Customer Reviews


225 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to drop
Halo 2 had promised a battle of earth but we didn't get that now halo 3 odst gives you a true battle of earth it's fairly short but its worth everything you pay there's a great campaign the awesome firefight and every halo 3 map the campaigns the main attraction explaining what happened to earth and a small team of odst,s you play as the rookie looking for your team and...
Published 5 months ago by Tracey

versus
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love Halo, but I was disappointed with this :(
I love the Halo series, and was eagerly anticipating the release of this. Was enjoying the first-person solo game of it, but like other reviewers, found it very repetitive after a while. I thought I may have been 25% through the game, when the credits rolled after one of the missions. My jaw hit the floor. It's SO short! Granted you get a multi-player disk with it too,...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by scottishfi


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to drop, 19 Feb 2014
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Halo 2 had promised a battle of earth but we didn't get that now halo 3 odst gives you a true battle of earth it's fairly short but its worth everything you pay there's a great campaign the awesome firefight and every halo 3 map the campaigns the main attraction explaining what happened to earth and a small team of odst,s you play as the rookie looking for your team and finding clues you flash back when you find a clue to a member of your team its very different but it works excellently the firefight is the best on this game the best map is lost platoon and its best enjoyed in co op with friends or split screen you face off against waves of covenant on a selection of maps it's really fun and defiantly worth a punt.the multiplayer is a tad disappointing its just halo 3 multiplayer all the maps are brought together on a second disk it's great but you can't help but feel an odst only multiplayer would be better odst is amazing this is worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent voice cast; very enjoyable game, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Without a doubt this is my favourite of the Halo games. The atmosphere of exploring the destroyed city during an apocalyptic neon-drenched night is extremely effective, the sky indeed the colour of a television tuned to a dead channel. I also welcomed the opportunity to be a normal, NON-cyborg-supersoldier over the usual cod heroics of 'Master Chief' and his cling-film wrapped shiny girlfriend. Pseudo-stealth was a nice addition to the game engine with suppressed weapons and concrete advantages to striking from the shadows or from behind cover. Indeed, as merely a very well trained human this was the only sensible way to play if you wanted to stay alive for long.

The voice cast are extremely good indeed. This goes without saying really, given three Firefly alumnae including most notably the incomparable Nathan Fillion along with the very welcome addition of Cylon #6 Tricia Helfer. For the first time in the Halo universe I found myself actually caring about the characters and immersed in my role, something I am sure was due to such a talented ensemble. By the end I was actually sad to be leaving them behind and will no doubt play through several more times. If only the Halos themselves were not so small in comparison to the REAL ringworld of Louis Wu and company!

In all, while I have read that 'Halo 4' attempts to increase the interaction and emotional commitment of the characters to each other I think this will always be the excursion to the Human v's Covenant universe I enjoy the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Heard nothing but bad things about this game, but needed to play it as I love Halo. Brought a refreshing element to the game. Play as multiple characters, much harder now you aren't masterchief. Some great episodes and setting. Great addition to the franchise. Definitely underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to Drop, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
While the engine is showing it's age a bit (the lighting is still fabulous however) the Halo magic is still there, enemy encounters are glorious and the sandbox gameplay style as good as ever. The music is fantastic (as it always is) and the addition of the Firefly boys and Caprica Six round off a great package. Perhaps my favourite Halo game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love Halo, but I was disappointed with this :(, 20 Oct 2009
By 
scottishfi "Fiona" (Perthshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love the Halo series, and was eagerly anticipating the release of this. Was enjoying the first-person solo game of it, but like other reviewers, found it very repetitive after a while. I thought I may have been 25% through the game, when the credits rolled after one of the missions. My jaw hit the floor. It's SO short! Granted you get a multi-player disk with it too, but having already paid hard earned cash on downloading new maps for Halo 3, I've not found a massive difference in the new Multiplayer disk with ODST. Granted I'm still playing on-line with it, so we'll see if something brand new appears, but my hopes aren't great.
In summary, if you're a Halo 3 fan, save your money and borrow a copy of ODST from a mate and you'll be finished it in a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is Cool, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is unusual. You are not the Master-Chief we all know and love. This time you are an ODST (Orbital Drop Shock Trooper) trooper. They are the ultra elite force of the UNSC army, a little lower than spartans. You are thrown into the ruined, battle scarred streets of the African city, New Mombassa, fending off an alien invasion. You play as five different ODSTs and are trying to regroup and gain intelligence to help fight the aliens. It is a very interesting game. You feel more vulnerable as an ODST. Gameplay is still halo style, there is a free roam but it is far from perfect and the streets are very dark. Gameplay is great, replayability is decent and is a good game. If you are new to Halo, try starting with some other game but this game is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best present ever ast the time, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
At the top of my soh's wish list so was really pleased to receive this. He loves this type of game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Halo game ever., 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best Halo, I think, and it didn't take long to arrive either, you should get i t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent game but a little dark at time, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Adam Gnourie (UK Macclesfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game was fun. Another side of the halo story. The only issue I really had with it was it seemed very dark and i couldn't seem to get the brightness up to the setting i wanted it at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Complete letdown, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Of all the Halo games, new and old, this has got to be the all time worst.

The story is extremely lacking, the character building is dire amongst other things.
The gameplay is fair for a Halo game and visuals aren't that bad which is the only reason I gave it a 2 star and not one.

Really wouldn't recommend unless you're collecting Halo games or Halo Franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)
Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
15.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews