a grewat song, yet another good to dance along to
What You Crying For is reminiscent of left-of centre pop at it's finest. Although more filler, it still provides a gap to fill before the next track.
I'm Falling is very dub-step. Although some may disagree, this is probably the Girls going out of their comfort zone yet it pays off
Damn, probably the least liked on the album is seen as definate filler, although I quite enjoy it. It's the song that to one critic was a left-over from Chemistry
Crocodile Tears, the final track and the one inches close to becoming a ballad. It is emotive and beautiful, and a perfect album closer.
In general 'Tangled Up' delivers time and time again, just like the Girls. Although out for about 2 1/2 years, it still hasn't grown old. Long may Girls Aloud reign!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
This is the girls 4th studio album and is definitely one of their best. Critically acclaimed, this album produced 3 hit singles - Sexy! No No No..., Call the Shots and Can't Speak French. I do think however, that there was still so many potential singles (Girl Overboard, Close To Love, and Control of the Knife etc.).
Call the Shots - One of their highest selling singles to date and that is well deserved. Call the Shots is an amazing pop-electro mid-tempo and is one of their best songs. 10/10
Close To Love - A brilliant fast-paced song that should have been a single. Very catchy and will be stuck in your head for a long time. 9.5/10
Sexy! No No No ... - This song is madness!! (In a good way) It is like 5 different styles thrown into one amazing song. Brilliant intro, would have loved a whole song of that!! 10/10
Girl Overboard - This one screamed HIT SINGLE and should have been released instead of Can't Speak French. Electro-pop goodness and is one of my favourite songs on the whole album. 10/10
Can't Speak French - Bizarre single choice (in my opinion) and I am surprised it didn't break their string of Top 10's. Aside from that, it is actually a good song but I don't think it should have been a single. 8.5/10
Black Jacks - The song structure of this is very similar to `Biology'. Though in `Black Jacks' it has a slow verse, fast chorus, shouty verse, etc. I didn't like it much at first but after about 10 plays I think it is up there with the best. 9.5/10
Control of the Knife - Loved this song from the minute I heard it - the trumpets and the vocodered voice is brilliant. This was actually going to be released instead of Can't Speak French and I definitely think it would have done better. 10/10
Fling - I HATED this song at first but like Black Jacks it grew on me and now I think it has actually quite good. The lyrics are some of the best on the album. Definitely one of those songs that gets better each listen. 8.5/10
What You Crying For - This is an unpopular one but I really like it. It is fast-paced and is a different style to the other songs (which is always a good thing!). 9/10
I'm Falling - This is quite similar to Swinging London Town on their last album but it is just as good. Sound effects are everywhere, good lyrics, and altered vocals. 10/10.
Damn - This is one of the weaker songs and probably my least favourite. It is still a good song though just not very memorable. 6.5/10
Crocodile Tears - This is a ballad in disguise - the vocals are great and it is a memorable way to end an amazing album. 9.5/10
This is one of the few albums that on each listen every song gets better. Even my least favourite `Damn' is still great! Tangled Up is pop-brilliance. An absolute must buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2008
This album is one of their best to date,i also have their new album out of control,which is wicked as well,look out for my review on their new album coming up in a couple of weeks,also look out for my reviews on thier other albums aswell.Anyway lets get into each track:

Call the shots-10/10 This was girls alouds second single,which was a brillant choice,the video was cool as well , one of my favourites off the album

Close to love-10/10 A really funky uptempo song,the chrous is wicked another of my favourites

Sexy NO NO NO-10/10 A rock/pop uptempo song,wicked video as well

Girl overboard-10/10 This track is wicked,one of my favourites,a rock/pop uptempo number love the chrous

Can't speak french-10/10 I loved this song when i first heard on the album,i still love it now,the video was wicked as well

Black jacks-10/10 A brillant song very rock/pop one of my favourites

Control of the knife-10/10 Another brillant track really good chrous

Fling-10/10 I feel that people will either love or hate this song,as you can tell i love this song very catchy chrous,a favourite of mine

What you crying for-10/10 A brillant uptempo pop song,another of my favourites

I'm falling-10/10 I really like this uptempo song,all the girls sound wicked on this song,one of my favourites

Damn-10/10 A wicked uptempo tune,another favourite of mine

Crocodile tears-9/10 A nice end to the album

You need to add this album to your collection,if you are a fan of sugababes and if you love all the other stuff girls aloud have done. The only problem with this album is the cover,this cover would have been ok for a first album,but not for album number four,it is just plain boring, it would have been nice to have a lovely picture of the girls.Also i feel the other girls mainly kimberlery should have more singing time than just Nadine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
I have been a Girls Aloud fan for yearssss! Today is their 5th birthday so happy birthday girls!
I have never been let down by a single song they have recorded, honestly and this does not fail.
Here is my track by track review...

1. Call The Shots - When I first heard this I thought it was a bit weaker but I have played it so much I love it. It takes time to get into it but this song is so close to perfection. 10/10
2. Close To Love - So infectious and catchy. Great to hear Kimberley take lead vocals. 9/10
3. Sexy! No No No - The most underated single they have had. This song is immense. It starts off so spine chilling and moves into a kick ass song. So good played loud and it has so many hooks and catchy lines. You'll be singing it all day guaranteed. 10/10
4. Girl Overboard - This should be the 3rd single and I hope it is because it reminds me of classic GA songs. No other girl band could pull this song off. 10/10
5. Can't Speak French - Reminds me of 'Whole Lotta History' but more mid-tempo. A really catchy tune which reminds me of the 'Chemistry' era. 8.5/10
6. Black Jacks - Amazing! Nadines vocals on this belter of a chorus are amazing! I like how their isn't too much backing music to dominate over the superb vocals. 10/10
7. Control Of The Knife - Possibly the song I have grown most to on the album. It takes time to get into it but its so catchy and has an amazing beat. Should be the 4th single fingers crossed! 10/10
8. Fling - "It's just a fling baby, fling baby, just a lil ding a ling baby..." The lyrics don't exactly make sense but this is just such a fun song and it's so strong. 10/10
9. What You Crying For - Reminds me of the WWTNS era. Really good vocals from Kimberley but I do feel it doesn't earn it's place on the album when there are fantastic b-sides e.g. 'Dog Without A Bone' and 'Blow Your Cover'. 8/10
10. I'm Falling - This is such a unique song as the beat is simply brilliant, it sounds quite garage like (not a bad thing) and has altered voices which make it really original. 10/10
11. Damn - A bit like 'Real Life' off WWTNS which is a good thing! Has a great chorus and is really fun and uplifting. 9/10
12. Crocodile Tears - The slowest song on the album and is done so tastefully. Cheryl's performance on this track is outstanding. 9/10

Overall - 95%.
Amazing, buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)