Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glory box
Trip-hop was never so dark and magnificently despairing as it is here. Portishead draws listeners into a velvety abyss in debut album "Dummy," a glorious blend of jazzy instrumentation, subtle electronica, and Beth Gibbons' sweet moaning vocals.
"Mysterons" opens with an chilly, ghostly air, followed by the exotic despair of "Sour Times" and the jazzy, eerie...
Published on 18 Jan 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars NICE MUSIC, SOUND QUALITY NOT GREAT
NICE MUSIC,SOUND QUALITY NOT GREAT.
Published 5 months ago by Brent Shooter


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best album ever recorded - NO CONTEST !!!, 25 July 2005
This review is from: Dummy (Audio CD)
I cannot believe after owning and playing this album regularly since Christmas 1994 I still love it immensely. A piece of total quality music. I urge you to purchase it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never off the playlist, 29 Mar 2009
By 
D. I. Gray "deligray" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dummy (Non UK Version) (MP3 Download)
If you like your music a little dark - this needs to be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dummy [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerrrrrate ......Duhh!!, 18 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dummy (Audio CD)
This album has got to be the best of the 90's (along with Nirvanas Nevermind). Beth gibbons is a genius. the songs are laid out perfectly and roll into each other well. i love it and it will NEVER be far away from my stereo, i just hope people still listen to it another 10 years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply stunning, one of the albums of the 1990's, 20 Jan 2000
By 
Simon Bishop (Witham, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dummy (Audio CD)
After a few listenings the qulaities of this album become clear. Just beg, borrow or steal a copy, sit down and listen; by yourself, better still with a loved one. You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars end of the evening sheer pleasure., 21 April 2008
This review is from: Dummy (Audio CD)
put this on after you have got rid of all the losers or u have made it home from the pub.
it oooooozes class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best i have heard, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dummy (Audio CD)
I have to say "DUMB" is the best album i have heard. Im into Garage Music and Portishead is a big change for me, but i would recommend it to anyone, the beat and vocals set ur mind free, and with all those modern sounds aiming out of your speaker through your mind, it has made me look at music in a different light.Im not a big follower like most portishead fans and i dont know very much about the sound and instruments but what i do know is that BETH GIBBON has the most realistic vioce i have heard, and while listening to this album i get a sudden rush of emotions running through me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bristol slow music, 21 Jun 2001
By 
Ed Velvet (Frimley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dummy (Audio CD)
I don't know exactly why this album is so compelling, maybe the beats are just so perfectly timed that the expectancy tickles your audial pleasure centre, maybe the understatement is so stylish, maybe the hauting is idyllic - whatever, it is an immediate classic. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crackly and cracking good., 2 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dummy (Audio CD)
Bought this ages ago and am really only reviewing it to improve my recommendation results. Gorgeous beats, lovely crackly samples and sometimes makes you feel like you're Michael Caine (a good thing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong product delivered, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dummy (Audio CD)
I understand mistakes can be made but I had no opportunity to change this CD for what I had actually ordered. The refund was prompt but I didn't want a refund I wanted to exchange the CD for the one I ordered. Now I have to go through the process again with much diminished confidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dummy (Non UK Version)
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews