Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immense
U2 are certainly in my book the best band of all time and the 80's was their finest era. The brilliance of the joshua tree, unforgettable fire and rattle and hum are wonderfully represented here. However, my only gripe with the album is the lack of material from the band's early flashpunk era. Songs like tomorrow, like a song, with a shout, drowning man, out of control,...
Published on 20 April 2005 by Mr. N. C. P. Conway

versus
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
In the space of the last few months I have bought no less than 6 of the 7 albums from this period, and to be honest, this doesn't do any of them justice. I borrowed this album about a year ago or so ago, and it put me off investgating this time in U2's history further until recently. It's not that the songs on here are bad, they're just not that great. If all you want is...
Published on 7 July 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immense, 20 April 2005
By 
Mr. N. C. P. Conway "thepoeticedge" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
U2 are certainly in my book the best band of all time and the 80's was their finest era. The brilliance of the joshua tree, unforgettable fire and rattle and hum are wonderfully represented here. However, my only gripe with the album is the lack of material from the band's early flashpunk era. Songs like tomorrow, like a song, with a shout, drowning man, out of control, electric co. etc... deserve inclusion in my book. Any of them could certainly have replaced when love comes to town which, although incredibly interesting, is by far the worst song here. The revamped sweetest thing is excellent though I prefer the b side original.
But perhaps I am being too fussy. This is almost as good a best of album as you will get with ome truly fantastic songs, if you have never heard U2 in their prime you must buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 April 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
This album is U2 at it's finest. For me their best music ever was out in the 80's and every one of those songs is represented here. The album starts off with Pride and moves through the brilliance that is U2 with New Years Day all the way through to All I want is You. The emotion of Sunday Bloody Sunday is evident every time and brings you right back to the first time you ever heard that song.
I believe this is one of those must have cd's of the 80's especially if you're a U2 fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other gems that this compilation offers.., 28 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
An amazing compilation, one of the best value CD's I've ever purchased. However, there are some absolute gems are to be found on the limited edition B-Side CD that sometimes accompanies this album. Listen to the energy of 'The Three Sunrises', where Bono is on top form, or the twinkling intro to the original 'Sweetest Thing'. "Love comes tumbling down" is dark, moody, road-trip music. But the atmospheric 'Walk to the Water' stands out. A subtle song that catches you by surprise with its beautiful melodies. A remarkable compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars U2 At Their Peak, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
For me, after 1990 U2 started their long gradual decline into irrelevance. (See my reviews of each individual album.) The 1980s, meanwhile, were a call to arms for the group, and that fact is vividly made manifest in this fine collection of hits and other best tracks from that decade. In 1980, who'd have thought the group would be where they were come the decade's end?

From the raw edge of 1980's `I Will Follow' through to the deep-rooted American stage of their journey in 1988's `Rattle & Hum' album, this `Best of' CD contains some superb music. For me 1984-87 was when they reached their peak, the period covered by the albums `The Unforgettable Fire' and `The Joshua Tree'. It's not all glory days, though: on this CD I would willingly ditch `I Will Follow' and `Sweetest Thing' in favour of other tracks.

This is a review of the original CD released in 1998. Its sound quality is good, but feels constricted (not so wide a spectrum) compared to the originals on some of the tracks. But don't let this put you off buying the best bits of one of the defining groups of the eighties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U2 at the peak of their powers!!, 31 Aug 2006
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
Although the band still manage to create great songs and sounds it was during the 1980s that they arguably produced some of their best work and indeed, created some of the songs of all time which made the band the worldwide phenomenon they are today.

Songs like Pride, With or with out you, I still haven't found what I'm looking for and Where the streets have no name are now iconic and serve to represent what was a golden era for U2 and the music world in general.

Even if your not bothered about the B sides this compilation is simply brilliant and well worth owning. For me it should be in any music lovers collection.

Just as a final note, the music does not stop at track 14. After 'All I want is you', you will be treated to a bonus track so be patient and let it roll on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 5 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
Simply the best CD ever compiled - without doubt I’ll never buy another CD with superior music excellence. I received this CD as a Christmas present approximately 4 years ago and its just amazing. I listen to it more each day, unlike the vast majority of music which withers with time this CD just seems to hit the spot every time I listen to it, with truly glorious, touching music. Each track like the chapter of a book, intriguing and passionate. I really would encourage anyone and everyone to invest in this CD. Sends shivers down the spine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For all U2 fans a must -buy, 13 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
Anyone who enjoyed U2's early releases in the late 80's and early 90's have to buy this C.D.They are the masters of rock and roll and as Bono said once "We are the best rock and roll band in the world".Turn up the base,turn up the volume and play it loud,listen to Bono's elctric voice as he sings New years Day,Pride and many more U2 classics.If you are a U2 fan this will bring back all the memories from 1980 to 1990 and you will be amazed what memories will come back as you listen to each track.I had the pleasure of buying the B-tracks with this album but certainly the A-tracks are the CLASSICS...don't just consider it ...buy it..a must in any genuine music fans C.D. collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best band ever..., 11 Nov 2004
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
This Best of is a cracking album. U2 have such a depth of music, even just from these years, that it is impossible to include all of their best songs just on this album. Most notably absent for me are One Tree Hill, Gloria and Bullet the Blus Sky. However, they have put together a great selection of tracks which is ideal for longstanding fans like myself or those just getting into U2 and wanting something that provides a wide selection of their music.
Pride (in the name of love) and With or Without you are the best, most powerful songs on the album, although there just is not a bad song here. Pride is quite possibily the best song ever written in my view, and certainly the best tribute song ever (written about Martin Luther King). The one quibble I do have is that some of the earliest stuff is not here, such as Gloria. However this is a minor quibble and does not take away from a great collection of songs.
The songs display all of U2's power in including both love songs and the more political songs from this era. The collection is perhaps not as musically punchy as its follow up greatest hits due to the nature of the music they were making at the time, but the lyrics are as powerful and moving as ever. All of U2's musical talent as well as moral intergrity is on display here, and the album is an ideal example of why all young musicians should aspire to be like this band more than any other.
Overall this is a cracking album, which ideally displays the music U2 made in the 80s. It is a must for any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
I bought this to replace one i lent to a so called friend. Very good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars other half loved it, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of: 1980-1990 (Audio CD)
Brought as a gift as other half was looking for the cd, but couldn't find it anywhere, now never out the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews