Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars22
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2007
Better than standard "Greatest Hits" compilations of previous recordings, this captures The Beautiful South live in a small studio, which in my opinion is at their best.

The track listing reflects a mixture of well known hits and favourites from live shows, although later material is missing.

Only gripe is the omission of The Jools Holland Show appearances. Assuming the band get a fair share of the royalties, this is a great buy.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Fantastic selection of BBC sessions. There is some overlap between this and the Live At The BBC box.

APPEARS ON THE BBC SESSIONS AND LIVE AT THE BBC (14 TRACKS)
Mark Goodier 10/06/89
- You Keep It All In
- Song For Whoever
- Girlfriend
- I'll Sail This Ship Alone

Simon Mayo 21/02/94
- Good As Gold (Stupid As Mud)
- You Keep It All In
- Everybody's Talkin'

Emma Freud 28/03/94
- Let Love Speak Up Itself
- Especially For You
- Old Red Eyes Is Back
- Everybody's Talkin'

Live Session 02/12/98
- The Lure Of The Sea
- The Table
- Dumb

APPEARS ON THE BBC SESSIONS ONLY (13 TRACKS)
Emma Freud 28/03/94
- You Keep It All In

Lunchtime Show 09/12/94
- From Under The Covers
- Old Red Eyes Is Back
- Everybody's Talkin'
- Good As Gold (Stupid As Mud)
- A Little Time
- Tonight I Fancy Myself
- 36D
- You Keep It All In
- One Last Love Song
- Woman In The Wall
- Use It Up And Wear It Out

Live Session 02/12/98
- Perfect 10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2007
LOVE this album - as they haven't done a "live" album, this may be the nearest we get and it goes some way to capturing the magic of their live performances. my only critisim is that "You Keep it all In" appears 4 times, would have rather had some other tracks. However, the version of "Woman in the Wall" makes up for this. Loving it - more "live" albums please while we await the comeback!!!!!!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Worth buying just for the track "Use it up, wear it out" which I had never heard the group perform before. Was hoping for more minimalist accoustic versions on the album but very pleased with the content thats there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
Now i must make clear that to me Paul Heaton is a God,His lyrics alongside Dave Rothery are sublime you will not go wrong with this it's a great pop album that will stand the test of time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
Wow, ive always liked the Beautiful south and this c/d is just another brilliant collection of theres, recorded at various times for the BBC and for various dj's a brilliand cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Nice long album, lots of great live performances of all their hits, and some songs I hadn't heard before. The atmosphere is well captured. Good sound quality too...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Great album love the beautiful south. Was a very prompt service and delivery. Would definitely recommend them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
the purchase was fine, quality was good et sending fastly to France
all was ok ,
délai et qualité OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Very good beautiful south live just what you expect from Paul heaton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)