Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 April 2007
By 
Andy Walker (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
Better than standard "Greatest Hits" compilations of previous recordings, this captures The Beautiful South live in a small studio, which in my opinion is at their best.

The track listing reflects a mixture of well known hits and favourites from live shows, although later material is missing.

Only gripe is the omission of The Jools Holland Show appearances. Assuming the band get a fair share of the royalties, this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!, 31 May 2007
By 
Mrs B (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
LOVE this album - as they haven't done a "live" album, this may be the nearest we get and it goes some way to capturing the magic of their live performances. my only critisim is that "You Keep it all In" appears 4 times, would have rather had some other tracks. However, the version of "Woman in the Wall" makes up for this. Loving it - more "live" albums please while we await the comeback!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reminder of how great they were live, 13 April 2014
By 
Kevin Hallas "kevin_hallas" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BBC Sessions (BBC Version) (MP3 Download)
Nice long album, lots of great live performances of all their hits, and some songs I hadn't heard before. The atmosphere is well captured. Good sound quality too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
The BBC Sessions is an excellent double CD featuring tracks The Beautiful South did for the BBC in the late 80s and mainly the mid-90s with one session from 1998.

Its great to hear different versions of various songs, a great addition to my TBS collection. My only complaint is why there are 4 versions of You Keep It All In on this collection. Pity they didnt record different songs in my view. I rate it 9 and half out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bbc sessions, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
Wow, ive always liked the Beautiful south and this c/d is just another brilliant collection of theres, recorded at various times for the BBC and for various dj's a brilliand cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Buy Buy, 5 Mar 2012
By 
D. Kehoe (Lowestoft UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BBC Sessions (BBC Version) (MP3 Download)
Now i must make clear that to me Paul Heaton is a God,His lyrics alongside Dave Rothery are sublime you will not go wrong with this it's a great pop album that will stand the test of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last nearly a live album!!, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: The BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
I have been a Beautiful South listener from their early years. As other reviews have said this is the closest to a live album that you can get. Brilliant vocals throughout, although indeed there best known songs are repeated a few times over. Never seen the band live and unfortunately never will. If you enjoy BS you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
Here, at last, are many of the tracks that fans of The Beautiful South have wanted to get hold of for years. Two CDs worth of live BBC sessions inevitably produce some repeated tracks, but it's not a bad thing at all - not least because some of them feature different vocal arrangements. Included are very rare versions of Let Love Speak Up Itself and Old Red Eyes Is Back featuring Jacqui Abbott on lead vocal.

There are so many tracks on this release that it's an absolute bargain for those who are fond of a few songs, and a must-have for any fan of The Beautiful South. Cannot be recommended highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

The BBC Sessions (BBC Version)
The BBC Sessions (BBC Version) by The Beautiful South
Buy MP3 Album8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews