Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it time elduderano!
Give it time el-duderino! This one really gets under your skin. I agree that some of the lyrics might be perceived as weak on first listen, but when you consider that Kelly is simply making a matter of fact commentary about the "state of things" (as with Daisy Lane) the surface simplicty of the words seem less crude and much more poignant.

There are some great...
Published on 4 Nov 2007 by Mr Woodcock

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Riding On Their Own Coat Tails....
After estblishing themselves as a great rock band with their first two LP's, Stereophonics went off the rails and gained a slightly unfair reputation for being somewhat dull thanks to Kelly Jones' decision to use the band's next two albums for almost entirely acoustic material. Then they shocked the rock world in 2005 by unleashing "Language, Sex, Violence, Other?" - an...
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by Mr. R. Howe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it time elduderano!, 4 Nov 2007
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
Give it time el-duderino! This one really gets under your skin. I agree that some of the lyrics might be perceived as weak on first listen, but when you consider that Kelly is simply making a matter of fact commentary about the "state of things" (as with Daisy Lane) the surface simplicty of the words seem less crude and much more poignant.

There are some great rock songs on this record. Soldires Make good targets, I could Lose Ya and Ladyluck are classics and Bank Holiday Monday is a really dirty, pacy track which takes us all back to a certain time in our life. The storytelling approach to some of the songs ("pound a can in the garden all day") reminds me of word gets around in some ways, but the point is this isn't Word Gets Around or any of their other albums. The strength of the Phonics is that they are constantly evolving and not afraid to change. Its easy to stick to a winning formula and keep churning out the same stuff every two years but this band don't do that. They have a real range from dark rock, to blues to even touches of country. The thing is it works. Music critics are a tired bunch who contrary to their own beliefs are simply "sheep in wolves clothing". They purport to want something different, edgy etc but what they really want is a band that ticks their vision of what cool is. I'm havin it!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 3 Nov 2007
By 
M. A. Nicholson "Caralyn Reads" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
This is a MEGA album! I loved "Drowning" immediately, but my favourite track is "Ladyluck". Listen to it once, then again and again and again and I guarantee you will love it - even better than Dakota...... The Phonics just never disappoint and I can't wait to see them at Cardiff - bring it on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to Mr. Writer!, 16 Oct 2007
By 
M. R. Tully "Mat Tully" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
The Phonics have had a bit of a mixed bag since Performance and Cocktails, especially with "You Have got to go There to Come Back". Their more recent "Language, Sex, Violence...Other" was a step back in the right direction, but some of the songs such as "Doorman" and "Brother" just seemed a bit to angry and not what the phonics were all about.

It is with this album that I think the Phonics are back to what they do best some fun rocky songs, mixed with some more emotional numbers. I found that by the second listen I was already singing along with the songs on the way to work!

The biggest dissapointment about this album for me has been its critical reception. I know that the boys generally don't get much air time as they are not best chums with the DJs on Radio 1, such as Coldplay, Kaizer Chiefs etc, and they don't appear in court on a drug charge every week to get an appearance in Heat- but the disdain they have recieved in their reviews I found quite shocking. I have seen 3 reviews in major papers give it only 2 Stars! Their only reason being that they seem to take an incredible dislike to the band members, and don't really mention the album apart from how nice it was to turn it off! Is this really down to the song "Mr Writer" written 7 years ago. Sadly I think it may do, I certainly hope it is not because they are Welsh Valley boys...although part of me think if they were cheeky cockneys this album would have received better reviews.

I suggest ignore any reviews and form your own opinion. With songs such as Daisy Lane, Stone & It Means Nothing... I think you will agree with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray! At Last, Another Great Album from the 'Phonics!!!, 4 Jun 2008
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
I love this band, partly because each of their albums is so different and they constantly evolve and yet remain unmistakably the 'Phonics. Word Gets Around and Performance & Cocktails have been their best albums for a long time...until now. Pull the Pin is right up there. Having not heard any of the songs (yes, I live under a rock) beforehand, I was a bit worried about ordering this album after LSVO? (Dakota was really the only good song on that very lazy album). I needn't have worried...I loved Pull the Pin on the first listen.

Yes, it's sad that Stuart got sacked, but Javier is a lightyears more talented drummer...he's excellent and really drives the music whilst throwing in some killer whatever-drumming-bits-are-called (are they riffs, or is that just guitarspeak?). Kelly's voice is as hot as ever...that crescendo at the end of It Means Nothing is phenomenal. Daisy Lane is beautiful. All the songs are great.

This is a great album by a great band. If you buy it and are disappointed, you're a weirdo! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Sublime, 3 Nov 2007
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
This has to be the phonics best work yet, Kelly Jones really outdoes himself on this album.. Standout tracks are: Crush, Lady Luck, Soldiers make good targets, and it means nothing.. This album truly is a brilliant christmas present to anyone! Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great band with another great album!, 30 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
I saw this band live in May this year (having owned all of their previous albums and being a fan for many years) and they were absolutely fantastic!

Having acquired the latest offering, 'Pull the Pin', I wasn't initially blown away as with previous albums (I suppose I was comparing it to the previous albums without realising!). However it is one of those albums that takes quite a few listens to get into but once I found myself familiarising myself with the tracks, I now love it!

Bank Holiday Monday is a classic piece of rock from Kelly and the boys and the new single 'It Means Nothing' is incredibly catchy and I find myself playing it all the time (is it just me!?). Every song on this album is great in its own way and I can't see any 'Phonics fans not finding at least something on here that they like - I just happen to like it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent........., 19 Oct 2007
By 
Ms. A. Batsford "spam" (kidderminster u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
Loved this as soon as i listened to it. Mix of beautiful lyrics some very Phonics like some different but a brilliant collection of songs. cant wait to see them in November in Birmingham. Keep up the good work lads! Spam xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a grower, 19 Oct 2007
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
I'm on my third listen now and am starting to get a feel for the album. Its not an album that on first or even second listen you think wow this is as good as Performance and Cocktails, and certainly there aren't the type of songs which make your hairs stand on end like Im just Looking, Mr Writer or Hurry Up & Wait (personal faves) but there might be after I've seen them live and see what they do with the songs.
I think they could have put more effort into some of them, I like the mixture of rocky songs and slower ones and it finishes on a high so I imagine it will do well if people listen to it more.
Better than LSVO for me, that was a real disappointment, and think it will be a great album for them to perform live. Some of the lyrics are very basic and Kellys voice isnt really put to the test that much, but i still love 'em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pull The Pin and let it explode, 17 Oct 2007
By 
Dafydd Jones "MetalliManic" (Aberystwyth, Ceredigion United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
This is a great effort from the 'Phonics. I've been a solid fan of their stuff since 'Word Gets Around' was released back in 1997. The 'Phonics were at their peak during that album, and parts of 'Performance and Cocktails' in 1999. After that, things took a turn for the worst collectively, and we were beginning to see signs of improvement on their previous album, 'Language. Sex. Violence. Other?' but not enough. It was disappointing overall, so they had a point to prove with this album, their sixth studio album, titled 'Pull The Pin'.

And what do I make of it?

It's obviously a very guitar-driven album, with some tracks standing out above others. Looks like Kelly has found some decent riffs here, and his songwriting is as original as it was in the early days. The 'Phonics went through something of a transition period after Stuart Cable's departure and the introduction of Javier Weyler.

And it's now that the transition is being completed. 'Pull The Pin' is a storming album. It's accomplished, varied and sounds good vocally and musically. Kelly and the boys have done a good job here.

'Soldiers Make Good Targets' is an excellent intro track, into 'Pass The Buck' and then the soulful 'It Means Nothing'. 'Bank Holiday Monday' is obviously a favourite during live shows, and 'Daisy Lane' is a decent offering. 'Stone' represents a bigger, more anthemic sound, maybe something of a 'U2' influence creeping in there somewhere. 'My Friends' is an excellent song, as is 'I Could Lose Ya'. The acoustic 'Bright Red Star' quietens things down, and it might lack a little creativity on occasions, but the guitaring is spot on and Kelly's voice as prominent as ever. 'Lady Luck' is heavily distorted, it could probably do with being a little less heavy, but 'Crush', which follows it is a pleasant surprise. The closer, 'Drowning' is a classic 'Phonics track, and closes off this album with a good vibe.

So ten years on, looks like Kelly Jones and Richard Jones haven't done too bad at all. Highly recommended. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Litte Bit Of Everything, 15 Oct 2007
By 
P. Jago "madferit" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pull the Pin (Audio CD)
First off people as the question where is vegas two times?, try soldiers make good targets, where is bartender?, try pass the buck......people should stop harking back to old albums, it always happens to bands who have amazing first 1 or 2 albums.People have to take it for what it is, Stereophonics have been around for 10 years now and this is another great album to add to their back catalogue.

The album listens straight through very well, a nice mix of fast, mid and slow songs. It means nothing was a poor choice for the first single, apart from some great lyrics it is fairly monotonous.The amount of potential singles here is huge, thats why there is talk of 5 off this album. Pass the buck, stone, bank holiday monday, stone, lady luck, drowning and soldiers make good targets cud all be singles.

Definitely on a par with the great language sex violence other? and they keep moving in the right direction.All in all this alum will be in yor top 3 albums of 2007 if yoiu buy it, well done lads and kepp them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pull The Pin
Pull The Pin by Stereophonics
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews