Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you can tolerate a minute chopped off Smokestack Lightnin'
This is a great & thorough selection of the Wolf's music from 1956-73 but, if like me, your favourite Howlin' Wolf song is Smokestack Lightnin' be prepared for disappointment, as the song is abruptly & ineplicably cut off at 1:59' chopping off a full minute from the full track. How stupid is that!?

That aside, Howlin' Wolf is a unique voice in popular music and...
Published on 18 Nov. 2007 by Ant Man Bee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could easily be 5 stars
This could easily have been a 5 star record.The already mentioned cutting of Smokestack Lightnin' is compounded by the omission of the 1961 single version of Red Rooster with some of Wolf's rarely recorded guitar work (luckily we can hear it on Down in the Bottom).The substitute track seems completely out of place amongst the wonderful 1961 tracks.Otherwise I really...
Published on 13 Aug. 2010 by KP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you can tolerate a minute chopped off Smokestack Lightnin', 18 Nov. 2007
This is a great & thorough selection of the Wolf's music from 1956-73 but, if like me, your favourite Howlin' Wolf song is Smokestack Lightnin' be prepared for disappointment, as the song is abruptly & ineplicably cut off at 1:59' chopping off a full minute from the full track. How stupid is that!?

That aside, Howlin' Wolf is a unique voice in popular music and has been a profound influence on everyone from Led Zeppelin to Captain Beefheart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolf anthology hits the spot!!!!, 17 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This compilation of wolf's 50's and 60's output is very good.All the classics are included goin' down slow,tail dragger etc...This is well recommended for those who have not heard howling's music.There is one flaw with the recording of this cd.I noticed when playing "smokestack lightning" you get half way through the tune then it jumps straight into second tune "you cant be beat".Not too sure if this is a defect with the production of the cd or just my copy.Apart from that this is well recommended!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could easily be 5 stars, 13 Aug. 2010
This could easily have been a 5 star record.The already mentioned cutting of Smokestack Lightnin' is compounded by the omission of the 1961 single version of Red Rooster with some of Wolf's rarely recorded guitar work (luckily we can hear it on Down in the Bottom).The substitute track seems completely out of place amongst the wonderful 1961 tracks.Otherwise I really enjoyed the CD but I am a big Wolf fan(I have all but the last two tracks on 45).
It could have been an excellent introduction to latter day Wolf but perhaps the single CD 'Howlin' Wolf collection' on Spectrum is better as neither of the problems mentioned occur.
KP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is this album sold with incomplete songs, 27 Nov. 2008
By 
Stephen Heron - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first song on this album is cut short. Quite annoying when I bought the album specificaly for this song. And I feel that Amazon should flag this up at the top of the page. No one buys an original album to only get half of a song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!, 21 Jun. 2007
This box set cd represents terrific value for money and is a great introduction to Howlin'Wolf. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good listening, 18 July 2010
This was even better than I anticipated. The music is fabulous. The product arrived within the stated time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delta Blues, 23 Nov. 2010
By 
A. Athanasopoulou (Achaia , Hellas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I didn't have a very clear idea about what "The Blues" really is as a kind of music , my sister introduced me to it.Admittedly it is in fact very passionate and much more visceral than say...other kinds of not so mainstream music .Howlin' Wolf has a deep voice which is ideal for this sort of music , he makes you feel his pain and sing along with him .Pain and Passion . Anyone interested in these two emotions ought to buy the CD .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews