Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every one a gem!
Including 3 number ones and several less familiar numbers, this compiliation is a must for any David Essex fan, even if, like myself, you've got all the tracks scattered on various other cd's.
These 19 original recordings (not a cast CD) could be mistaken for being written and recorded purely for the musical of the same name, (despite some numbers being over 30 years...
Published on 9 Oct 2008 by Jan T

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little 'Fun of the Fair'
Don't get me wrong, if you wanted a Best of David Essex CD, then this would have a 5 start rating, as there are some great songs in there.

My main gripe with this CD, is that I bought it in order to re-live the stage show which I'd seen, and thoroughly enjoyed, a few weeks earlier. However, apart from sharing the same tracks as those in the show, there is very...
Published on 29 Mar 2009 by Andrew Hawker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every one a gem!, 9 Oct 2008
By 
Jan T (Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
Including 3 number ones and several less familiar numbers, this compiliation is a must for any David Essex fan, even if, like myself, you've got all the tracks scattered on various other cd's.
These 19 original recordings (not a cast CD) could be mistaken for being written and recorded purely for the musical of the same name, (despite some numbers being over 30 years old), such is the ingenious way these songs have been chosen and integrated into the storyline!
This new musical gives these legendary and timeless classics a new lease of life.
Some of my personal favourites include 'Dangerous', 'Here We are Altogether', 'He Noticed Me', 'Pretty Thing', 'I'll Call Ya (She's Leaving Home)' and 'You're In My Heart', none of which were released as singles, but are now, through this album, reaching out to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little 'Fun of the Fair', 29 Mar 2009
By 
Andrew Hawker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (MP3 Download)
Don't get me wrong, if you wanted a Best of David Essex CD, then this would have a 5 start rating, as there are some great songs in there.

My main gripe with this CD, is that I bought it in order to re-live the stage show which I'd seen, and thoroughly enjoyed, a few weeks earlier. However, apart from sharing the same tracks as those in the show, there is very little else relating to the show (except of course, the cover, which you don't get on a download !).

The songs are performed in a different order to the show, but the more serious problem is that they are not performed either by the characters who performed them in the show, or in the style of the show. On the whole, I believe they are the original David Essex recordings.

The classic example of this is the brilliant 'Winters Tale' Now I love the song, and I love David's rendition of it. But in the show it is brilliantly performed, in a very different context, by a female character, Rosa. In the stage performance Louise English makes it her own in a way that I wouldn't have believed possible.

So I wouldn't recommend this if you want to evoke memories of All the Fun of the Fair. Some of the fun ? Maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He sounds just the same!, 9 Oct 2008
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
I went to see this at the theatre recently. It was fab! David Essex sounded as good as ever. ( Could look as good, if he shaved his beard off and grew his hair!!)This is a great CD for your collection. Takes you back in time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
went a saw the stage play and wanted the cd to keep the memory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
By 
Sebastian (Hampshire England U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
Just how I remembered it the first time around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All The Fun Of The Fair, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
Excellent CD by David Essex. Many types of songs to suit all tastes, including some new songs and hits from the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
In my younger years was a big David Essex Fan...... Saw the show and enjoyed it although thought his voice was a bit rough. Bought this and thought it was great obviously had tuned his voice a bit for the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 13 Dec 2013
By 
WOODY (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
Memories of the 70's when we saw him quite a few times when he was touring. Seen him again more recently in a concert with Showaddywaddy, David Cassidy and The Osmonds. (It was the wife who wanted to go - honest!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
This CD was all that I expected it to be,a great range of songs delivered with the usual David Essex charm. Any fans would be glad to have this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good service from seller, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Fun Of The Fair (Audio CD)
after seeing david Essex in concert I have started collecting his music which I like . and had good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All The Fun Of The Fair
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews