Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live & Beautiful
This is the second of two albums Evans & Getz recorded together, and infinitely superior to the earlier meeting in 1964. The live setting pulls the best out of both musicians, once Evans gets over his annoyance on having 'Stan's Blues' sprung unannounced upon him.

The slower/ballad numbers are things of real beauty, with the sax and piano carving out melody...
Published on 18 Mar. 2012 by Sentinel

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It looks like you made it yourself or bought it from a dodgy CD Fair
What a terrible cover! Honestly!
A Spinal tap-esque black cover would be an improvement against this - it just suggests that the music doesn't warrant any effort whatsoever. I think the quality of the cover and the live recording suggests an mp3 download might be the way to go with this one (can you delete the artwork from mp3 downloads)?
The music is okay (it's...
Published 4 months ago by Andy "Fab"


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live & Beautiful, 18 Mar. 2012
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But Beautiful (Audio CD)
This is the second of two albums Evans & Getz recorded together, and infinitely superior to the earlier meeting in 1964. The live setting pulls the best out of both musicians, once Evans gets over his annoyance on having 'Stan's Blues' sprung unannounced upon him.

The slower/ballad numbers are things of real beauty, with the sax and piano carving out melody lines of gossamer wonder: 'Lover Man', 'Emily' and the title track are all enchanting. The more up-tempo pieces are equally successful, including a tribute for Bill's birthday from Stan. The final two tracks feature Bill's trio alone, and are equally electrifying. Superb sound, with the excitement crackling from the audience, but never intruding on the luscious chords, and delicate interplay. Lovely, sensitive rhythm section work. A true classic, which would complement the new Evans Riverside collection The Riverside Years (5CD box set) Simply beautiful music-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Pleasure, 23 April 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But Beautiful (Audio CD)
This 1995 release contains material from concerts in Laren, Belgium and Middleham, Holland in August 1974. The Laren concert was rehearsed as the Bill Evans trio to be followed by the introduction of Stan as a guest. After Stan launched into an unnanounced 'Stan's Blues', Evans stopped playing, no doubt miffed. Fortunately, the Holland concert a week later seemed to have resolved matters (Getz wishing Bill 'happy birthday'). Playing in front of an audience seemed to add an extra dimension both to the Evans trio's playing but also the formidable and beautiful playing of Stan. The ballads 'But Beautiful', 'Emily', 'Lover Man' and Jimmy Rowles's 'Peacocks' leave me bereft of words other than to describe them as exquisite.

Bill Evans is masterful whether in solo mode or backing Stan. His lyricism and melodic touches are, as expected, supreme whilst at the same time the strength and command of his playing are evident both in the quartet setting and in the more familiar two trio numbers from Laren featuring the prominent bowed bass of Eddie Gomez. He and drummer Marty Morrell are impeccable in their support allowing Stan to construct his solos with total freedom and confidence.

This album brings the best out of Bill Evans and Stan Getz and ranks very highly in terms of musicianship and enjoyment. The consistency of Getz's playing is up there with his best. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Falling out and making up, 12 May 2009
By 
This review is from: But Beautiful (Audio CD)
When I first heard the beginning of track 1 I thought "this is going to be rather bland', but very soon I realised I was listening to a master, soon to be joined by another master! Both are very inventive and there is an added edge provided by the falling out and then reconciliation of Bill and Stan. My saxophone teacher LOVES this CD. I love 'teaching' him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful album. This is a must for all lovers ..., 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But Beautiful (Audio CD)
Wonderful album. This is a must for all lovers of jazz. I will play this over and over and never tire of it. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute classic, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
MTG (Tring, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But Beautiful (Audio CD)
What can you say when two of the world's best jazz musicians get together and support each other (rather than compete). The tracks 'But Beautiful' and 'The Peacocks' alone are worth the price of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love both Stan Getz and Bill Evans and this is ..., 13 Nov. 2014
By 
J. Walton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But Beautiful (Audio CD)
I love both Stan Getz and Bill Evans and this is a great addition to any Jazz collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It looks like you made it yourself or bought it from a dodgy CD Fair, 26 Dec. 2014
By 
Andy "Fab" (Herefordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But Beautiful (Audio CD)
What a terrible cover! Honestly!
A Spinal tap-esque black cover would be an improvement against this - it just suggests that the music doesn't warrant any effort whatsoever. I think the quality of the cover and the live recording suggests an mp3 download might be the way to go with this one (can you delete the artwork from mp3 downloads)?
The music is okay (it's Evans and Getz after all) but it's not essential in either's body of work - they have both much better albums to offer (as you can tell from the cover).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

But Beautiful
But Beautiful by Bill Evans Trio
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews