Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Honesty
Just think it has only taken me 40 years since the first release of this album to finally discover it and hear for myself how good this and the Solid Air album is.I have to say that it has been well worth the wait.If this year is the anniversary of 50 years of Island Records, what other gems have I missed out on ? Perhaps I made a slight mistake in listening to Road to...
Published on 17 Jun 2009 by The Right Reverend

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for enthusiasts - but the title track is a "must"
Some tracks on this album sound embarassingly dated (such as Tommorrow Time) but, as always with Martyn, the gems shine through. The title track in particular is a moody, rhythmic and highly emotional effort that he has probably only bettered on Solid Air and Bless the Weather. A great band, good use of piano in particular and his trademark voice make this worth a...
Published on 22 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Honesty, 17 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Stormbringer! (Audio CD)
Just think it has only taken me 40 years since the first release of this album to finally discover it and hear for myself how good this and the Solid Air album is.I have to say that it has been well worth the wait.If this year is the anniversary of 50 years of Island Records, what other gems have I missed out on ? Perhaps I made a slight mistake in listening to Road to Ruin first.Although quite decent in it's own right, it's not until you give Stormbringer a right good bashing, that the song writing and and whole feel of this duo shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for enthusiasts - but the title track is a "must", 22 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
Some tracks on this album sound embarassingly dated (such as Tommorrow Time) but, as always with Martyn, the gems shine through. The title track in particular is a moody, rhythmic and highly emotional effort that he has probably only bettered on Solid Air and Bless the Weather. A great band, good use of piano in particular and his trademark voice make this worth a listen. And I open the debate - can Beverley sing? Also give an ear to the track "John the Baptist" - try not to listen to the frankly silly lyrics but instead to the truly rocking folk rock band backing them up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. P. Mendes Da Costa (numbsville, world) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer! (Audio CD)
I'd never heard this album before and it has been a wonderful listening experience. I love the music - no doubt that it is a sixties/seveties sound but still sounds fresh. Beverley Martyn has a strong voice not dissimilar to Grace Slick so on one or two tracks there is a similarity to Jefferson Airplane (or maybe it's the other way around. John Martyn is superb,backed by some excellent session musicians. Anyway great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A certain surprise, 5 Aug 2002
By 
Callie (To the North) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
I bought this on vinyl years ago and have recently bought the CD! All of John's songs are first class,with "John the Baptist" being one of his strongest songs.Beverley writes three songs,two of them are ho-hum,the other is a great eight minute song called "Sweet Honesty" which has Levon Helm (The Band) on drums and someone,not credited on harmonica.Paul Harris (Manassas) plays keyboards and is credited for the musical direction and arrangements.Other guests include Harvey Brooks on Bass and Billy Mundi of the Mothers of Invention!
On the strength of John's songs plus "Sweet honesty" this is well worth buying.There is an innocence about these songs,long before Big Muff came along with his Powder puff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer! (Audio CD)
The title track, above all, is a beautiful reminder of how rich John's voice was. A poignant song that stays with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated classic, 10 May 2010
Along with The Tumbler and the subsequent Road to Ruin, Stormbringer seems to have been consistently under-rated -- as the above reviews confirm. There is a timeless charm and, and an even rarer [especially nowadays] quality, A SENSE OF FUN AND ADVENTURE running through these recordings that makes quibbles about how good a songwriter or singer Beverley is/was verging on the redundant. However, if an answer is required, Beverly's brooding contralto sounds pretty effective here and her songs [esp I Can't Get the One I Want] stand up well alongside's JM's admittedly cooler efforts. [Incidentally Francoise Hardy, a good judge of a song, covers two of Beverly's Stormbringer songs, on her excellent If You Listen album, which is also well-worth checking out].

In short, Stormbringer is a superb example of early 70s folk-rock, an album that effortlessly smites most modern folk-rock acts out of the park.

Just listen, without prejudice, and let the thing wash over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gently powerful., 13 Dec 2008
By 
P. A. J. Oswin "Artefactman" (Northumberland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer! (Audio CD)
I'm going to have to suppress my enthusiasm for 'Stormbringer', as it means too much to me, on a personal level. That aside, it is a seminal 'must have' album. Ardent 'John Martyn' fans sometimes have a problem with 'wife' Beverley.....whereas, I have problem with her absence, after 'Road to Ruin'. Some say that she cannot sing. For me, she inhabits that rarified atmosphere of other famous non-singers, who nevertheless are capable of transporting the listener beyond the mere musically 'accomplished'..... Jane Birkin, Marrianne Faithfull et al. In short, I just don't care. Beverley Martyn 'does it for me' every time. Hers is the true voice of emotion. Anyhows, she CAN sing and, her 'musical antecedents', as 'Beverley Kutner', are as rich as it is possible to get; so 'ya-boo-sucks' to any other opinion!
It is not by accident that this album has been continuously produced for very nearly forty years! In its own quiet way, it is one of the greatest albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pros from Dover go to Woodstock, 15 Jun 2014
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
This is criminally underrated and can stand shoulder to shoulder with anything by the Band . John was still singing like a truculent Scot with none of the slurred mumbling which ruins later records .Beverley is a lot better than critics say and Sweet Honesty smoulders along effortlessly until you find you are dripping with sweat . She is only deadpan on Tomorrow Time but even her speak your weight machine efforts begin to make perfect sense when you listen to the brilliant backing on this track . Much has been made of the guest drummers but the show is stolen on both this and Road To Ruin by the fantastic melodic and driving piano work of Paul Harris . Please buy this and find out how world beating British folk rock of the late sixties could be .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glad the albulm has been re released, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer! [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It gives a glimpse int the marriage of John and Beverley how their voices magically combine to take you on a journey somewhere else. Definitely different to John's solo work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Skip the missus, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer! (Audio CD)
Beverley complained that she had been offered an opportunity to record in the States and took John along, only for him to buddy up with the session musicians and take over. Well thank goodness he did, because we have three exceptional John Martyn recordings on this album. 'Go out and Get It', 'Stormbringer' and the extraordinary 'John the Baptist'. Apparently the use of rock drums with a folk guitar was revolutionary at the time, so all that drinking with the boys resulted in what was maybe the first of John's new approaches to the genre-busting work that was to come. This album is not as good as Bless the Weather, Solid Air, Inside Out or One World, how could it be, but the almost-solo work he does on it is a good sign post for what will come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stormbringer
Stormbringer by Beverley Martyn and John Martyn
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews