Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2011
I always preferred The Mission to The Sisters of Mercy. The more melodic and human songwriting approach of Wayne Hussey always appealed more to me than the industrial doom of Andrew Eldritch.
'God's Own Medicine' was probably one of the outstanding rock albums of 1986 for my money.
Tracks like 'Wasteland', 'Bridges Burning','Blood Brother' 'And The Dance Goes On' and 'Sacrilege' are big, powerful rock juggernauts with some smooth rolling bass runs from Craig Adams, while 'Garden of Delight (hereafter)',the unintentionally amusing 'Love Me to Death' and 'Severina' show a more wistful, romantic side to the band.
'Stay With Me' is a catchy pop track with drinking song style chorus, and songs like 'Let Sleeping Dogs Die' and 'Island in a Stream' are effective low key tracks with good vocal performances from Hussey.
The stand out track for me though is 'Dance on Glass' with it's graphic lyrical imagery and tribal style percussion. It's A dark, yet beautiful track which really draws you in to it's atmosphere.
Vocally, Wayne Hussey proves to have far more range, power and emotion than any other singer whose band he'd played in (Pete Burns, Andrew Eldritch), and he contributes some skilled songwriting too.
Simon Hinkler's guitar adds depth, atmosphere and drama to what is already a heady brew and the rhythm section is smart and unfussy, allowing the rest of the music to flow beautifully.
I can't recommend this album enough. There's more to it than just plain goth, so step back into the 1980's and savour this little masterpiece.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2007
A welcome reissue of The Mission's debut album. Following on from their success in the UK Independent charts in early 1986, the group signed to Mercury Records and in November 1986 released 'God's Own Medicine'.
The album contained a number of tracks ('Sacrilege', 'Dance On Glass' and 'And The Dance Goes On') that the band had been playing live since their formation, but also showcased some slower numbers ('Let Sleeping Dogs Lie', 'Love Me To Death'). Three singles were issued from the album; 'Stay With Me', the stirring 'Wasteland' (the groups biggest hit) and 'Severina' (which features Julianne Regan of All About Eve on backing vocals). In my opinion, the original album is only marred by the unnecessary 'hereafter' version of 'Garden Of Delight', a slow, orchestrated version of their second single.
The original CD version of the album added two tracks ('Blood Brother' and 'Islands In A Stream', from the 'Stay With Me' 12") to the original running order, and this reissue retains these songs. In addition, there are 3 extra tracks - the 'anniversary mix' of 'Wasteland' (originally appearing on a limited release 12"), the 12" 'aqua marina mix' of 'Severina' and 'Wishing Well', the band's cover of the Free song that originally appeared on the 'Severina' 12". I assume that time constraints lead to the omission of the other 'Severina' b-side,'Tomorrow Never Knows', from this re-issue, but completists can find this track on the excellent 'Anthology' double CD. A pity the 12" version of 'Stay With Me' was not included (as suggested in earlier track listings!)
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
Regarded by many as one of the iconic albums by Goth Rockers The Mission formed by ex Sisters Of Mercy Wayne Hussey, this in my opinion their greatest album. It was the very first album by The Mission that I bought back in the 80's and it still remains one of my favourite albums. There are some real gems here, from the orchestrally driven Garden Of Delight to the out and out rocker Sacrilege, it's a roller coaster ride right from the opening track Wasteland. Also on this album there's remixes of both Wasteland and Severina, a cover of Free's Wishing Well and a little acoustic instrumental not on the original called Love You To Death. After 20 odd years, it still sounds as fresh as ever, and I'd heartily recommend it if you're looking for something a little 'different' to listen to. It's rock Jim, but not as we know it.....
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2007
The original release of 'God's Own Medicine' back in the early 80's came as a breathe of fresh air in a very turid musical 'Wasteland'. However to place the album into context it was only one of many fine albums by Goth-style bands of that time - all of which were great but which were somewhat of a specialised taste.

This re-issue gives us chance to assess the true quality of this band in a completely different musical landscape. The result is quite remarkable for the album, plus additional tracks some of which appeared in various guises including extended 12" mixes at the beginning of the Missions career, force a completely different interpretation of the band. It may be a slight over statement to suggest that 'God's Own Medicine' is a classic rock album but we are not far off the mark in adding it to the list of truly great debut albums of any era.

Hopefully this re-issue will bring the Mission back catalogue to a new audiance of musicos looking for some fresh musical ideas and well-crafted songs. If you are interested in buying this album for the first time then I might suggest that you completely ignore the Goth tag all together for 'God's Own Medicine' falls more neatly into the CD collections of Led Zep fans rather than lovers of Bauhaus, for example.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
Got this recently, pretty much as i remember from an old tape version. Shame the sound is not much better, but still a really good "debut". Wasteland is obviously a strong single, very much in the U2 - Simple Minds sound, but still very Mission. Stay With Me is not as good as i remembered. Island in a Stream is the standout track for me, even if Wayne Hussey does sound like Neil Diamond. Overall a great record, from start to finish, especially with the extra tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
Forgotten how much I really loved this album and how brilliant it was. Took me right back to 1986 when the Mission were at their very best and hence produced this fantastic album. Not a crap track on it - full of all the raw gritty talent that made the Mish great. Fantastic album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
wayne hussey's voice and his music are absolutely fantastic. I have always loved that genre of music. excellent service thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2009
With out doubt one of the best albums of the 80's, up there with The Cult Love, IMHO. It shouldn't be classed as just a Goth production, it should have a much wider appeal than that.
The remasterd version sounds really good, certainly better than my 20 year old original.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
I Love it, play it nearly every day!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
One of the Mission's best albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)